Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Branching Out Booklists & Posters > Branching Out: Books for Fans of Beast Quest

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Beast Quest

icon - tree

books for fans of beast quest
If you like Beast Quest, try these…

The Beast Quest series has gripped thousands of younger readers who enjoy action, adventure and fantasy. Fearsome battles, fantastical beasts and epic rescue quests all characterise this best-selling children’s series containing over one hundred titles.

We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for fans of the Beast Quest books. Readers who love fearsome beasts and fantastic creatures might enjoy trying Krindlekrax or the adventures of Percy Jackson and those who want to get stuck into more fantasy adventure books like Beast Quest will enjoy Podkin One Ear.

Readers looking for a another collectable series after Beast Quest should try the Astrosaurs books or Cressida Cowell’s wonderful How to Train Your Dragon series. For more good-versus-evil quests of heroes and heroines in imaginative worlds, try the Dragon Storm books or Tom Nicoll’s gaming-themed adventure Level Up!.

Browse the full list below of books for children looking for more books like Beast Quest…

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Books for Fans of Beast Quest

Alastair Chisholm
 & Eric Deschamps & Ben Mantle
Chapter book
The first book in a thrilling, magical, and action-packed new fantasy series, illustrated throughout and perfect for 7 - 9 year olds.In the land of Draconis, there are no dragons.Once, there were. Once, humans and dragons were friends, and created the great city of Rivven together.But then came the Dragon Storm, and the dragons retreated from the world of humans.To the men and women of Draconis, they became legends and myth.Tomas has always been told that now, dragons are extinct, and so he can't believe it when a mysterious stranger invites him to join a secret society, the Dragonseer Guild - and tells him that not only do dragons still exist, but also that Tomas has a very special power... he can summon his very own dragon!But Tomas faces a difficult choice, and he and his dragon, Ironskin, must learn to trust each other - and together, they have to save their home from a deadly threat.
Tom Nicoll
 & Anjan Sarkar
Chapter book
Videogame-obsessed Flo gets more than she bargained for when she finds herself INSIDE her favourite game. Turns out, virtual reality isn't as much fun when it's not so virtual. When Flo's engineer mum creates a device that will make her image appear in her videogames, Flo can't wait to use it! Ignoring her mum's warnings that it's not ready, Flo accidentally transports herself into the game, along with her not-so-keen-on-videogames-and-wishing-he'd-stayed-home best friend Max. Immersed in the world of Star Smasher, they not only have to face armies of soldiers, but also the very real possibility that there may not be a way out...
Tom McLaughlin
Chapter book
A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. Best friends Freddy and Sal have accidentally intercepted a message from Alan - a spectacularly grumpy, brain-munching alien from outer space. Alan has only one message. Earth is going to be invaded in exactly ten hours' time. Soon the police, Nasa and even Presidents from around the world are getting involved - and Freddy is about to become the most famous kid on planet earth for all the wrong reasons. Wolverhampton, we have a problem.
Kieran Larwood
 & David Wyatt
Chapter book

An exciting fantasy story set in an animal world. From the moment the Bard arrives on one Bramblemas Eve in the very first pages, beginning to tell his interpretation of the fable of Podkin One-Ear, it is clear that Kieran Larwood’s story of adventure and magic among the world of rabbits is a winner. His delightful and bewitching use of language and appropriately complex narrative make for a fantastic read.

The story is anchored around the title character Podkin, but his role in the tale is equally supported by his older, and oftentimes wiser, sister Paz who makes for a great female role model among other characters in the tale. Despite being rabbits, each character is very relatable and they all have human characteristics. There are enough twists and turns along the way to make even older readers question Podkin and his two siblings’ next moves in their quest to keep their magic dagger, one of the twelve gifts from the Goddess, safe from the evil Gorm and their vicious leader.

Podkin One-Ear is an adventure tale that draws the reader in immediately from the get-go.

Cressida Cowell
Chapter book
An absolute winner of a story and a brilliant choice for KS2 children in Year 4, 5 or 6. Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero.In the first How to Train Your Dragon book, Hiccup must lead ten novices in their initiation into the Hairy Hooligan Tribe. They have to train their dragons or be banished from the tribe FOR EVER!But what if Hiccup's dragon resembles an ickle brown bunny with wings? And has no teeth? The Seadragonus Giganticus Maximus is stirring and wants to devour every Viking on the Isle of Berk . . . Can Hiccup save the tribe - and become a Hero?

James Bishop
 & Rikin Parekh
Chapter book
Dylan has wanted a superpower for as long as he can remember, especially since his brother and sister have got really cool ones.But when his wish finally comes true, Dylan is mightily disappointed. For Dylan has become ... Iguana Boy. He can talk to Iguanas - a superpower which he thinks is rubbish.And when supervillain Celina Shufflebottom kidnaps all the superheroes in London, Dylan must work out how to use his new team of chatty iguanas to save the day. He's going to have to think outside the box, (the pizza box) , if he's going to become the hero he's always dreamed of and make Iguana Boy the cool superhero he always wanted to be.
Alex T Smith
Chapter book
From the international bestselling creator of Claude, comes a brand new hero - Mr Penguin, adventurer and penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design. It has been weeks since Mr Penguin's last adventure and he's been stuck at his desk, twiddling his flippers ever since. That is until the phone rings! Mr Penguin and Colin (a spider and Mr Penguin's silent right hand man) are called in to find the missing treasure somewhere in the Museum of Extraordinary Objects. The quest finds them solving secret codes, fighting ferocious beasts, eating fish finger sandwiches and travelling deep below the museum to a lost jungle...
Philip Ridley
Chapter book
There are plenty of weird and wonderful characters who live on Lizard Street. The hero of our story is Ruskin Splinter. But to be honest, Ruskin is a very unlikely hero. Small and thin, with knock-knees, thick glasses, a squeaky voice, no one at Ruskin's school believes he's capable of anything - all except for Ruskin's only friend Corky, the school caretaker.Ruskin is therefore delighted when Corky tells him the terrifying story of Krindlekrax: the giant crocodile who lives beneath their town's streets. Finally, a chance to prove himself! But can Ruskin really save the day?This witty, off-the-wall story is a classic rip-roaring adventure, from award-winning author Philip Ridley.
Steve Cole
Chapter book
Meet Captain Teggs Stegosaur and the crew of the amazing spaceship DSS Sauropod as the ASTROSAURS fight evil across the galaxy! Flesh-chomping raptors have kidnapped two top dino athletes. With the Great Dinosaur Games about to start, Teggs and his friends must race to the rescue. But there's more to the raptors' plot than meets the eye...
Rick Riordan
Chapter book

This is a multi-million selling series that has also been televised with Disney and is hugely popular among fans of action and adventure. Percy Jackson’s modern world is turned upside when he finds out he is descended from Greek gods. What follows is battles with monsters and epic quests in an action-packed series that merges Greek mythology with the modern world. There are also Teachers’ Notes available to download from the publisher.


SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Booklists you might also like...

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Beast Quest

Related Resources

Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Previous
Next
[["Downloadable Poster","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2023-01-30-at-10.57.47-e1675076753474-768x1086.png","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingOutBeastQuestBFT-1.pdf"],["Purchase Book Pack","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2022-11-27-at-22.57.40.png","https:\/\/peters.co.uk\/book-page\/9789990206616\/-BooksforTopics\/Branching-Out---Beast-Quest-pack?search=eyJzdGFuZGFyZEZpbHRlcnMiOnsic2VhcmNoVGVybSI6eyJnZW5lcmFsIjp7InRlcm0iOiJicmFuY2hpbmcifX0sIm1haW4iOnsiYWx0ZXJuYXRpdmVFZGl0aW9ucyI6eyJjaGVja2VkIjoxfX19LCJwYWdlIjoxLCJzb3J0IjoicmVsZXZhbmNlIiwic29ydE9yZGVyIjoiREVTQyIsInNvcnRJdGVtcyI6W3sic29ydCI6InJlbGV2YW5jZSIsInNvcnRPcmRlciI6ImRlc2MifV0sImxpbWl0IjoxMDAsImRpc3BsYXlGcm9tIjoxLCJleGNsdWRlT3JkZXJlZCI6MCwiZXhjbHVkZU9yZGVyZWRGb3IiOm51bGx9"]]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments