Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK

Chapter book

Meet Captain Teggs Stegosaur and the crew of the amazing spaceship DSS Sauropod as the ASTROSAURS fight evil across the galaxy!

Flesh-chomping raptors have kidnapped two top dino athletes. With the Great Dinosaur Games about to start, Teggs and his friends must race to the rescue. But there’s more to the raptors’ plot than meets the eye…

Chapter book

There are plenty of weird and wonderful characters who live on Lizard Street. The hero of our story is Ruskin Splinter. But to be honest, Ruskin is a very unlikely hero. Small and thin, with knock-knees, thick glasses, a squeaky voice, no one at Ruskin’s school believes he’s capable of anything – all except for Ruskin’s only friend Corky, the school caretaker.

Ruskin is therefore delighted when Corky tells him the terrifying story of Krindlekrax: the giant crocodile who lives beneath their town’s streets. Finally, a chance to prove himself! But can Ruskin really save the day?

This witty, off-the-wall story is a classic rip-roaring adventure, from award-winning author Philip Ridley.

Chapter book

The sweeping, sparkling first book in a brand new series that will delight fans of The Wild Way Home and Frostheart.

Aleja is a dreamer who longs for a life of magic and adventure. So when a mysterious ship arrives in her Spanish harbour city, crewed by a band of ruthless women, Aleja knows it’s sailed right out of a legend.

And it wants her.

But life aboard the Ship of Shadows is more than even she bargained for. It will take all of Aleja’s strength and skill to gain the trust of her fellow pirates – and discover what they are risking everything to find…

Chapter book

The City was built on a sharp mountain that jutted improbably from the sea, and the sea kept trying to claim it back. That grey morning, once the tide had retreated, a whale was found on a rooftop.

When a mysterious boy washes in with the tide, the citizens believe he’s the Enemy – the god who drowned the world – come again to cause untold chaos.

Only Ellie, a fearless young inventor living in a workshop crammed with curiosities, believes he’s innocent.

But the Enemy can take possession of any human body and the ruthless Inquisition are determined to destroy it forever.

To save the boy, Ellie must prove who he really is – even if that means revealing her own dangerous secret…

Short story collection

Dragons have invaded Crumbling Castle, and all of King Arthur’s knights are either on holiday or visiting their grannies. It’s a disaster!

Luckily, there’s a spare suit of armour and a very small boy called Ralph who’s willing to fill it. Together with Fortnight the Friday knight and Fossfiddle the wizard, Ralph sets out to defeat the fearsome fire-breathers.

But there’s a teeny weeny surprise in store . . .

Fourteen fantastically funny stories from master storyteller Sir Terry Pratchett, full of time travel and tortoises, monsters and mayhem!

Chapter book

The perfect book to read together with your little one!

My mummy looks normal, like any other mummy . . . but she’s not. Because she can turn into a fairy. She just has to shut her eyes tight, say ‘Marshmallow’ . . . and POOF! She’s Mummy Fairy.

Ella’s family have a big secret . . . her mummy is a fairy! She can do amazing spells with her computawand to make delicious cupcakes, create the perfect birthday party and cause chaos at the supermarket. But sometimes the spells go a bit wrong and that’s when Ella comes to the rescue!

The first magical book in this wonderful series for 5-7 year olds, from global bestselling author Sophie Kinsella.

Chapter book

Mr Majeika is the most magical teacher around!

As a rule, magic carpets don’t turn up in schools, but this is exactly what happens when Class Three’s new teacher flies in through the classroom window and lands on the floor with a bump.

Mr Majeika can behave just like any ordinary teacher if he wants to, but something has to be done about Hamish Bigmore, the class nuisance, and so he uses a little magic to turn him into a frog. And to everyone’s delight it looks as if Hamish will have to remain a frog because Mr Majeika can’t remember the spell to turn him back again! With Mr Majeika in charge, suddenly life at school become much more exciting – there’s even a magic-carpet ride to Buckingham Palace!

Short story collection

Everyone loves little Mrs Pepperpot! This compilation has 20 classic Mrs Pepperpot tales.

Mrs Pepperpot can’t choose when she will shrink to the size of a pepperpot – it just happens.
But whatever she encounters, whether it be a mountain of pancakes, a crafty fox or a monstrous mousetrap, little Mrs Pepperpot will always come out on top.

The Mrs Pepperpot tales are delightful short stories for children, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and Enid Blyton.

Chapter book

Betsey Biggalow is here! She may be small but she’s full of bright and shiny ideas about new trainers, winning at marbles and even helping the world! Join Betsey on four short, sun-filled adventures as she learns you don’t have to be big to make a big difference.

This book is one of five short story collections featuring the lively and likeable Betsey Biggalow from Children’s Laureate, Malorie Blackman. Beautifully illustrated by Jamie Smith, these stories are ideal for building confidence in readers aged 7 and over, whether reading aloud or reading alone.

Chapter book

The Hundred-Mile-an-Hour Dog by Jeremy Strong has become a children’s classic!

From The Hundred-Mile-an-Hour Dog to karate princesses and hot cross bottoms, there’s a Jeremy Strong story to suit every child’s sense of humour. Jeremy’s readers range from 7 to teen, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Morris Gleitzman.

Streaker is a mixed-up kind of dog…with quite a bit of Ferrari and a large chunk of whirlwind.

Streaker is no ordinary dog. She’s a rocket on four legs with a woof attached, and Trevor has got until the end of the holidays to train her. If he fails, he’ll lose his bet with horrible Charlie Smugg, and something very, very yucky involving frogspawn will happen…

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments