Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Branching Out Booklists & Posters > Branching Out: Books for Fans of Murder Most Unladylike

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Murder Most Unladylike

icon - tree

If you like Murder Most Unladylike, try these…

The Murder Most Unladylike books form a series of children’s murder mystery novels written by Robin Stevens. Popular with children aged 9-12, the stories follow the adventures of two schoolgirls who set up their own detective agency.

Fans of the Murder Most Unladylike series enjoy the stories’ unfolding mysteries told through Hazel’s witty case notes. Readers also love the fast-paced plots with clever twists, the character-centred drama and also the 1930s boarding school setting. The stories deal with important themes like friendship, diversity, loyalty and social class against the backdrop of the murder investigations. Additionally, many children enjoy the collectibility of the series with their rainbow-hued covers and sprayed edges.

We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for fans of Murder Most Unladylike. Readers who want to get their hands on more murder-mystery style stories could try the Violet Veil Mysteries or equally one of Fleur Hitchcock’s atmostpheric murder stories like Murder at Twilight. Those looking for another boarding school drama to get stuck into might enjoy Malory Towers or Emily Lime: Librarian Detective. If you’re looking for a strong female sleuthing duo to fill the void left by Daisy and Hazel, we think you’ll love Lori and Max or Sophie and Lil in The Clockwork Sparrow. Finally, for children looking for a new suspenseful series to start collecting, we recommend Mysteries on Trains (starting with The Highland Falcon Thief) or the book-lovers’ fantasy world of Pages & Co – both of which are strong favourites among children who like to read through a series.

Browse the full list below of books for children looking for more books like Murder Most Unladylike…

 

 

 

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Books for Fans of Murder Most Unladylike

Sophie Cleverly
 & Hannah Peck
Chapter book

A Victorian murder mystery that has plenty of twists and turns and is difficult to put down.

All Violet Veil has ever wanted is to be taken seriously and to become an apprentice in her family’s business, Veil and Sons’ Undertakers. Unfortunately, she is denied this opportunity simply because she is a girl. When there is a spate of killings, business appears to be good for Mr Veil. That is, until one rainy night when one of the dead bodies comes back to life! In the undertaker’s back room, Violet meets Oliver, a young boy who lives on the streets, and together they embark on an investigation to solve Oliver’s own ‘murder’. They are accompanied by Violet’s loyal greyhound, Bones, who has an affinity for the graveyard that lies next to the Veil’s house and business. In spite of her parents’ disapproval, plucky Violet vows to solve this mystery and Oliver is allowed to stay. When Violet’s father is later accused of these murders, Violet, Oliver and Bones must uncover the truth once and for all in a bid to save Mr Veil’s life.

This book has a strong female lead with a loveable sidekick. Violet’s headstrong nature and sense that justice must be done make her a character that you can’t help but root for. The story takes its readers along on the journey of the investigation and is nail-biting in places.

A must-read for lovers of detective stories, ghostly tales and historical fiction. There is a sense of dark adventure and foreboding throughout and this makes the spooky nature of the story very appealing. 

Anna James
Chapter book

Since the disappearance of her mother, Tilly has lived in a bookshop with her grandparents, where she has found comfort amongst the pages of her favourite books. When she discovers her special ability to wander in and out of books alongside her favourite characters, she realises this could hold the key to finding out what really happened to her mother. But she is unnerved by the appearance of the mysterious Enoch Chalk who turns up in the most unexpected of places, taking an unusual interest in Tilly and watching her very closely. Spellbinding and truly magical, the world of Pages & Co is enchanting for readers young and old.

M. G. Leonard & Sam Sedgman
 & Elisa Paganelli
Chapter book

A full-steam-ahead adventure that had me hooked from the get-go. The Highland Falcon Thief is a middle-grade mystery story set on a steam train. With a high spirit of adventuring and a good-and-proper mystery that unfolds with clues and red herrings along the course, this is a brilliantly fun story that is sure to be on track to find itself set among the very best in the children’s mystery genre.

Harrison Beck (Hal) ends up aboard the last-ever journey of a famous royal steam train ‘The Highland Falcon’, unwillingly accompanying his travel-writer uncle while his parents are occupied in hospital having a new baby. Hal doesn’t think much of steam trains – and he is even less impressed when he finds there are no other child passengers on board and no electricity to charge his devices. Before long, Hal finds himself caught up with entertainment of a more old-fashioned kind. A mystery begins to unravel among the passengers – with valuable items disappearing including the princess’s diamond necklace – and Hal begins to record what he notices in his sketchbook. What’s more, Hal befriends a secret stowaway girl called Lenny and the pair set to work to solve the mystery before The Highland Falcon reaches the end of its last-ever journey.

Fleur Hitchcock
Chapter book
When Viv has a fight with Noah, she doesn't think it'll be the last time she sees him. But when she gets back from school, he's nowhere to be found and there are police cars everywhere, lights flashing and sirens blaring.Viv is sure Noah's run away to get attention. But it's really cold, and getting dark, and the rain just won't stop falling. So she sets off to look for him, furious at his selfishness, as the floodwaters rise. And then she finds him, and realises that a much more dangerous story is unfolding around them...
Catherine O'Flynn
Chapter book

Skilfully weaving together two truly charismatic and memorable protagonists with a realistic, relatable modern setting and a plot full of masterly twists and turns, Lori and Max is a brilliant pacy children’s detective story.

Immediately drawing us in with the prologue, we swiftly discover that some school charity money has been stolen and newgirl Max, the prime suspect, has gone missing. But Lori knows more than she can tell and doesn’t believe her new friend is really to blame. From here on in, chapters alternate between the two girls as we slowly unravel the events before and after Max’s disappearance, before winding our way to a dramatic and satisfying conclusion.

Lori is a budding amateur sleuth and all-round goodie-two-shoes. As well as being an orphan and a bit of a loner, she has a loving nan and stable middle-class home life. Lori’s chapters are written in the first person present tense which gives an immediacy to her thoughts as mental cogs turn and we decode the clues along with her. Max is the new girl at school, who’s hard secretive carapace hides a difficult home life – no food on the table thanks to a gambling addict father, and no emotional support from her depressed and distant mum. Max’s chapters are written in the second person which gives us more distance to wonder what’s actually going on inside her head.

We love so much about this book, in particular the skilful way the disparity between the girls’ home lives and personalities is handled, and the realistic (and hilarious) portrayal of school life, where every day is a stream of Wow Words, confusing assemblies and trying not to stand out from the crowd.

The fast-moving plot and short 182-page length makes it perfect for those with quicker read, rapidly building suspense while never sacrificing character and deeper themes.


Dave Shelton
Chapter book
EMILY LIME is the one and only Librarian Detective! As Assistant Librarian (and a pupil!) at St Rita's School, she's got the sharpest mind going. And she's going to need it! There's been a bank robbery in town, a break-in at the school and a dastardly villain is on the loose.With the help of new girl, Daphne, and George (the only boy), Emily is determined to get to the bottom of things, with surprising and very funny results . . .
Elly Griffiths
Chapter book
Missing maids, suspicious teachers and a snow storm to die for... For a fearless girl called Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, it's just the start of a spine-tingling first term at Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefolk. For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.When Justice's mother dies, her father packs her off to Highbury House Boarding School for the Daughters of Gentlefolk. He's a barrister - specialising in murder trials - and he's just too busy to look after her alone.Having previously been home-schooled, the transition is a shock. Can it really be the case that blondes rule the corridors? Are all uniforms such a charming shade of brown? And do schools normally hide dangerous secrets about the murder of a chamber maid?Justice takes it upon herself to uncover the truth. (Mainly about the murder, but perhaps she can figure out her new nemesis - the angelic Rose - at the same time.) But when a storm cuts the school off from the real world, the body count starts to rise and Justice realises she'll need help from her new friends if she's going to find the killer before it's too late ...
Lena Jones
Chapter book

Agatha was born a detective and now, finally, the big break she’s been waiting for seems to finally be hers!

The city of London needs saving from the rancid red algae that has taken over the city’s water supply, causing mayhem. Agatha must use all of her sleuthing novels to solve her biggest case yet, and with the help of her best friend (a professor who is not all she seems) and an ally in the unlikely form of one of the most popular girls at school, she must track down the person behind all of the chaos.

However, Agatha has personal mysteries to solve too and when she finds clues from her late mother which are seemingly linked to the very crime she is trying to solve, she realises she might not only be saving London but saving herself as well.
The first in a series from Lena Jones – this is action-packed and perfect for UKS2 children who like a good whodunnit mystery.
Katherine Woodfine
 & Júlia Sardà
Chapter book
Katherine Woodfine's bestselling debut novel. A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Enid Blyton, Chris Riddell's Goth Girl and Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series.You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair's department store!Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villains to justice...
Enid Blyton
Chapter book
For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book one, new girl Darrell is two terms behind her classmates and feels out of place and alone. Soon, however, Darrell makes friends as well as enemies as they induct new students, win and lose sporting matches and play tricks on teachers.Expect drama at Malory Towers! 

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Booklists you might also like...

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Murder Most Unladylike

Related Resources

Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Previous
Next
[["Downloadable Poster","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingOurMurderMostUnladylikeBooksForTopics-768x1086.png","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingOurMurderMostUnladylikeBooksForTopics.pdf"],["Purchase Book Pack","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2023-02-24-at-12.21.56.png","https:\/\/peters.co.uk\/book-page\/9789990209112\/-BooksforTopics\/Branching-Out---Murder-most-unladylike"]]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments