Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Format: Chapter book

Chapter book

From the internationally bestselling author of Wonderscape and The Uncommoners, comes a spectacular new fantasy series for 9+ set in a world of magical creatures, ancient meteorites and secret organizations, irresistible to fans of Pokémon, Skandar and the Unicorn Thief and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

FEEL THE MAGIC. CONJURE THE IMPOSSIBLE.

When her dad is kidnapped by a woman with a giant hamstoceros, Bitsy and best friend Kosh are swept into a secret world of ancient meteorites and strange beasts called magicores, each conjured using a different emotion. Using a powerful bestiary called Magicalia, the friends must quickly become conjurors themselves, before following a trail of clues that will take them from London to India to Paris, in a race to rescue Bitsy’s dad from a mysterious villain…

Chapter book

Forgotten your homework and need to WING it?
Wish you could talk your way out of DETENTION?
Want to SQUASH your bullies and RISE to the top?
Join Kamal as he attempts to go from PUKE BOY to POPULAR!

Kamal is better than anyone else in his school at fading into the background. When you’re a refugee and you’ve started a new school three times in as many years, you learn to keep your head down.

But, after a major puke incident in front of the whole school, being invisible is no longer an option. And when Kamal finds a mysterious CHEAT BOOK in the library that promises to help him gain popularity, he sees a chance to finally make his mark . . .

This hilarious guide to being ‘too cool for school’ (or just cool enough) from brilliant author-illustrator RAMZEE. Perfect for 8+ readers of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Loki, with black-and-white illustrations throughout!

Chapter book

Jack-Jack, the world’s coolest dog, looks after orphaned chimpanzees in Africa; he’s about to embark on his biggest adventure ever!

I spend my days playing with baby chimps. When I meet Ben, suddenly, I have more baths than ever (previously none). I wave goodbye to my pet fleas,and prepare to fly thousands of miles. I’ve never been on a lead or in a car, so what will an aeroplane be like? T

The first in a new series of four books illustrated in black and white on every spread.

Chapter book

Join the Gods Squad in Ancient Egypt in the new hilarious adventure from the bestselling author of the Who Let the Gods Out series! The Gods Squad is back!

Vesper and Aster are in knots.

Wicked Egyptian immortal Seth has kidnapped the Sun God, Ra.

And if the children can’t save him in time, they’ll soon be mummies . . .

The second story in superstar author Maz Evans’s hilarious series, which started with Oh Maya Gods!.

As well as a brand-new Gods Squad led by Vesper and Aster, your favourite characters from the bestselling Who Let the Gods Out? series are back.

Book 2 of 3 in a superlative new spin-off series of mythological baddies – this time in Ancient Egypt.

Ties in neatly with KS2 curriculum as readers learn about Ancient Egyptian mythology – amongst epic adventure and belly laughs!

Chapter book

Devon, 1941. Bonnie wants to help in the war effort like her brother, Ralph, rather than tend the home vegetable patch. So when the mysterious Mr Fisher is billeted at their family home, Bonnie’s mission to uncover his secrets begins. Why is he here? Is he a shirker? Or worse … a German spy?

Chapter book

Are you brave enough to join the Wanderdays in their first thrilling adventure? They’re off on an edge-of-your-seat underwater quest to find out what’s really happening on the secret Fantome Island.

Meet Flo and Joseph Wanderday.

Their mum is one of the world’s greatest explorers, but she’s gone missing on her latest expedition. When a mysterious stranger appears, they discover the sinister reason for Mum’s trip.

This was no ordinary expedition and Mum was trying to uncover crimes committed by Sir Frederick Titan, a much-loved TV presenter who claims to be a protector of the natural world.

Flo, Joseph and their friends Funmi and Isaac find a map and follow clues taking them to a secret island to save Mum and expose Titan’s fishy plans…

An exciting watery adventure packed with brilliant baddies, bravery, friendship and real passion for protecting the natural world.

Chapter book

An outstanding, highly original and unputdownable read! This is a bold, thought-provoking adventure perfect for fans of MORTAL ENGINES and THE LAST WILD.

Coll is Wolf.

He lives with his clan on a Construct, a huge technological “creature” driven by the clan’s combined willpower. Together they roam their world, fighting other clans and absorbing them into their own.

But when a new and dangerous Construct attacks them, Coll is thrown clear from Wolf and left behind. Now he must survive life on ground and get back to his clan. He is helped by Rieka, a “Tock” who makes the Constructs work. She promises Coll a way to return, but can she be trusted? And what is she really trying to do…?

When Coll uncovers the truth, it destroys everything he thought he knew about his clan, the world they live in, and even himself. In a world full of danger, and suddenly without meaning, can he find a way back?

Chapter book

Alex’s best friend is Kevin the cockapoo, although what he wants most of all is a friend at school. A charming and gentle story about how life isn’t one size fits all.

Everything is changing for 11-year-old Alex and, as an autistic person, change can be terrifying. With the first day of high school only a couple of months away, Alex is sure that having a friend by his side will help. So, he’s devised a plan – impress the kids at school by winning a trophy at the PAWS Dog Show with his trusty sidekick, Kevin. This should be a walk in the park … right?

Chapter book

No.

Not the Palace.

Anywhere but the Palace.

12-year-old Alexander Buchan was once content, training as a falconer at Strathbogie Castle in Huntly. But when his Earl sends him to Edinburgh to the court of the newly arrived Mary, Queen of Scots, the boy finds himself lured into a world of intrigue, terror and treachery. Alexander knows right from wrong, but how can he hope to outwit the Earl’s murderous messenger? Surely no one can defy such a powerful master whose wife is rumoured to be a witch!

Soon, more than the boy’s own life is at stake: his friend Lizzie is arrested and the the angry clouds of Reformation Scotland gather around the young Queen.

It seems that Alexander must spy – or die.

Chapter book

Ettie has lived blissfully with just her grandma for company and the wild woods as her playground. Until she meets the mysterious Cora and she starts to crave more – now she wants to explore further, to discover secrets of her own. So, when Cora leads her to the hidden quarry pool – deep, cold, beautiful and dangerously inviting – Ettie is ready to jump straight in. But the quarry has secrets too, and Ettie will have to dive deep into the darkness to uncover them . . .

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments