Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > City of Spies

City of Spies

A thrilling spy adventure set in New York during the American revolution. From the rising star of children’s historical fiction, Iszi Lawrence, this is the perfect high-action adventure for fans of Horrible Histories, Emma Carroll and Hamilton.

It’s 1780 and the struggle for American independence is raging. In New York, twelve-year-old Aiden Blaise is sure that the British will win soon. How can a few rebel colonies hold out against the might of the British crown? And anyway he’s more concerned with somehow managing to rise above his lot in life and make his fortune.

But New York is a powder keg of soldiers and spies, and soon Aiden will be drawn into the fight for freedom in a way he could never have predicted…

Packed with historical detail and tales of the Culper Spy Ring, Benedict Arnold, James Rivington and George Washington, this page-turning thriller about the American War of Independence will have young readers gripped.

City of Spies

city of spies

Book Details

Format:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments