Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK

Chapter book

‘Yes,’ she said, ‘he is really quite a beauty, and he has such a sweet good-tempered face and such a fine intelligent eye – what do you say to calling him Black Beauty?

Black Beauty is a handsome, sweet-tempered but strong-spirited young horse, used to galloping free in the fresh green meadows with his beloved mother, Duchess, and their kind master. But when his owners are forced to sell him, Black Beauty goes from a life of comfort and kindness to one of hard labour and cruelty. He bravely works as hard as he can, enduring hardships and fostering loyal friendships along the way.

Charming and timeless, Black Beauty is an uplifting story of strength, survival and empathy in the face of adversity. The original horse story that inspired a thousand pony books, Black Beauty sparked a new wave of animal cruelty awareness and remains a must-read for any animal lover!

Chapter book

Join young detective Lizzie and her adorable puppy Lucky on another mystery-solving adventure! With charming illustrations throughout, and fun activities to try.

Lizzie and Lucky are visiting the Five Freedoms Sanctuary. It’s a lovely place for all sorts of rescued animals.

When a local farmer announces some terrible plans for his land that could endanger the surrounding wildlife, our dynamic duo know they must investigate the case. Can they use their detective skills to stop him?

While looking for clues, Lizzie spots some strange footprints and an unusual blue creature that stands out from the rest! But what is it, and where did it come from? Could it be the key to saving the day?

Chapter book

The spell-binding world-building of Philip Pullman with the page-turning kid appeal of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief. Discover a world of magic and secrets, friendship and unimaginable quests in this spectacular new fantasy series from the most exciting new voice in children’s books.

A boy who doesn’t believe in magic. An impossible world that will change his mind.

Eleven-year-old Benjamiah Creek believes in science, logic and the power of reason. He definitely does not believe in magic. But when he receives a mysterious gift in the post – a doll that can transform into a bird – he is led into the impossible (and most definitely magical) world of Wreathenwold, where dark secrets are lost amongst a vast labyrinth of streets.

Benjamiah soon finds himself swept along in a dangerous quest – led by the fierce and brilliant Elizabella, who is determined to solve the disappearance of her missing brother.

Will Benjamiah ever find his way home and discover his puzzling connection with this strange, enchanted world?

Chapter book

Perfect for fans of Bunny Vs Monkey and Dog Man!

Do you want to laugh your pants off? Of course you do. In which case – come on into the world of the O.D.D. Squad – a team of (sort of) heroic animal crime-fighters you’ll never forget. Though maybe not for the right reasons . . .

Justice City. Rain soaks its streets. Crime soaks it more. The fate of the entire city has been left in the hands (well, paws) of one brave superhero.

That’s right – dun dun dunnnnnn – INVISIDOG!

Invisidog hunts for danger wherever he finds it. There is no job too big, and no criminal too tough for the mighty Invisidog. He is the shadows!! And actually, that’s kind of the problem. Because Invisidog’s amazing superpowers . . . are kind of rubbish.

Turns out being invisible isn’t all that helpful when you’re trying to rid a city of terrible criminals. They tend to have a habit of ignoring you for one thing. So Invisidog’s going to have to think BIG. Can he convince the most amazing superheroes of all time – adorable-but-mighty Quack Attack, and the world’s greatest thinker, Detective Octopus – to join forces?

(What does O.D.D. Squad stand for? Well you’ll have to read and find out, won’t you?)

Picturebook

This is a new Puffin edition of Allan Ahlberg’s best-selling Cops and Robbers classic picture book, with a brand new cover! The robbers of London town plan a desperate crime one Christmas Eve – to steal all the toys they can lay their hands on! Fortunately, the robbers meet their match in brave office Pugh who leaps into action and arrests the villains – all except Grandma Swagg who manages to get away.

Picturebook

A unique look at colours and friendship, now available in paperback.

This very simple text is about two friends, Sue and Nick, who like different colours but are still good friends. The artwork is stunning with each artist contributing alternate pages in their own inimitable style. The deceptively simple text is perfect for children learning to read.

Non-fiction

Here we are at 4.6 billion years ago, and as we raise the curtain . . . the STORY OF LIFE is about to begin! (Yes, that’s right – we’re telling the story of the ENTIRE history of Planet Earth).

Take your seats for the ENTIRE history of Planet Earth, as we take a whistle-stop tour from the birth of Earth, to the age of bacteria, the era of dinosaurs . . . to the moment of people (blink and you’ll miss it).

Narrated by a friendly troop of insects and with mind-blowing, lively illustrations, this illustrated non-fiction book will entertain and educate, as we put on a show, the greatest show, the show of the evolution of life on Earth.

From internationally bestselling creator, Mini Grey, winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, this is her first non-fiction book and it’s told with wit, humour and heart.

Picturebook

A New York Times bestseller! A National Book Award finalist! This deeply moving story shares valuable lessons about fitting in, standing out, and the beauty of joyful acceptance, from a New York Times bestselling and award-winning creator.

The first picture book written and illustrated by award-winning creator Vashti Harrison traces a child’s journey to self-love and shows the power of words to both hurt and heal. With spare text and exquisite illustrations, this emotional exploration of being big in a world that prizes small is a tender portrayal of how you can stand out and feel invisible at the same time.

Picturebook

From the award-winning Ed Vere comes a joyful and inspirational celebration of beauty, mistakes and the artist in all of us

One brave little artist goes on one epic adventure to share her art, and in doing so learns that it doesn’t matter if you colour outside the lines, that art is full of heart… and that maybe you are an artist too!

Picturebook

An uplifting picture book about loving your name, finding your voice and standing up for yourself.

Mirha is so excited for her first day of school! She can’t wait to learn, play and make new friends. But when her classmates keep mispronouncing her name, she goes home wondering if she should find a new one.

When Mama helps Mirha see just how special her name is, she returns to school the next day determined to help her classmates say it correctly.

Featuring beautiful, vibrant illustrations and with an empowering message at its core, this heartwarming picture book from author-illustrator Anoosha Syed reminds us all just how important our names are!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments