Not My Fault

Maya and Rose won’t talk to each other. Even though they are sisters. Not since the accident. Maya is running wild, and Rose doesn’t know what to do. Now Maya and Rose have to go away together on a week-long school journey. But will the trip – and a life-threatening adventure – fix their relationship… […]

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Middle school is the one problem Lucy can’t solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been […]

Freya’s Funny Feeling

A story for children inspired by children. Written by an integrative child and adolescent therapist (MBACP) & primary school teacher, Freya’s funny feeling is a beautifully illustrated picture book provides young children aged 4-7 years a tool to understand the various emotions they often cannot comprehend. Feelings of anxiety, excitement or mixed emotions and its […]

The Yes

In a soft comfy nest in a safe warm place there snoozed a great big orange thing called the Yes. He was snug, but the Yes had a Where to go to. So he left his nest and went trundling out. But the Where was an endless place of Nos. They teemed and seethed. They […]

Stretch Your Confidence

Confidence is like a muscle, and everyone’s confidence can benefit from a bit of coaching to stretch and strengthen that muscle. Following tried and tested techniques, children will learn how to build empathy and interact with confidence. From dealing with friendship wobbles to embracing mistakes and coping with change, the activities at the heart of […]

Cloud Boy

The diary of an irrepressible girl learning to deal with friendship, grief and growing up, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. Harry Christmas and Angie Moon are best friends and almost-twins. Ever since they were born two days apart they’ve been partners in cloud-spotting, sweet-eating and treehouse-building. But when Harry is taken to hospital for […]

Ruby’s Worry

Ruby's Worry book

Ruby loves being Ruby. Until, one day, she finds a worry. At first it’s not such a big worry, and that’s all right, but then it starts to grow. It gets bigger and bigger every day and it makes Ruby sad. How can Ruby get rid of it and feel like herself again? A perceptive […]

How Not to Lose It: Mental Health Sorted

The go-to mental health guide for kids from expert Anna Williamson – therapist, Childline counsellor and ambassador for Mind and The Prince’s Trust. Exam stress? Friendship issues? Panic attacks? How Not to Lose It will help you be the boss of all of this, and more. It’s not just your body that should be fit […]

Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot

Aubrey’s father, Jim, has fallen under an horrendous spell, which Aubrey is determined to break. Everyone says his task is impossible, but Aubrey will never give up and never surrender – even if he must fight the unkillable Spirit of Despair itself: the TERRIBLE YOOT!

Thank Goodness for Bob

Max is a child who worries. A lot. He worries about being bitten by spiders, abducted by aliens, or sometimes just that people don’t like him enough. Soon it feels like his worries might take over the world! Thank goodness for Bob the dog, who shows Max that the best way to deal with worries […]

The Heart and the Bottle

Award-winning picture book star Oliver Jeffers explores themes of love and loss in this life-affirming and uplifting tale. Once there was a girl whose life was filled with wonder at the world around her… Then one day something happened that made the girl take her heart and put it in a safe place. However, after […]

The Mystery of the Colour Thief

First the accident, then the nightmares. The shadowy thief steals all the colours from Izzy’s world leaving her feeling empty and hopeless. Will her new neighbour and a nest full of cygnets save Izzy and solve the mystery of the colour thief? A heartwarming story about families, friendships, school, nature, hope and self-confidence. After a […]

The Goldfish Boy

A story about finding friendship when you’re lonely – and hope when all you feel is fear. Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person […]

Grobblechops

Amir’s worried about the monster under the bed! What if it has huge teeth and growls like a lion? What if it tries to eat him up? And what if the monster has a mum and dad too? But Dad reassures Amir that if the monster family comes to play, then Amir might just make […]

What to Do When You Worry Too Much

What to Do When You Worry Too Much is an interactive self-help book designed to guide 6-12 year olds and their parents through the cognitive-behavioral techniques most often used in the treatment of generalised anxiety. Engaging, encouraging, and easy to follow, this book educates, motivates, and empowers children to work towards change. It includes a […]

Seaglass

Lark needs a break. Her mother is ill, her sister has stopped speaking and she’s fallen out with her best friend. When her family arrives at a caravan site on the windy Welsh coast, she and her little sister rush off to explore. But soon this freedom get frightening. Is there a figure in the […]

The Jar of Happiness

Is there a recipe for happiness? Meg certainly thinks so. She collects all the necessary ingredients in a jar, which she uses to cheer up her friends and family when they’re feeling low. But what happens when her special jar mysteriously disappears? Will Meg feel sad forever more, or will she find other ways to […]

Not Today, Celeste

Celeste thinks she is the happiest dog in the world. But when she notices something different about her human, Rupert, she wonders if things will ever be the same again. Charmingly illustrated, this heart-warming story for children aged 3+ reflects some of the feelings and experiences that a child whose parent or carer has depression […]

Lost

Lost

When Alfie Turner loses his mum, it feels like his world is falling apart. She was the glue that held their family together and, now that she’s gone, Alfie and his dad don’t really know how to be a family without her. And then Alfie meets Alice. Alice is a force of nature and has […]

Ish

An inspiring, encouraging story for budding artists everywhere, the acclaimed illustrator of The Dot , Sky Colour and the Judy Moody series tells the story of Ramon, who loves to draw. Anytime. Anything. Anywhere. Drawing is what Ramon does. It’s what makes him happy. But in one split second, all that changes. A single remark […]

All The Things That Could Go Wrong

There are two sides to every story Dan is angry. Nothing has been the same since his big brother left, and he’s taking it out on the nearest and weakest target: Alex. Alex is struggling. His severe OCD makes it hard for him to leave the house, especially when Dan and his gang are waiting […]

Mental Health

Mental Health Booklist Browse our booklist of recommended children’s books that open up conversations about mental health in age-appropriate ways. We asked our community of primary teachers, TAs, children’s authors, librarians and book lovers to nominate the best books about mental health for children. This is what they told us…