Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd

Picturebook

We went to the seaside, Mum, Pip and me.
To play in the sand dunes and splash in the sea,
We’d have SO MUCH fun, I had it all planned!
As soon as we got there . . . I RAN FOR THE SAND!

But one little girl gets SO MUCH MORE than she bargained for after her day out at the beach – with the most hilarious consequences!

From superstar fiction author Michelle Harrison and bestselling illustrator David Tazzyman comes the first book in a laugh-out-loud series set to become a family favourite.

Picturebook

A moving and magical picture book about the love between a young girl and the moon

“Luna’s here, there’s no need to fear.”

Bekah loves the moon, and she knows the moon loves her too. Each night, when shadows or strange noises frighten her, she is visited by Luna, who bathes the room in moonlight and chases away her fears. But as Luna appears less and less often, Bekah begins to doubt whether her love was ever real. When Luna returns, Bekah finds that even when someone can’t always be by your side, their love never leaves you.

From the author of Daddy Do My Hair and the highly acclaimed Onyeka series, Tolá Okogwu, and FAB prize shortlisted illustrator, Abeeha Tariq.

Graphic Novel

The brand-new, hilariously funny full colour graphic novel series from award winning author and illustrator of the Pizazz series, Sophy Henn. Jam-packed with hilarious stories, this is perfect for fans of Bunny vs Monkey, Dogman and Tom Gates.

Meet the friendly and not-so-friendly residents of Happy Hills, a place where anything can happen and always does! When unicorn Ace stumbles across happy hills, he is surrounded by the residents who are keen to share their spooky stories, plays a town-wide game of IT, all while avoiding GIANT DANGER KITTENS.

Chapter book

An out-of-this-world middle-grade adventure about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted author of BOY IN THE TOWER. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and authors, such as Ross Welford and Lisa Thompson.

Something strange is happening in Ana’s city . . . she’s the only one awake. Confused and curious, Ana sets off to explore, bumping into the one other person who’s been able to rouse themselves – her ex–best friend, Tio. On a mission to discover what’s happening, Ana and Tio journey through the city looking for clues, their friendship mending with every step. When a mysterious creature suddenly materialises in front of them, Ana realises they’ve found the answer they’ve been looking for. But one question still remains: Why them?

Chapter book

Your favourite fairytales from a BIG, BAD point of view. Pre-order the brand-new Fairytale Diary from bestselling author, Ben Miller, now!

The big, bad wolf hasn’t had a great winter. He’s cold, lonely and hungry . . . But things are about to change – he’s going to take the Fairytale Woods by STORM.

But while he knows he’s BIG and BAD, no one else seems to be scared of him, they just keep meddling with his plans – the troll under the bridge, the three annoying pigs, and that pesky Little Red Riding Hood! This is going to take all his brain power and his most cunning smile, to catch Grandma and reclaim his place at the top of the food chain!

Turn the page, share the adventure in a hilarious and magical story for all the family, illustrated by Elisa Paganelli.

Chapter book

A deeply moving, vitally important picture book encouraging empathy and kindness.

Somewhere in this world, there is someone just like you,
who finds the same things funny and who laughs the way you do.

Have you ever stopped to think that there might be someone out there who is just like you? And if they needed you, would you help them?

Helen Docherty’s lyrical rhyming text is perfectly matched by David Roberts’ stunning, thoughtful illustrations, as the two combine to make a picture book that is as necessary as it is beautiful.

Picturebook

A joyful, empowering call to be the hero of your OWN story!

A girl opens up a book looking for the story that’s perfect for HER and tumbles inside. But Goldilocks is not her story, and nor is Jack and the Beanstalk or Little Red Riding Hood… There’s only one thing for it: she’s going to have to write her own story – and this time, SHE will be the hero.

A celebration of the stories we ALL love and the stories we are yet to write, this vivid, irresistible picture book introduces the terrific new partnership of Smriti Halls (bestselling author of I’m Sticking with You illustrated by Steve Small and Rain Before Rainbows illustrated by David Litchfield) and Erika Meza (award-winning illustrator of My Two Border Towns written by David Bowles).

Chapter book

From the authors of the bestselling Dragon Mountain comes the first in a brand-new, action-packed, dragon-obsessed series.

Twelve-year-old Lance Lo, his younger sister Zoe and new friends have enrolled at Camp Claw to learn all the skills they need to become protectors of the new world. But when the camp is mysteriously attacked and an evil plot exposed, it’s up to the latest recruits to prove they’ve got what it takes to save the day.

Chapter book

The first book in a warm and beautifully observed farm adventure series from Nicola Baker, star of Our Farm in the Dales. Perfect for readers 8+ and fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Michael Morpurgo, Dick King Smith and The Snow Foal. With stunning illustrations from Rachael Dean throughout.

When ten-year-old Ava moves to Whistledown Farm while her parents are working abroad, she must swap city life for mud, wellies and animals. But as one catastrophe follows another, will Ava learn to love life on the farm and find hope in nature? And can a very special little lamb show Ava that when all might seem lost, hope can be found…

Picturebook

An inspiring story about the incredible things that can happen when you give something a try, from award-winning author Catherine Emmett and bestselling illustrator Claire Powell.

Delilah did not often talk of her dream, in case others laughed at how daft it might seem.
For like all those others, this small dodo knew, there never had been any dodos who flew.

Meet Delilah. She’s on a mission to be the first dodo to take flight – and she won’t let what any of the other dodos say stand in her way. This heart-warming story of perseverance, from the Oscar’s Book Prize shortlisted author of The Pet, will strike a chord with anyone who’s ever dared to dream. Brought to life with fabulous artwork from the illustrator of The Night Before the Night Before Christmas. This empowering story is perfect for fans of Rachel Bright.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments