Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > Pizazz vs The Future

Pizazz vs The Future

Book Synopsis

The sixth book in the SUPER graphic novel-like series for readers aged 7+ from the amazingly talented illustrator and author Sophy Henn! Brimming with Sophy’s hilarious illustrations, this is the perfect read for fans of Bunny Vs Monkey, Tom Gates, Amelia Fang, Wimpy Kid and Dog Man.

Everyone’s favourite reluctant superhero is back and ready to give this super thing her ALL – she’s even got a BRAND-NEW COSTUME. Pizazz soon discovers that a bunch of baddies have formed TEAM TOXIC and are trying to DESTROY the PLANET for ever, but none of the grown-ups even care!

This time it’s up to Pizazz and her friends to save the world . . . before it destroys ITSELF!

Our Review Panel says...

Pizazz is back in her brand new Super Costume (with pockets in the cape) to fight for the Superheroes against their old enemy, Team Toxic. Everything is going well and Team Toxic are losing every battle – until they change tactics. Their new evil plan is inspired: they will work through humans, using them to destroy Earth. Their new company, Toxico, encourages everyone to get more and more pointless, planet-polluting stuff. Pizazz and her friends uncover the plot – but what can they do about it when nobody will listen?

This exuberant book sparkles with mischief and humour. Although the underlying premise sounds – and is – serious – the overall impression is one of fun. Superhero illustrations, visual gags, and comic strip pages break up the text to make it a Super-Accessible, high interest, low threat story for readers who are still building their confidence with longer books.

Pizazz is a strong heroine and, despite her ability to produce (biodegradable) glitter storms, utterly relatable. It’s her fifth book but reads just as well as a standalone. We recommend it as a ‘read for pleasure’ title to fans of Tom Gates, Wimpy Kid, Dogman and Bunny vs Monkey. Put it in a Year 3 or 4 book corner, stock it in the Library but also use extracts as part of any project work on plastics or recycling. It’s a gem, so, whatever you do, don’t miss it!

This book is available on these booklists:

Pizazz vs The Future

pizazz vs the future

Book Details

Author:
Format:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments