Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Topics > Geography > Mountains and Volcanoes Topic

Mountains and Volcanoes Topic

icon mountain

Best Books For a Mountains and Volcanoes Topic 

Mountains are areas of land that are elevated higher than the land around them, usually formed over millions of years. Volcanoes are openings in the Earth’s crust that can let out gasses, ash and lava. From the mightiest of mountains to the most vicious volcanoes, we’ve put together a list of recommended children’s books for budding explorers to find out more about our awesome Earth. Look out for snow-capped adventures, mountain-side flora and fauna, ancient eruption escapes and elevated animal rescues in our hand-picked selection of the best children’s books about mountains and volcanoes…

Chapter books about mountains and volcanoes

Jess Butterworth
Chapter book
A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell. I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too. When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there. Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up. But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...
Eva Ibbotson
 & Jamie Littler
Chapter book
Another novel on the theme of mountains, but this one is a more light-hearted choice, popular with lower KS2. Full of humour and imagination, this laugh-out-loud book tells the story of a young woman who is kidnapped by the Yetis of the Himalayan Mountains and given the tasks of bringing up their unruly children. Although this book is very funny, it also carries a strong message about caring for our planet.
Michael Morpurgo
Chapter book
If you are looking for a gripping novel on the theme of mountains, this one could be for you. This story, from the popular children's author Michael Morpurgo, recounts the perilous journey of Ashley and his Uncle Sung across the Himalayan Mountains as they battle for survival.
Roderick O'Grady
Chapter book

Set in North America, this is the story of Minnie and her step-Dad Dan, who still live in the remote cabin where she was born at the foothills of the pine-forested mountain. One day Minnie sets off up the mountain with her friend Billy to search for the forest fire that has been raging on the other side of the mountain, only to find instead a set of huge footprints that could only belong to one thing… a sasquatch (an ape-like creature from North American folklore, also known as a bigfoot)!

The story sensitively explores the process of bereavement while also balancing the differing views of two different ‘peoples’ by telling the story from the dual perspectives of Minnie and a juvenile Sasquatch, Kaayii, with their ancient culture and beliefs so closely entwined with nature…

Jess Butterworth
Chapter book
Set on top of a super volcano, this is an adventure about coming to terms with grief, letting go of anger at the world and finding hope and joy in the most unexpected of places. Vivi and Seb live halfway across the world from each other, living completely separate lives, until a terrible event unexpectedly makes their paths collide. When they meet at a memorial and put together a plan to make things better, it becomes a race for survival as they try and find their way out of the wilderness.

Linda Newbery
Chapter book
This is the story of Tomas, whose father is a climbing guide in the Swiss mountains. When his father disappears, Tomas worries that a mountain monster called the Brockenspectre might be at work and sets about to brave the treacherous mountain terrains to find his father before it is too late. Covering themes of family relationships and grief, this is a gripping story for upper KS2.

Picturebooks about mountains and volcanoes

Christina Balit
Picturebook

Escape from Pompeii tells the story of a young boy called Tranio who lives in Pompeii at the time of the famous eruption of Vesuvius in AD 79. This captivating picture book allows readers to follow the footsteps of Tranio and his friend Livia as they come to terms with the destruction of their city and find their own routes to freedom.

There is also an accompanying 2-week English unit available from KS2History.

Lara Hawthorne
Picturebook
In this beautifully illustrated picture book from Lara Hawthorne, a mysterious creature from a secluded volcano crater explores the outside world for the very first time . . . but is it not what he expects it to be! Will his adventure teach him there is no place like home? Ratty lives deep inside the crater of an ancient volcano nestled in the rainforest. One day, he spies a particularly delicious-looking fruit high in the treetops, and sets out to reach it. From this high vantage point a spectacular view stretches before him - the world outside his mountain crater. In this big outside world, Ratty imagines, the fruit must be much sweeter, the bird songs more beautiful and the other animals far more interesting and sophisticated, and so he sets off in search of better things. But when is he is asked to attend a dinner party by a crocodile who seems just a bit too friendly, Ratty realises that perhaps there is no place like home after all. Inspired by the recent scientific breakthroughs of Mount Bosavi, in which over 40 new species of animals and plants were identified, Lara Hawthorne seamlessly combines story and fact in this picture book which celebrates the diversity of life, even in extreme habitats.
Alexandra Stewart
 & Joe Todd Stanton
Non-fiction

With a beautiful foreword by the greatest living explorer of our time, Sir Ranulph Fiennes, this brilliant book combines fresh and contemporary illustrations by Joe Todd-Stanton with Alexandra Stewart’s captivating writing and publishes in time to celebrate the centenary of Edmund Hillary’s birth. This unique narrative tells the story of how Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay made their mark on the world from birth right up to their final days and the impact they’ve had on Nepal today.

Non-fiction books about mountains and volcanoes

Dieter Braun
Non-fiction
Journey to the highest peaks and plateaus of planet Earth...but make sure to bring your climbing gear! Take a closer look at the mountains of the world, from the Alps to the Andes to the peaks of the Himalayas. Meet the animals and people who make their homes on rocky peaks, as well as the adventurers and athletes who challenge these great heights. This richly illustrated book is packed with history and facts about the mountains of the world and all their wonders.
Tom Vaillant
Non-fiction
Open this book and step into the fiery world of volcanoes! Find out why they erupt, what scientists can learn from them and which animals call them home. Explore volcanoes at the bottom of the sea, gaze upon the volcanoes of Mars, and travel back in time to find out what happened to the city of Pompeii...
Kate Baker
 & Page Tsou
Non-fiction
Do you know how tall the tallest mountain on Earth is? Or how deep the deepest ocean goes? Do you know which creature was the largest to ever live? Or how old the oldest tree is? Learn all this and more in this exquisite book of comparisons. Page Tsou's extraordinarily detailed illustrations have a lithograph aesthetic that is at once vintage and contemporary. A gorgeous Big Picture Press title that will fill readers with wonder at the world we live in.
Izzy Howell
Non-fiction
Learn about volcanoes and find out how they form, where they are most likely to be and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies. Fact Planet is a lively, information-filled geography series, packed full of colourful illustrations, clear explanations and fun quizzes to test your knowledge. The eye-catching flat illustrations combined with occasional photos bring geography and environmental issues to life.

Charlotte Guillain
 & Chris Madden
Non-fiction
Take a hike through alpine landscapes and snowy mountain peaks and discover Earth's diverse and delicate ecosystems. From the mighty Himalayas to the majestic Rockies , this book will take you on an amazing journey into the world of mountains. See the different flora and fauna , learn about the diverse range of species and understand the importance of maintaining these beautiful, natural habitats. This lyrical picture book shines a light on our planet's fragile mountain ecosystems, from the Himalayan jumping spider to stealthy snow leopard, gently covering important topics such as global warming and the impact of humans on the natural world. An author's note, world map and 'Find Out More' section in the back pages will inspire readers to learn more about the world around them Immersive illustrations are complemented by imaginative, evocative text, making this an ideal book for adult and child to read together, or for young readers to explore independently. Running through the book are themes of the interdependency of the species, the food web, and the importance of maintaining the delicate balance between creatures in mountain habitats around the world.
Rebecca Kahn
Non-fiction
Explore ten of the world's most awesome mountain ranges! From the Rockies to the the Great Dividing Range, discover some of the most famous and important mountain ranges on the planet. Zoom in on their most interesting features, with the help of engaging artwork and key information. Each mountian range 'profile' is accompanied by unique illustrations and clear photos. The World Feature Focus series brings a fresh perspective to the world's most significant elements and landforms. With artwork that emphasises the otherworldliness and beauty that exists within the make-up of Earth, children aged 7 upwards will be equally entranced and informed about the world's geography.

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments