Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Branching Out > Branching Out: Books for Fans of Michael Morpurgo

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Michael Morpurgo

icon - tree

If you like Michael Morpurgo, try these….

Michael Morpurgo has a loyal fanbase among readers who enjoy his stories of wartime, animals and adventure. With hundreds of books to date, Michael Morpurgo’s award-winning stories have become modern classics in primary school classrooms.

We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for fans of Michael Morpurgo. Fans of Morpurgo’s animal stories might like to try The Last Bear or When the Mountains Roared. Readers looking for gripping historical fiction could try The Week at World’s End or Tom Palmer’s D-Day Dog. Many of Morpurgo’s stories offer individual perspectives on wartime events, and readers who enjoy this style could try Girl 38 or Bali Rai’s Now or Never to diversify their collection.

Browse the full list below of books for children looking for what to read next after Michael Morpurgo…

.  

Books for Fans of Michael Morpurgo

Hannah Gold
 & Levi Pinfold
Chapter book
There are no polar bears left on Bear Island. At least, that's what April's father tells her when his scientific research takes them to this remote Arctic outpost for six months. But one endless summer night, April meets one. He is starving, lonely and a long way from home. Determined to save him, April begins the most important journey of her life... This moving story will win the hearts of children the world over and show them that no one is too young or insignificant to make a difference. The Last Bear is a celebration of the love between a child and an animal, a battle cry for our world and an irresistible adventure with a heart as big as a bear's.
Lauren St John
Chapter book

This is the first novel in Lauren St John’s popular series. When a young English girl called Martine moves to live with her grandmother on a South African game reserve, she finds herself feeling lonely and isolated. One night she sees a mysterious silver giraffe and as she begins to befriend it, a thrilling mystery begins to unravel.

Onjali Q. Rauf
Chapter book

Onjali Q Rauf’s loyal fanbase will be pleased to hear of a new novel. True to form, the Lion Above the Door explores important social issues while capturing voices from the younger generation in a most relatable manner.

The story broaches the topic of cultural blindspots in history education, posing questions about the missing and ignored figures from the history topics taught in schools. Young Leo is intrigued to find a WW2 memorial in which he recognises his own name; being of Singaporean heritage he has become used to rarely seeing people like himself reflected in the history books. As Leo and his classmates research their relatives’ roles in the war, important stories come to the surface and it’s up to the children to make sure these histories get the spotlight they deserve.

This is a sincere and timely story that gently turns over themes of prejudice, cultural underrepresentation, racism and the courage to put right societal injustice – while at once holding out the mantle to young readers to invite them to be the catalyst for change.

Lesley Parr
Chapter book

The Valley of Lost Secrets is a wonderfully warm book about rural life, village communities and how life really was for this community during World War II, as well as for the evacuated children. Jimmy and his younger brother Ronnie are evacuees. They find themselves with their schoolmates on a train to a small village in a valley in Wales, a world away from home in Islington, London. The country is at war but that’s not all Jimmy is worried about. He would rather be back with Dad and Nan than stuck with strangers in this odd place. The book is rich in historical detail about everything from food, religion and household routines to the importance of coal mining in the Welsh rural communities.

Bali Rai
Chapter book
A gripping adventure in an exciting new series reflecting the authentic, unsung stories of our past! Now or Never brings a young soldier, Private Fazal Khan, from his home in India to the battlefields of the Second World War. Fazal's world is now focused on Company 32 and the animals he cares for in the midst of one of the most frightening times in history. And as he and his friends make their way to the beaches of Dunkirk, Fazal must deal with even more than the terrors of a dangerous trek to reach the evacuation zone. The Company's captain defends his troops in the face of a terrible betrayal at the point of rescue: not everyone has welcomed the help brought by the Royal Indian Army Service Corps. Now Fazal is forced to question why he is even there and why he is expected to be loyal to a king whose people don't all see him as their equal.

Emma Carroll
Chapter book
1962 - London during the Cuban Missile Crisis. What would you do if there was a real possibility that the world might end? Ray, aware of his parents' building worry, decides to take matters into his own hands. He builds a shelter in the woods behind his house in the hope that he never has to use it. Only to discover that someone else needs it more than he does. An American girl, reported missing, has turned up there... Why is she hiding? And with neighbour turning against neighbour, will Ray be willing to help her? Set over the six days when the Cuban Missile Crisis became public knowledge, this tense, clever thriller might just be Emma Carroll's best book yet!
Elizabeth Laird
 & Peter Bailey
Chapter book

This story from award-winning author Elizabeth Laird is a great choice for KS2. When young Finn takes a dive in the water near his fishing village, he is delighted to find dolphins to swim with. However, the dolphins face a terrible threat due to the masses of rubbish floating around in their water. It is up to Finn to find a way to save the sea creatures and prevent their natural environment from becoming ruined. This is a topical and thought-provoking novel.

Jess Butterworth
Chapter book
A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell. I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too. When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there. Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up. But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...
Tom Palmer
Chapter book
Jack can't wait for the school trip to the D-Day landing beaches. It's his chance to learn more about the war heroes he has always admired - brave men like his dad, who is a reserve soldier. But when his dad is called up to action and things at home spiral out of control, everything Jack believes about war is thrown into question. Finding comfort only in the presence of his loyal dog, Finn, Jack is drawn to the heart-wrenching true story of one particular D-Day paratrooper. On 6 June 1944, Emile Corteil parachuted into France with his dog, Glen - and Jack is determined to discover their fate...
Ewa Jozefkowicz
Chapter book

As a fan of Ewa Josefkowicz’s debut The Mystery of the Colour Thief published last year (see our review here), I was pleased to hear about the arrival of her new newest story. This one shares a number of themes with the first book – friendship, bullying, finding courage to do the right thing and valuing the stories and experiences of other people – but this time weaves in a new thread of World War II history into the mix.

Kat is a young teenager who uses her spare time to create comic strip stories based on her fictional superhero ‘Girl 38′. At school, things become tricky for Kat with friendship issues. Meanwhile at home she strikes up a friendship with her elderly neighbour, Ania, and begins to learn about Ania’s experiences of growing up in Poland during World War II. Kat listens intently to each instalment of Ania’s story, from the time soldiers forced her to separate from her family and leave her village to the time she hid in a bakery near to where her best friend was being held in a concentration camp. As Ania’s powerful history unfolds, Kat feels challenged to find courage of her own to stand up for what is right and confront Gem’s bullying behaviour.

The three strands of Kat’s story, the Girl 38 plot and Ania’s tale weave together beautifully and mirror each other in a way that demonstrates how valuing the stories and experiences of others can enrich our own lives. With convincingly drawn characters, relatable issues and important values at its heart, this is a thoroughly enjoyable read that would suit readers transitioning from Upper KS2 to Lower KS3.


Booklists you might also like...

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Michael Morpurgo

Related Resources

Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Previous
Next
[["Downloadable Poster","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/poster-branching-out-michael-morpurgo.jpg","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingOutMichaelMorpurgoBFT.pdf"],["Purchase Book Pack","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2022-11-27-at-21.37.48.png","https:\/\/peters.co.uk\/book-page\/9789990206586\/-BooksforTopics\/Branching-Out---Michael-Morpurgo-pack?search=eyJzdGFuZGFyZEZpbHRlcnMiOnsic2VhcmNoVGVybSI6eyJnZW5lcmFsIjp7InRlcm0iOiJicmFuY2hpbmcifX0sIm1haW4iOnsiYWx0ZXJuYXRpdmVFZGl0aW9ucyI6eyJjaGVja2VkIjoxfX19LCJwYWdlIjoxLCJzb3J0IjoicmVsZXZhbmNlIiwic29ydE9yZGVyIjoiREVTQyIsInNvcnRJdGVtcyI6W3sic29ydCI6InJlbGV2YW5jZSIsInNvcnRPcmRlciI6ImRlc2MifV0sImxpbWl0IjoxMDAsImRpc3BsYXlGcm9tIjoxLCJleGNsdWRlT3JkZXJlZCI6MCwiZXhjbHVkZU9yZGVyZWRGb3IiOm51bGx9"]]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments