Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Age Group: Year 4

Best Books for KS2 Children

We’ve hand-picked a list of 30 recommended books for Junior School children. Update your Key Stage 2 classroom library or home book collections with our list of the best books for children aged 7-11, featuring disappearing grown-ups, a robot best friend, a hero on an elephant and a football-loving dog!

This booklist includes books to read with children alongside books for them to read themselves. Featuring popular storytime reads like Matilda, laugh-out-loud choices like You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum!, thrilling adventure stories like Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and captivating mysteries like The Highland Falcon Thief, this list really does have something for everyone.

If you’re a parent or teacher looking for the best books for Key Stage 2 children, look no further than our list. Whether you are looking for classic tales, funny read-alouds, new releases or educational reads, we have something to suit every young reader’s interests. Our Key Stage 2 booklist includes both fiction and non-fiction recommendations to help open minds and spark imaginations.

There is also a downloadable checklist and a printable poster, and schools can purchase full packs of these books from Peters or select packs of the Primary books or KS1 books instead.

If you are looking for more specific recommendations, you may like our Year Group Lists (see below) or Curriculum Topic Booklists.

Best Books for Primary School Children

Browse our reading list of 50 recommended books for Primary Schools. Update your class library or home book collections with our list of the best Primary School books, featuring everything from fashion-conscious flamingoes to hilarious skeletons, greedy monsters to angry pirates, murder and intrigue to super scientists.

This primary reading list includes books to read with children alongside books for them to read themselves. Featuring popular storytime reads like The Highway Ratlaugh-out-loud choices like Funnybones, action-packed chapter books like Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and top-notch non-fiction like The Rainforest Book, this list really does have something for everyone.

Our team of experts carefully curated this collection of primary books with the help of our Review Panel members, who have tried and tested hundreds of titles in their primary school settings to bring you only the best of the best.

So, if you’re a parent or teacher looking for the best books for Primary School children, look no further than our list. Whether you are looking for classic tales, funny read-alouds, new releases or educational reads, we have something to suit every young reader’s interests. Our Primary School booklist includes both fiction and non-fiction recommendations to offer primary school children a deliciously tempting offering of reading-for-pleasure choices. There is also a downloadable checklist and a printable poster, and schools can purchase full packs of these books from Peters or select packs of the KS2 books or KS1 books from the list.

If you are looking for more specific recommendations, you may like our Year Group Lists (see below) or Curriculum Topic Booklists.

Best children’s books about Diwali 

The Hindu festival of lights is an engaging and colourful topic, which you can bring to life with this hand-picked selection of Diwali stories for children. This list of the best books about Diwali for primary school children features richly-illustrated picturebooks alongside fact-packed non-fiction and activity books.

If you are looking for story books about Diwali showing children enjoying the festivities, try Binny’s Diwali or The Best Diwali Ever, in which young Ariana makes plans to for extra special Diwali celebrations, with yummy sweets, divas around the house, pretty clothes, fireworks and a rangoli competition. We also recommend Christopher Corr’s excellent picturebook retelling of the story of Rama and Sita. For information books for children about Diwali, try Ladybird’s lift-the-flap First Festivals: Diwali or the photo-based information book Celebrate With Me: Diwali.

Add sparkle to your Diwali topic with our list of recommended children’s books about Diwali….

Following the meteoric rise in popularity of girls’ and women’s football over the past few years, we are delighted to bring you this list of the best children’s books featuring girls’ and women’s football teams.

From historical fiction to non-fiction texts written by some of today’s brightest footballing stars, this list has something to offer all football-mad readers. So why not kick off your reading with these inspiring books about girls’ football?

Chapter book

Being BAD has never felt so GOOD! The first in a villainously funny, highly illustrated young middle-grade series from author-illustrator Ryan Hammond. For fans of Amelia Fang, Dog Man and Grimwood.

Welcome to Villains Academy – the most prestigious villain school in the ENTIRE land. You will either leave here as a fully-formed villain . . . or in tatters.

It’s werewolf Bram’s first day at Villains Academy. He really doesn’t feel like a villain at all, but the coveted Villain of the Week trophy is up for grabs, and Bram knows he’ll have to dig deep. With the help of new friends Mona the elf-witch, Bryan the lion, Shelia the ghost and Tony the skeleton, can Bram find his inner badness and become the villain he’s always dreamed of being?

Chapter book

Meet Grant the genie, and his best friend – the puppy, Teeny…

The third in a series of magical adventures from the renowned illustrator, Steven Lenton, winner of Waterstones Picture Book of the Month and the Times Children’s Book of the Week.

When Grant starts to miss his old life in Genie World, Teeny has a plan on how he can get the genie home for a flying visit. But as usual, where wishes are involved, nothing is quite that simple and they soon find out they’re in for a rollercoaster of a ride!

Chapter book

An unforgettable friend returns in this warm and fantastically funny sequel to the bestselling debut Einstein the Penguin.

Imogen and Arthur have been missing their friend, the penguin, Einstein, since he went back to Australia. So when an opportunity for him to return arises, they jump at the chance.

But then Einstein and his friend Isaac are kidnapped. It’s time to turn detective again . . .

Chapter book

Join inventor Scooter and his alien sidekick, Fizzbee, on their third adventure! For the first time ever, Scooter has NO ideas. How on earth can they save the jam factory from a slimy slug invasion?
Scooter, Fizzbee and Cat have turned McLays jam factory into a tropical jam-making paradise. Delicious! There’s just one problem. SLUGS. Slithering everywhere, eating all the fruit, and in danger of causing the factory to fail its hygiene inspection. Scooter has to think of a way to get them out, pronto. Hyper-creative, he usually has ideas constantly whizzing and whooshing around his head. But something strange has happened … he’s gone blank. SCOOTER HAS NO IDEAS! With evil head slug Mucus Vane taking total control of the factory, the gang will need to summon everything they have to save McLays Jam – and help Scooter rediscover his creativity!

Chapter book

The first book in a BRILLIANT new series brimming with adventure, friendship and an amazing array of magical creatures! A must-read for fans of Beast Quest , The Boy Who Grew Dragons and The Naughtiest Unicorn – and ideal for children aged 7-9.

Aisha and Jayden are definitely not fans of Outside.

Aisha would rather be home playing on her tablet or messaging her friends.

Jayden thinks the worlds inside his books are much more exciting than the real one beyond his window.
But when they are asked to join the Secret Beast Club, a centuries-old secret group that protects mythological creatures, Aisha and Jayden discover that real magic could be closer than they think . . . you just have to know where to look . . .

Inspired by the real life story of Pablo Fanque – the first Black circus owner – and featuring fun facts about the magical creatures within each story, this exciting new series for 6+ readers is not to be missed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments