Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK

Chapter book

From hilarious bestselling author, Katie Kirby, comes a brand-new Lottie Brooks story. This time it’s CHRISTMAS!!!

Dear Santa,

For Christmas this year, I would like:

Two hundred KitKat chunkies (full-size not multipack)
Baby Bella to stop shouting ‘BUM’ in public spaces
A new brother who doesn’t fart on me and call it a ‘tasty air biscuit’
Antoine or Daniel (I can’t decide!) to surprise me on Christmas Day with a grand romantic gesture
Cash (lots of it!)
A new diary (I’m really getting through them!)

Lots of love,

Lottie xxx

PS. Please could you put a chocolate orange instead of a real orange in my stocking this year?

Lottie Brooks LOVES Christmas – there’s presents, all the KitKat Chunkys you can eat AND no school for two weeks! But this year, Christmas might be a bit more chaotic than usual. The whole Brooks family are visiting for the festive break (along with some surprise visitors . . .), there’s a Secret Santa to organise, and the hammies won’t stop attacking Gavin, the Elf on the Shelf!

Will Lottie survive the festivities intact or will she have to hide in the fort of shame until it’s all over?

Picturebook

Make up your own Christmas adventure where YOU CHOOSE what happens. Which Christmas jumper would you like to wear? Which job would you choose to do in Santa’s workshop? Where would you like to sleep on Christmas Eve?

The possibilities are infinite in this magical storytelling toolkit which will inspire children age 3 and upwards to make their own stories again and again – a brilliantly festive sequel to YOU CHOOSE, YOU CHOOSE YOUR DREAMS and YOU CHOOSE IN SPACE.

Readers love the YOU CHOOSE series!

Non-fiction

An empowering and uplifting guide from THREE legendary Lionesses, Ella Toone, Georgia Stanway and Nikita Parris.

Lionesses are brave. They fiercely look out for one another. They stick together. And they will roar as loud as they need to, to make sure their voices are heard.

Ella, Georgia and Nikita have learned so much from football that can apply to everyday life, from joining a new squad, to stepping up to take a penalty, and getting back up when life (or a footballer) knocks you down. With the true stories of how they got to where they are today and tons of practical tips, this book will help young readers embrace who they are, ignite their spark, go after their goals and find their team – because no Lioness is complete without their pride.

Are you ready to embrace your inner Lioness?

Chapter book

A stunning literary adventure from an incredible debut talent, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Cerrie Burnell and Katherine Rundell.

I was Haven Point’s first Wreckling, but I certainly wasn’t the last. There are forty-two of us now, not including the mermaids. When you’re a Wreckling, you mainly spend your days squabbling, eating and planning adventures. Oh, and Wrecklings also carry out wreckings, which is how we got our name . . .

Washed up as a baby beside a remote lighthouse and raised by a mermaid, Alpha Lux was the first foundling at Haven Point. Now the lighthouse is a ramshackle home for any disabled person who needs somewhere to belong. Looting from passing ships to make a living, they call themselves the Wrecklings, and for the children of Haven Point life is spent adventuring on the wild shore (and getting into trouble with the grown-ups).

But when Alpha spots a strange light up on the headland, she realizes that her beloved family are in danger of being discovered by Outsiders.

With their home under threat, the Wrecklings must decide what kind of future they want . . . and what they’re willing to do to get it.

Picturebook

Rose Blanche was the name of a group of young German citizens who, at their peril, protested against the war. Like them, Rose observes all the changes going on around her which others choose to ignore. She watches as the streets of her small German town fill with soldiers. One day she sees a little boy escaping from the back of a truck, only to be captured by the mayor and shoved back into it. Rose follows the truck to a desolate place out of town, where she discovers many other children, staring hungrily from behind an electric barbed wire fence. She starts bringing the children food, instinctively sensing the need for secrecy, even with her mother. Until the tide of the war turns and soldiers in different uniforms stream in from the East, and Rose and the imprisoned children disappear for ever…

Non-fiction

Unearth the mysteries of ancient fossils and discover the life and legacy of Mary Anning in this beautifully illustrated, fact-filled book for curious young readers.

Have you ever found something mysterious? Something you had no idea what it was but you had this feeling it was important, that it held a secret?

Mary Anning was a fossil hunter, scouring the cliffs and seashores of Lyme Regis for strange rocks and shells. Monstrous marine reptiles and dinosaurs had once reigned the land and seas here millions of years ago, disappearing only to leave mysterious traces for humans to puzzle over.

Mary’s fossils paved the way for modern palaeontology and helped to piece together a picture of how the dinosaurs lived and evolved. Little did she know that 200 years later we would still be talking about her amazing discoveries and how she influenced our understanding of the history of the earth.

Beautifully illustrated by brand-new talent Kate Winter, with stunning panoramic fold-out pages, this is a book to treasure and to read again and again, perfect for all fans of natural history and curious young explorers.

Chapter book

Fans of THOR and THE INCREDIBLES will not want to miss this epic superhero adventure with a twist from Radio 1 broadcasters and bestselling authors of KID NORMAL and THE GREAT DREAM ROBBERY.

Super hero. Super DEAD!

It’s just another day at the office for world-famous superhero Doctor Extraordinary as he battles his arch-nemesis Captain Chaos in yet another epic showdown. Unfortunately this one doesn’t quite go to plan and they both get blown up inside a giant robot.

Dr Ex’s number-one-fan, twelve-year-old Sonny Nelson, is devastated. A world without heroes is totally rubbish! But things take an even more extraordinary turn when Doctor Ex returns as a ghost and only Sonny can see him . . .

Picturebook

The first-ever picture book from Adam Kay and Henry Paker.

This is the hilarious (and admittedly a tiny bit gross) tale of Amy, a small piece of sweetcorn who is eaten by Noah, a medium-sized boy. The story follows Amy on her funny, gooey and anatomically-accurate adventure through the human body as she discovers lots of facts about digestion. (It’s fair to say that parents might learn a little bit too.)

Chapter book

There’s more than one way to find your voice . . .

Lenny Brown is eight years old and can’t talk. Except to his mum and his dog, Rocky.

When Lenny has to move house and start at a new school, it feels like his whole life is changing, and not for the better. Will he be able to make friends and find a way to fit in?

But when Lenny finds a different way to express himself, everyone is in for a big surprise as they find out just how amazing he can be . . .

Chapter book

Don’t panic, but you’re in danger.

At least, you would be, if Jack Beechwhistle wasn’t around to protect the world from alien attacks, zombie sweet-shop owners, and exploding conkers – with a bit of help from his trusty sidekicks, Colin and Harry (as long as it’s not past Colin and Harry’s bedtime). Their missions are daring, dangerous, and deadly. They even have top-secret headquarters (the shed by the rhubarb patch).

But now Jack’s about to face his most challenging challenge yet. The Attack of the Giant Slugs.

And they’re on their way to Jack’s school – right in the middle of maths!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments