Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Reception 50 Recommended Reads

Picturebook

Delightful and witty, this is a simple story of mistaken identity!

Peter and Paul are the best of friends, but when Peter gets lost in a terrible storm he can’t find Paul anywhere. With the help of a big blue whale Puffin Peter sets off to find him. They find all kinds of birds that match Peter’s description but none of them is quite like Paul.

Picturebook

Pattan has an amazing pumpkin… it grows BIGGER than the goats, BIGGER than the elephants, until it is as TALL as the mountains.

But can Pattan’s pumpkin save his family and all the animals when the storm-clouds burst and the waters rise ?

Picturebook

A hilarious tale about a a boy with a wild imagination and his loving family, from award-winning author, Swapna Haddow and bestselling artist, Dapo Adeola.

Run! Hide! My mum’s a lioness and she’s on the prowl.

Is Mum a lioness? She loves her ‘cubs’, she can run faster than anything , and she can catch you in a single pounce for cuddles and kisses. She always makes sure you can hear her incredibly loud, proud roar. What else could Mum be but a lioness?

But sometimes, especially when her young ones are upset or scared, a lovely, warm, protective lioness embrace is just what is needed.

My Mum is a Lioness is the brilliantly funny follow-up to My Dad is a Grizzly Bear. Created by Swapna Haddow, author of the Dave Pigeon series, and Dapo Adeola, illustrator of Look Up!

Picturebook

The perfect picture book for dads at storytime… Luckily for Sam, Dad’s home just in time for a bedtime story. But tonight there’ll be no aliens or super heroes, instead he’ll tell the tale of Papa Penguin, who loves his beautiful boy-chick very much, even when he’s not always around.

Picturebook

A sweet and funny picture book about friendship – perfect for Pancake Day. Pancake recipe included!

It’s finally the day of Rabbit’s pancake picnic! She’s going to make the pancakes all by herself . . . but she can’t find her recipe book. Bother!

Rabbit decides to try to remember the recipe and adds syrup, strawberries, apples, and lots of other ingredients to the mixture. Her friends try to help, but Rabbit is desperate to make the pancakes on her own. Even when the mixture turns lumpy, sticky and looks, well . . . strange. Is Rabbit’s pancake picnic ruined? Perhaps she just needs to accept some help from her kind friends!

This beautifully illustrated picture book with its cast of adorable woodland animals combines all the fun of Pancake Day with important messages about knowing when to ask for help and the fun of working together. Children will love the fun counting element, joining in with the repeated phrases, and then making their very own pancakes using the recipe at the end of the book.

Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free ‘Stories Aloud’ audio recording – just scan the QR code and listen along!

Picturebook

A raucous, rhyming tale that will have children (and adults) in fits of laughter!

Cat is sitting on his favourite mat, when who should come along but Rat with a very nice hat? Cat wants Rat’s hat and will stop at NOTHING to get it. But when Bat arrives wearing a fancy cravat, well, what could be better than that? Chaos ensues as both Cat and Rat decide they MUST have Bat’s fancy cravat for themselves!

From Em Lynas and Matt Hunt comes this hilarious, read-aloud picture book, bursting with comic capers and animal antics.

With a hilarious, tongue-twister text, slapstick humour, bright neon artwork and colourful, comic characters.

Perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free ‘Stories Aloud’ audio recording – just scan the QR code and listen along!

Picturebook

Elmer is different. Elmer is patchwork.

The grey elephants all love him, but he soon starts to wonder what it would be like to be just the same as them…

Full of colour, wisdom and pathos, little readers will love this classic tale at bedtime.

Deservedly a modern classic, with over ten million copies of his books sold worldwide, Elmer’s subtle message, that it is OK to be different, resonates with children across the world. Elmer the colourful patchwork elephant has been a nursery favourite since 1989.

Picturebook

An uplifting, stunningly beautiful book about optimism in the darkest of places.

A girl and her companion fox travel together from a place of loss and despair, through uncertain times, towards the hope of colour, light and life. Along the way, they find friends to guide and support them. Together, they build a glorious future and discover there is a way out of the darkness, into the light of the rainbow. A book with immense hope at its heart, this is a positive message for anyone who’s ever gone through a tough time.

Short story collection

Mrs Pepperpot has a problem – a huge problem – she shrinks! And when she shrinks she finds herself in all sorts of trouble…

Poor Mrs Pepperpot has shrunk again and she’s set her heart on going to the bazaar. But with a clever disguise and a cunning plan, she’s soon dancing rings around the ladies at the fair!

Puss can’t wait for Mrs Pepperpot to shrink so she can whisk her away on an adventure. It’s a hair-raising journey, but brave Mrs P is soon rewarded with some very special treasure indeed.

Non-fictionPicturebook

In this book from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy bestselling Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Ernest Shackleton, the fearless Antarctic adventurer.

When Ernest Shackleton was young, he longed for a life of adventure. After a career in the Merchant Navy, he joined a landmark expedition to try to reach the South Pole for the first time in history. Although he had to go home early, he never gave up. His own expeditions set new records for the closest anyone had ever been to the South Pole, and he is remembered now as a courageous and inspirational leader. This exciting book features stylish and quirky illustrations and extra facts at the back , including a biographical timeline with historical photos and a detailed profile of the intrepid explorer’s life.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments