Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Curriculum Topic Booklists > Literacy & Reading > Graphic Novels for KS1

Graphic Novels for KS1

graphic novels ks1

Best Graphic Novels for KS1 (Ages 5-7)

Graphic novels are longer stories written and illustrated in a comic style, combining a sequence of engaging visual elements that drive the plot, coupled with short pockets of text in the form of captions and dialogue. The format has seen a burst in popularity in recent years, and these books are seeing an increasing demand in primary schools.

Up until recently, most of the graphic novels available have been aimed at older children, but a newer demand for graphic novels suitable for younger readers in KS1 is now emerging. Whether you are looking for simple adventures like Max and Chaffy or comic tales of animal friends like Peanut Butter and Crackers, we’ve compiled a short list of the best graphic novels where the story content, length and text level are suited to children aged 5-7 in Years 1 and 2.

This list is aimed at readers in KS1. If you are looking for recommendations for graphic novels for older children, be sure to check out our Graphic Novels for Lower KS2 and Graphic Novels for Upper KS2.

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Popular Graphic Novels for Ages 5-7

Norm Feuti
Graphic Novel
A brand-new early reader graphic novel series about finding friendship in unexpected places! This fun and funny buddy comedy is perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly, emerging readers, and all kids who love comics.Ally the alligator is perfectly happy being alone . . . until one day a noisy bird named Beak lands on her snout.Beak thinks Ally is lonely and needs a friend. He has all sorts of friendship goals in mind, like riding bikes together, going to the movies together, and even solving mysteries together! But when a Long-Billed Party Pooper crashes Beak’s nest-warming party, Ally decides to show Beak something important to her: sticking up for what’s right.
Mo O'Hara
 & Jess Bradley
Graphic Novel
Meet Anonymoose - the best (worst) secret agent in the Big Forest. Along with Owlfred, his slightly more intelligent sidekick, this giant master of disguise has dedicated himself to solving all of Woodland HQ's mysteries!But this mystery is even more important than normal. Anonymoose's rival, Camo Cameleon, is being given a trophy for being the first agent to solve 100 cases - an honor that Anonymoose just barely missed out on! - and Anonymoose is sure that something fishy is going on.The clock's ticking and it's up to Anonymoose and Owlfred to find Terrace the Missing Turtle before Camo steals Anonymoose's title of the Best Secret Agent in the Woods!
Ben Clanton
Graphic Novel

A laugh-out-loud short graphic novel, bound to get even the least enthusiastic readers engaged.

The three short comic-style stories would be great for introducing a graphic novel to reading sessions for those children moving on from phonics; exploring the characters, the humour and how the illustrations support the storytelling and help the reader make inferences about the characters. It is jam-packed with possibilities for the classroom. There are Narwhal and Jellyfish facts that could lead to information writing and the final text is a reflection on imagination and storytelling the blank pages would be a brilliant prompt for children to unleash their own creativity and design their own comic strip style stories.

A reading-for-pleasure ‘must have’ for the KS1 classroom! I highly recommend it!

Mark Bradley
Graphic Novel
Best friends Bumble and Snug are Bugbops - little monsters filled with BIG feelings! In this full-colour graphic novel, join them on a funny, imaginative adventure with some VERY angry pirates, learning about the world outside and inside along the way.Bumble and Snug are going on a big adventure to ... have a picnic! But when they accidentally get lost, they're both cross - is their adventure ruined?Working together to find their way home, Bumble and Snug come across a pirate treasure horde. But taking treasure that isn't yours is a good way to get into trouble, and sure enough some VERY angry pirates aren't far behind.Bumble and Snug are certain they can replace the treasure, and fix things to make everybody happy. But there's another monstrous obstacle in store - and this one has TENTACLES.Bumble and Snug and the Angry Pirates is a story about being cross and how to listen, friendship and sandcastles, and one GIANT octopus!
Jamie Smart
Graphic Novel
Max has just moved to Animal Island and it's full of new friends: Orlando, Crumbs, Moose, Pedalo and a very special creature called a CHAFFY.Chaffy is lost! So it's down to Max to find where Chaffy belongs, and YOU can help!A heart-warming, interactive adventure story, full of friendship and joy, from bestselling author/illustrator Jamie Smart!

Thomas Flintham
Graphic Novel

Press Start! is a series of books aimed at readers who are ready for their first chapter books or those who feel overwhelmed by longer chapter books.

‘Game On, Super Rabbit Boy’ is set in the game of Super Rabbit Boy Land, a platform game that is activated when the boy in the story presses start. For this book, Super Rabbit Boy has to save Singing Dog who has been captured by the game’s main enemy, King Viking. Once he starts the rescue, he is faced with the challenge of successfully completing six levels of increasing difficulty with only limited lives. As the game progresses, failure occurs and Super Rabbit Boy has to learn from his errors as he restarts a level. He has to remember what he has learned, apply his new knowledge, overcome his fears and go for the win. Not only must Super Rabbit Boy not give up, but nor should the boy who is playing the game – the theme of resilience and perseverance is very strong and would suit classroom conversations about not giving up.

Children who love gaming would very likely be attracted to the book – it reflects the visual style of Minecraft of Roblox, but it will appeal to a wide audience because of the level of detail, bright colours and range of illustrations page after page. The speech bubbles, relatively simple sentences, repetition and short paragraphs will make this work well as an independent reader for the more confident, as well as a shared reader.

Paige Braddock
Graphic Novel
A goofy new puppy turns the lives of two rescue pets upside down in this hilarious graphic novel for pet lovers and fans of The Secret Life of Pets.Butter and Crackers are rescue pets living their best (and quiet) lives. Butter, a laid-back cat, has access to all the butter he can lick and Crackers, a slightly nervous dog, is free to bark at squirrels to his heart's content. With an owner who goes to work every day, they spend their days doing whatever they want.But when Peanut, a brand-new puppy with big floppy ears, arrives, everything changes. He has no appreciation of the quiet life, no idea how stairs work and he's even afraid of the dark!Butter and Crackers have had enough - this puppy needs to go! But when Peanut escapes and gets lost, it turns out that home isn't home without the noisy little puppy after all...A sweet and hilarious story about life seen through the eyes of pets, perfect for newly independent readers, visual readers and pet owners.

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

More Graphic Novels For Children:

Best Graphic Novels for Ages 9-11 (Upper KS2)

Best Graphic Novels for Ages 7-9 (Lower KS2)

 

You may also like our Year Group booklists, featuring 50 Recommended Reads for each primary school year group, or our curriculum topic booklists.

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments