Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK

Picturebook

For anyone who can’t see a ball without wanting to kick it, head it, shoot it, or boot it!

‘Not eating an ice-cream
Or riding a bike
No – kicking a ball
Is what I like.’

‘What I like best, yes, most of all
in my whole life is . . . kicking a ball.

A wonderful rhyming story to read aloud, Kicking A Ball will not disappoint fans of Allan Ahlberg. First written as a poem, the little boy in the story has been brought to life perfectly by artist Sebastien Braun. Every parent will be able to immediately relate to the simple joy felt by a boy simply kicking a ball, and how there is nothing else quite like it.

The incomparable Allan Ahlberg takes us on a journey from childhood to fatherhood full of humour, warmth, friendship . . . and football.

Chapter book

Here comes trouble!

Daisy is usually happy with her strawberry Dip Dab lollies or Crunchy Cream biscuits, but when Easter comes round, it’s all about chocolate.

And the trouble with chocolate is, it’s TOO DELICIOUS. So when Daisy’s mum tells her they’re going to Chocolate Land as a special treat, she is REALLY excited!

PLUS she has been chosen to look after the class hamsters, Pickle and Pops! This could be the best Easter ever.

But the trouble with hamsters and chocolate is , the two shouldn’t mix…

Chapter book

A story about family, self-belief and bravery, The London Eye Mystery is a brilliantly inventive crime-caper perfect for fans of Enola Holmes, High-Rise Mystery and A Kind of Spark .
11.32 a.m. Ted and his sister Kat watch their cousin Salim get on board the London Eye. The pod rises from the ground, high above the city.

12.02 p.m. The pod lands and the doors open. Everyone exits – everyone but Salim.

Has he spontaneously combusted? (Ted’s theory.)
Has he been kidnapped? (Aunt Gloria’s theory.)
Is he even still alive? (The family’s unspoken fear.)
Ted doesn’t see the world like most people he knows and is sure that with his “unique operating system” of a brain he can uncover the truth about Salim’s disappearance .
So, teaming up with Kat , Ted sets out to do just that – following a trail of clues across London. But with time ticking dangerously by, can Ted solve the mystery before it’s too late?

Chapter book

Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are taking a holiday on the world-famous Orient Express – and it’s clear that each of their fellow first-class passengers has something to hide.

Even more intriguing: there is rumour of a spy in their midst.

Then, during dinner, there is a scream from inside one of the cabins. When the door is broken down, a passenger is found murdered, her stunning ruby necklace gone.

But the killer has vanished – as if into thin air.

Daisy and Hazel are faced with their first ever locked-room mystery – and with competition from several other sleuths, who are just as determined to crack the case.

Chapter book

When the dead come back to haunt the living, Lockwood & Co. step in . . .

For more than fifty years, the country has been affected by a horrifying epidemic of ghosts. A number of Psychic Investigations Agencies have sprung up to destroy the dangerous apparitions.

Lucy Carlyle, a talented young agent, arrives in London hoping for a notable career. Instead she finds herself joining the smallest most ramshackle agency in the city, run by the charismatic Anthony Lockwood. When one of their cases goes horribly wrong, Lockwood & Co. have one last chance of redemption. Unfortunately this involves spending the night in one of the most haunted houses in England, and trying to escape alive.

Set in a city stalked by spectres, The Screaming Staircase is the first in a chilling new series full of suspense, humour and truly terrifying ghosts. Your nights will never be the same again . . .

Graphic Novel

Percy Jackson – now in stunning graphic novel form!

Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a Greek God. I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. That’s when things started really going wrong. Now I spend my time fighting with swords, battling monsters with my friends, and generally trying to stay alive.

This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.

Can Percy find the lightning bolt before a fully-fledged war of the Gods erupts?

Graphic Novel

Things aren’t going well for Greg Heffley .

He’s been thrust into a new school where undersize weaklings share the corridors with kids who are taller, meaner and already shaving.

Along with his friend Rowley, Greg’s desperate to prove his new maturity, which only going up a grade can bring. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, will Greg be able to reach the same heights of popularity as his best friend?

Chapter book

Charlie McGuffin has an incredible secret . . .

He can change into animals. All sorts of animals: a flea, a pigeon, even a rhino.

Trouble is, he can’t decide when – it only happens when he gets worried. And right now, Charlie has quite a lot to worry about:
* His brother (who is in hospital)
* His parents (who are panicking about it)
* And the school bully (who has Charlie in his sights)

And even though every kid wants a superhero power, Charlie isn’t keen on changing into a chicken in the middle of the school play.

So with the help of his three best friends, Charlie needs to find a way of dealing with his crazy new power – and fast!

Picturebook

Colin Thompson’s books are mystical and complex, they will appeal to children and adults alike and demand to be returned to as there is always a new image to see . . . something more to catch the eye. Peter and his family live among the Quinces in the cookery section of a mystical library, and at night, when the library comes to life, Peter ventures out of his home to find a missing volume: How To Live Forever.

Graphic Novel

Astrid has always done everything with her best friend Nicole. So when Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for a summer camp, she’s sure Nicole will be right by her side – until Nicole signs up for ballet camp instead, with Astrid’s biggest rival. So begins the hardest summer of Astrid’s life, as she struggles to stay on her skates, to learn who she is without Nicole . . . and to find out what it takes to be a strong, tough, awesome roller girl.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments