Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Age Group: Year 6

​50 Best Books for Year 6 (Children Aged 10-11)

Newly Updated – April 2024

Welcome to BooksForTopics’ recommended reading list for Year 6. If you’re looking for a list of the best books for children in Year 6, you’ve come to the right place. Our team of experts has selected a list of the 50 best books for children aged 10-11. We’ve tried to include something for all tastes – so look out for off-the-map kingdoms, thunder lizards, clocks that strike thirteen and the scariest school trip ever…

With a mix of classic and contemporary titles, our selection of recommended reads is designed to provide children with a diverse range of literature that will encourage them to become lifelong readers. Our list includes popular Y6 books such as Skandar and the Unicorn ThiefMurder Most Unladylike and Artemis Fowl as well as lesser-known treasures that are equally delightful, like Emmy Levels Up and Running Out of Time.

Our panel of reading experts, primary teachers and librarians helps us to read and review our books to select the best titles to recommend to each year group. Along with evaluating the current popularity of books, we carefully assess each title on the merit of its age-appropriateness, quality of writing and illustrations, and ability to stimulate imagination, critical thinking and creativity.

This list of recommended books for Year 6 children is curated to match their developmental stage and cater to their interests, as they grow through their final year of primary school and prepare for the step up to secondary. There is also a downloadable checklist and a printable poster, and schools can purchase full sets of the 50 books through Peters.
.

year 6 recommended reads printable poster 2024year 6 recommended reads checklist 2024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Browse the Y6 booklist below or scroll down to find more purchasing options and printable resources.

Chapter book

Fun, fast-paced, high-octane action adventure, 21% Monster is a perfect page-turning new series for fans of Alex Rider, Percy Jackson and the MCU generation.

When Darren Devlin is arrested for destroying his school with his bare hands, it’s not just the police who are after him. Enter Marek Masters, 14 years old, 19% alien, and the most intelligent, most wanted “almost human” alive. Marek is here to tell Darren the truth – he is 21% monster, and together they must take down the secret organisation that created them.

Darren and Marek are wanted, powerful and dangerous. And now it’s payback time.

Recommended Children’s Books For Children Age 11

Searching for good books for 11-year-olds? Welcome to our curated list of recommended reads for children aged 11, chosen by experts.

This guide to recommended books for eleven-year-olds to read has been put together to help parents, teachers, and anyone on the lookout for riveting reads for tweens. Our reviewed list spans various genres and themes, striking a balance between entertainment and education at the developmental level of children aged 11.

Whether you’re on the hunt for fantasy worlds filled with magical creatures, relatable stories about growing up or transitioning schools, or laugh-out-loud illustrated stories to engage more reluctant readers, our list is designed to help 11-year-olds discover their next read. From popular series like Murder Most Unladylike to action-packed historical adventures like Wolf Brother and giggle-worthy adventures like A Beginner’s Guide to Ruling the Galaxy, our top 20 picks will appeal to a wide range of tastes among 11-year-olds.

For even more extensive book suggestions, you might also like our lists of the 50 Best Books 6 or Transition to Secondary Booklist.

Best Books for KS2 Children

Newly Updated – April 2024

We’ve hand-picked a list of 30 recommended books for Junior School children. Update your Key Stage 2 classroom library or home book collections with our list of the best books for children aged 7-11, featuring disappearing grown-ups, a robot best friend, a hero on an elephant and a football-loving dog!

This KS2 booklist includes books to read with children alongside books for them to read themselves. Featuring popular storytime reads like The Wonder Brothers, laugh-out-loud choices like Trixie Picklethrilling adventure stories like The Glorious Race of Magical Beasts and fact-filled favourites like Football Rules, this junior school reading list has something for everyone.

This Key Stage 2 book list has been put together based on a mix of titles taken from our popular individual year group reading lists and with the help of the librarians and booksellers at Peters. The emphasis is on introducing newer books that school libraries may not already have, to help pupils discover brand-new favourites to read for pleasure.

There is also a downloadable checklist and a printable poster, and schools can purchase full packs of these books from Peters or select packs of the Primary books or KS1 books instead.

best books for ks2 juniors posterbest books for ks2 juniors checklist

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want more specific recommendations, you may like our Year Group Lists (see below) or Curriculum Topic Booklists.


Browse the junior school reading
list below or scroll down to find more purchasing options and printable resources.

50 Books for Primary School Children

Newly Updated – April 2024

Browse our reading list of 50 recommended books for Primary Schools. Update your class library or home book collections with our list of the best Primary School books, featuring everything from intergalactic snail adventures and unexpected unicorns to secret agent chameleons and mountain explorers.

This primary reading list includes books to read with children alongside books for them to read themselves. Featuring popular storytime reads like Gigantic and Pop!, early chapter books like Magic Faces, action-packed adventure books like The Glorious Race of Magical Beasts and top-notch non-fiction like How Do Meerkats Order Pizza?, this list really does have something for everyone.

This list has been put together based on a mix of titles taken from our popular individual year group reading lists and with the help of the team of librarians and booksellers at Peters.

If you’re a parent or teacher looking for the best books for Primary School children, look no further than our list. Whether you are looking for funny read-alouds, new releases or educational reads, we have something to suit every young reader’s interests. Our Primary School booklist includes both fiction and non-fiction recommendations to offer primary school children a deliciously tempting offering of reading-for-pleasure choices.

There is also a downloadable checklist and a printable poster, and schools can purchase full packs of these books from Peters or select packs of the KS2 books or KS1 books from the list.

 

best books for primary school children posterbest books for primary school children checklist

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are looking for more specific recommendations, you may like our Year Group Lists (see below) or Curriculum Topic Booklists.

Browse the primary school reading list below or scroll down to find more purchasing options and printable resources.

Recommended Children’s Books For Children Age 10

Looking for good books for 10-year-olds? Welcome to our handpicked collection of the best books for children aged 10.

We’ve carefully chosen these recommended books for ten-year-olds to make it easier for parents, teachers, and anyone searching for quality literature for young readers. Our reviewed and curated list covers a variety of genres and themes, ensuring a balance between entertainment and education.

Whether you’re seeking thrilling adventures for keen bookworms, relatable coming-of-age stories, or super-fun illustrated reads for more reluctant readers, our guide aims to simplify the process of finding the perfect book for your 10-year-old. Featuring true classics like The Chronicles of Narnia, action-packed adventure series like Percy Jackson and popular illustrated funny stories like Freddy Vs School, we’ve covered all tastes in our top 20 picks of recommended stories for 10-year-olds.

For more comprehensive booklists, browse our lists of 50 Best Books for Year 5 or 50 Best Books for Year 6.

Explore our recommendations for age 10 children and make reading an enjoyable and enriching part of your child’s journey into the world of books.

Best Children’s Books about Enterprise, Business and Money

Browse our booklist of recommended children’s books about Enterprise.

From stories about bright young entrepreneurs like in Felix Unlimited or Beauty and the Bin to information books about the world of business or finance like Why Money Matters, our booklist aims to feature recommended children’s books about enterprise, business and money.

Richly illustrated fact books introduce key concepts and terms in an engaging and accessible way, while relatable stories of enterprise and biographies of real-life business figures really bring the Enterprise topic to life. 

Why not get to business and dive right in? You never know, it might spark an idea for your next big venture!

Best children’s books about Diwali 

The Hindu festival of lights is an engaging and colourful topic, which you can bring to life with this hand-picked selection of Diwali stories for children. This list of the best books about Diwali for primary school children features richly-illustrated picturebooks alongside fact-packed non-fiction and activity books.

If you are looking for story books about Diwali showing children enjoying the festivities, try Binny’s Diwali or The Best Diwali Ever, in which young Ariana makes plans to for extra special Diwali celebrations, with yummy sweets, divas around the house, pretty clothes, fireworks and a rangoli competition. We also recommend Christopher Corr’s excellent picturebook retelling of the story of Rama and Sita. For information books for children about Diwali, try Ladybird’s lift-the-flap First Festivals: Diwali or the photo-based information book Celebrate With Me: Diwali.

Add sparkle to your Diwali topic with our list of recommended children’s books about Diwali….

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments