Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > Things That Go Bump

Things That Go Bump

A wildly entertaining, page-turning, enjoyably scary story for fans of Goosebumps, Gremlins, and Night at the Museum. When Olive and some of her year 6 friends find themselves locked overnight inside Flatpack – a new IKEA-style superstore – they quickly realise that they are not alone. A number of things hitched a ride from the forest where Flatpack sources its wood and in every dark nook, they’ve been multiplying…

After several of the group get themselves dragged off to who knows where, Olive knows she was right all along – monsters are definitely real.

After that, she’s forced to face her fears and come up with a plan:

1) rescue her friends

2) avoid being apprehended by overly efficient store employees,

3) hack into the store’s delivery system and send the monsters back where they came from.

Oh, and don’t get eaten.

Whatever you do, don’t look under the beds. And if you hear a wardrobe creaking open behind you, RUN!

Funny, highly entertaining spooky middle grade packed with monsters and mayhem – for kids who love a good (safe) scream!

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Killick and Goosebumps

Bestselling YA thriller author Kathryn brings her trademark wit, high energy and fiendish plotting to a younger audience.

Things That Go Bump

things that go bump

Book Details

Illustrator:
Format:
Publisher:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments