Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Format: Poetry

Poetry

Funny, thought-provoking and bursting with curiosity, Wise Up! Wise Down! is a lively conversation between two internationally renowned poets, illustrated by treasured artist Satoshi Kitamura.

How can laughter be more powerful than a sword? Why do days have names but not weeks? And do pigeons ever get a craving for cake? Two friends, internationally acclaimed poets John Agard and JonArno Lawson, take us on an inspiring, hilarious and wondrous journey through poetry, asking questions and attempting answers as they discover that life really is a forever and ever adventure.

Chapter bookPoetry

The second story in a funny, deliciously dark, three-part series of twisted classics, written in verse by award-winning poet Joseph Coelho.

Joining the family business, animal-lover Bryony proves to be an extraordinary taxidermist, whose tender fingers create displays which comfort, educate and astound. But when Byrony’s proud father boasts of her skill, who should come calling but the secretive King of all Mythica. Locking her away, he gives her three horrible tasks … three impossible tasks! It’s only then that a strange, sinister creature emerges from the shadows of the castle, offering Bryony a helping hand… But at what cost?

Frankenstein meets Rumpelstiltkin in this expertly-stitched story about a powerful king, a girl unafraid to stand up for her beliefs, and a monstrous little creature with magic – and greed – in his bones.

Poetry

Mindful haiku poems to help us rediscover our natural surroundings, without travelling too far from home.

Some flowers are the subject of nursery rhymes and childhood games while others help us celebrate love, remember our homelands or mark the passing seasons. These mindful haiku poems invite us to explore twenty-four flower species growing close to home, from wildflower meadows to urban window boxes.

The nature-themed follow up to My Mindful A to Zen, this gorgeous collection of poems teaches us that treating ourselves and our planet mindfully can also be a treat for the senses.

PicturebookPoetry

An uplifting celebration of nature and the wonder of the world around us by legendary poet and performer Benjamin Zephaniah, one of The Times’ top 50 British post-war writers.

At the bottom of my garden, there’s a hedgehog and a frog,
And a lot of creepy-crawlies living underneath a log . . .

All around us, from parks to gardens and flowerpots to pavements, there’s a world of wonder just waiting to be discovered. Why not look a little closer and see what you find?

This joyful celebration of nature reminds us all to take a closer look at the world around us, and enjoy the wonder of nature wherever we find it. Packed with animals and minibeasts galore, this imaginative rhyming text is perfect for reading aloud.

Poetry

Inspiring poems to connect with nature.
This collection of 50 poems will spark a love of nature, bring calm and happiness and let the outside in.

Beautifully illustrated, it is filled with poems for children to read alone or enjoy with the whole family.

With poems about the seasons, senses, wildlife, weather and the joys of mud, it’s the perfect gift book for children to treasure.

From poet, Daniel Thompson, author of Being You: Poems of Positivity – 2023 City Kids Green Awards Winner and selected for the Reading Agency’s 2023 Summer reading challenge.

Product De

Poetry

A marvellous new collection of poems by Joshua Seigal, two-time winner of the Laugh Out Loud Awards – the UK’s only prize for funny children’s books. Someone has let the words out… and they’re going to have some fun!

‘Joshua Seigal is definitely my new favourite poet.’ Books for Keeps ‘Joshua Seigal is a rising star in the children’s poetry world…’ lovereading4kids

In this brand new collection of poems words take on a whole new meaning; enter a world of creative word play with silly, funny and downright hilarious poems! With poems about cuddling tigers, pesky pet fleas and even what to do if your teacher is ever turned into a chicken, Who Let the Words Out? is a must-have for imaginative young readers aged 7+. Joshua Seigal is a two-time-winner of the Laugh Out Loud awards (also known as the Lollies) in 2020 with I Bet I Can Make You Laugh and in 2023 with Yapping Away.

Poetry

Sometimes it only takes a stranger in a dark place… to say we have the right to be here, to make us warm in the coldest season. In 2019, Neil Gaiman asked his Twitter followers: What reminds you of warmth? Over 1,000 responses later, Neil began to weave replies from across the world into a poem in aid of the UNHCR’s winter appeal. It revealed our shared desire to feel safe, welcome and warm in a world that can often feel frightening and lonely.

Sales of every copy of this book will help support the work of UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, which helps forcibly displaced communities and stateless people across the world.

Now publishing in hardback and illustrated by a group of artists from around the world, What You Need to Be Warm is an exploration of displacement and flight from conflict through the objects and memories that represent warmth. It is about our right to feel safe, whoever we are and wherever we are from. It is about holding out a hand to welcome those who find themselves far from home. Featuring new, original illustrations from Chris Riddell, Benji Davies, Yuliya Gwilym, Nadine Kaadan, Daniel Egnéus, Pam Smy, Petr Horácek, Beth Suzanna, Bagram Ibatoulline, Marie-Alice Harel, Majid Adin and Richard Jones, with a thought-provoking cover from Oliver Jeffers.

Poetry

A two-colour graphic novel about speaking-up and standing out when you feel different. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier

How do you find your voice when everyone around you is telling you to be quiet?

Frankie is different, and so is her best-friend, Sam. So when they both start secondary school, it’s tough. Particularly when there are so many rules to follow, like: No talking in class! Be quiet in the hallways! Silence for assembly!

Frankie doesn’t know how she’ll manage, because constantly talking is how she copes. So when she gets the chance to compete in a Battle of the Bands contest, Frankie couldn’t be more excited. Except, to have a band, you need to have band members. And to have band members, you need to be good at making friends…

Can Frankie learn to find her voice and stand out?

A unique perspective on Autism, told with humour and heart.

Brought to life with glorious colour artwork in a distinctive blue and orange palette.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Poetry

This is a book of poetry for everyone.

Inside is a treasure trove of writing celebrating mindfulness. Read the poems aloud or curl up with them in a quiet corner. Begin your journey into a lifelong love of poetry.

This beautifully illustrated collection features powerful poems written by a wide range of contemporary voices. They share their unique perspectives on the topic of mindfulness, from listening for silence and living in the moment to the colour of our dreams and what the trees can teach us. Showcasing original poems alongside existing works, this is a book to share and treasure forever.

Featuring brilliant poetry by:
Mandy Coe
Jack Prelutsky
Pat Mora
Kate Wakeling
James Carter
Nikita Gill
Joseph Coelho
Valerie Bloom
Amina Jama
Michael Rosen
Sue Hardy-Dawson
Mary Ann Hoberman
Georgia Heard
Sophia Thakur
Sanah Ahsan
Elizabeth Acevedo
Kit Wright
Naomi Shihab Nye
Zaro Weil

And awe-inspiring artwork from:
Annalise Barber
Mariana Roldan
Masha Manapov
Nabila Adani

Poetry

A third collection of funny and thoughtful poems from the Children’s Laureate Wales, Alex Wharton, aimed at developing a love of language and self-expression. Readers will be excited by fun new characters like Mr Slime and the return of Hector the Horrible Hedgehog from first collection Daydreams and Jellybeans, as well as being introduced to powerful and moving poems such as ‘Young Oak’, ‘The Long Way Home’, and ‘For a Quiet Day’. Superbly illustrated throughout by Ian Morris.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments