Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Non-fiction

Explore the world by looking not only at borders, mountains, rivers, seas and oceans, but by discovering the natural wonders of the world, historical artefacts, amazing animals, fascinating cultures and much much more.

With stunning illustrations from the incredible Jill Calder, The Picture Atlas is quite unlike anything you’ve seen before. From the freezing Arctic Circle with its powerful orca whales, to the amazing Sydney Opera House and the Great Barrier Reef, learn, explore and be amazed by the wonders of the world.

Bursting full of beautiful artwork, informative maps and astounding facts, take a trip around the world like you’ve never seen it before.

Chapter book

The story of the suffragettes with the Jiu Jitsu and roller-skating left in… this impeccably researched debut novel from Iszi Lawrence shows the fight for women’s suffrage as it really was.

Lettice Pegg’s father is a working-class policeman and her mother is a middle-class suffragette. Stuck between them (and her terrifying grandma) as they argue, Lettice mostly cares about trying to fit in at school and convincing her parents to let her have roller skates and go to the music hall. But, when Lettice sees her mother brutally thrown to the ground by a policeman while on a protest march, her life changes forever. Not all of the women on the march are vulnerable to attack. Some of them have a secret weapon: Jiu Jitsu.

As the suffragettes welcome Lettice to the fight back, things at home go from bad to worse. Can Lettice bring her family back together and keep her new friends?

Chapter book

It is the autumn of 1941, and Rosie Raja is back for another action-packed and electrifying adventure. After successfully helping her spy father complete his mission in France, Rosie has gained quite a reputation for herself and is determined to continue her secret agent escapades.

This time around, Rosie finds herself undercover in the magnificent and scorching city of Cairo, officially to make sure Egypt’s amazing historical artefacts are kept safe from the Nazis… but really to root out a traitor in the British ranks. With the stakes higher than they’ve ever been, can Rosie and her father keep each other safe?

A thrilling and empowering coming-of-age WWII adventure set in the dazzling city of Cairo which follows an engaging, determined, Muslim heroine called Rosina Raja. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those looking for diverse historical fiction.

Chapter book

In Gita Ralleigh’s second magical middle grade adventure set in a parallel colonial India, land-pirate Sam Singh sails to an isle teeming with spirits and secrets on a perilous journey to find the truth.

‘We are kings of the forest, Let them tame us if they can!’

Sam’s older brother, Moon, has been missing for three long years. Moon is a skilled thief, but Sam fears Moon’s luck has finally run out. It’s rumoured he’s held in the Octopus, a notorious prison on the Isle of Lost Voices, from which no one has ever escaped alive. Leaving his tribe of land-pirates behind, Sam sets sail with the shady Professor Bogusz and his faithful parrot, Suka. With help from a young forest guide called Lola, they trek deep into the island’s interior, a place where spirits dwell and the Octopus casts a deadly shadow.

With a storm brewing and the clock ticking, Sam is in a race against time to break into the prison, save Moon and find a brighter future for them all.

Chapter book

Jack-Jack, the world’s coolest dog, looks after orphaned chimpanzees in Africa; he’s about to embark on his biggest adventure ever!

I spend my days playing with baby chimps. When I meet Ben, suddenly, I have more baths than ever (previously none). I wave goodbye to my pet fleas,and prepare to fly thousands of miles. I’ve never been on a lead or in a car, so what will an aeroplane be like? T

The first in a new series of four books illustrated in black and white on every spread.

Chapter book

What would happen if we lost the happy endings to stories – imagine the tears at bedtime! A fantastic and magical tale about what happens when, one night, a wicked witch steals the happy endings to bedtime stories. It is up to Jub, the keeper of the happy endings, to save the day and ensure sweet dreams everywhere in this lyrical story about storytelling. In the tradition of classic fairy tales for children, Carol Ann Duffy and Jane Ray have created a truly compelling, surprising and beautiful story for children of all ages.

Chapter book

The Woodland Explorers solve mysteries and protect the animals of Willow Wish Woods. A magical new series for 5-7 inspired by Forest School, by prize-shortlisted author Ewa Jozefkowicz, full of friendship, adventure, and learning through nature, with fun illustrations on every page.

In Willow Wish Woods stands the ancient Emerald King. It is the tallest tree in the forest and there’s something special about it. Something magic…

Benji, Shyla, Ajay, Trix, Fujiko and Eric discover its branches are damaged. Who could have hurt the tree, and why? The stream, the Tadpole Run, is full of rubbish, and there’s not a frog in sight. The friends decide to form the Woodland Explorers Club. Their mission is to solve the mystery of the Emerald King, protect the animals of Willow Wish Woods and bring the magic of the forest back to life.

Picturebook

You probably know it’s good manners to always say ‘please’ when asking for something. But when Bill forgets this very simple rule, the consequences are wackier than he could ever have imagined.

This is a laugh-out-loud adventure featuring spaceships, jungle tigers, mountain yaks, fairytale castles and a whole host of alien toads. Saying ‘please’ has never been so important!

From the bestselling, award-winning author of You Must Bring a Hat and I Really Want the Cake (shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize), and the illustrator of Think Big by Kes Grey.

Short story collection

An enchanting collection of seven original fairy tales to bewitch and enthral by master storyteller, Vivian French, complemented by gorgeous, full-colour, contemporary artwork by debut children’s illustrator, Amy Grimes.

Bibi doesn’t believe in fairies. But when she meets her fairy godmother, the tiniest of hopes flickers in her mind. Seven quests to seven lands that will open a magic box and grant her a wish…. could it, just possibly, be true?

Whisked away with her trusty companion, Sylvestro the cat, Bibi quests with giants, dragons, princes and princesses, wizards, witches, water sprites and sea elves, unicorns, trolls and gnomes…

Can Bibi earn the keys to open the box…. and unlock her belief in fairy magic?

Chapter book

Illustrated in vibrant full-colour, a story of dance, celebration, carnival and slavery, about a family understanding their past to change the future.

Set in contemporary Notting Hill, Man-man and his friends are swept up in the exuberant preparations for carnival. But his mother is ill and even as he dances, he calls desperately to the Queen of Revels, as old as time to make her well again.

Swept away with his best friend Kareem and sharp-tongued sister Panama, to a place in between, the Queen of Revels plunges Man-man into Africa’s past and reveals his family’s heritage. As they gather around the sacred Tree of Memories, he witnesses many slaves, captives whose pain and anguish and longing is held by the tree. Man-man understands how this is draining his mother and how he must help her back to the freedom stolen from his ancestors.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments