Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Books of the Month - Mar 2022

Non-fiction

Words can change the world by starting new conversations.

Abraham Lincoln inspired a nation, Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti fought for women’s rights and Greta Thunberg made her voice heard on global warming. The stirring words of the 16 speakers inside have formed milestones in modern history and engaged generations on important issues including war, women’s rights, climate change and civil rights.

Covering speeches from the last 150 years, explore the events leading up to each speech, listen to the words, and discover the impact they had on the world. Presented in graphic novel style, this is a book to inspire a new generation of thinkers and talkers.

Picturebook

Going to the museum has never been so much fun!

Much-loved illustrator Nick Sharratt invites you to stroll around eight magnificently silly museums, in this picture-book giggle-fest that will keep children entertained for hours.

Sturdy fold-out pages open to reveal a feast of laughs, silliness, dreadful puns and crazy objects.

Step inside the super-stinky Poo-seum, to discover some totally bonkers toilets.

Keep super-quiet at the Snoozeum, where all the animals are asleep.

You won’t believe your eyes at the Confuseum, with its brain-boggling optical illusions!

There’s even a museum for you to fill in yourself: the amazing All-About-YOU-seum, where you can draw and write all about YOU!

Open the sturdy fold-out pages to find a feast of silly things to giggle at

Children will love poring over these fun-filled pages, and laughing at all the puns.

Have fun filling in the final museum that’s all about YOU! What’s your favourite food? And your lucky number? What will you look like when you grow up? What would your superpower be?

Nick Sharratt is one of the UK’s favourite and most acclaimed illustrators. His bestselling titles include the hugely popular Ketchup on your Cornflakes?; The Cat and the King and the You Choose series.

He is also the illustrator of the bestselling novels by Jacqueline Wilson and has won every major award for his illustration.

Nick has even been presented with a gold Blue Peter badge!

Chapter book

A brilliantly funny wish-fulfilment story with a huge heart, from the author of one of 2021’s most loved children’s debuts, The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh. Archie Crumb is having a tough time. Picked-on at school, picked last for any team; his home has been sad and quiet since Dad left and his luck feels like its run out.

But things start looking up when Archie bumps his head and literally sees stars: his favourite famous football player standing in front of him, granting him nine wishes.

This is INCREDIBLE! Unlimited ice cream, a whole day of eating pizza and playing on the X-Box, revenge on the bullies, becoming the star player in a televised football tournament: finally, all his dreams can come true! Will Archie wish his way to happiness? Or will he realise that magic wishes may be wonderful, but only he has the true power to change his life?

Perfect for fans of Lisa Thompson, David Baddiel and Jacqueline Wilson.

Chapter book

Mystery-lover Libby is excited but nervous when she’s sent to live with her aunt while her mother is working abroad. Aunt Agatha is the headmistress of an extraordinary travelling school that moves from country to country. Libby joins it in Paris, where she is just starting to find her feet when her aunt is arrested, accused of a daring jewel robbery. Can Libby and her new best friend Connie find the real thief and save her aunt? Illustrated by Becka Moor.

Picturebook

When Jake’s mum upcycles every last thing in the apartment, Jake begins to worry that the only thing left to change is… him! Jake’s mum is not like most mums. Say there’s a skip in the street, most mums will pass right by without a second glance. Not Jake’s mum. “Look at this, Jake!” she’ll shout. “We must have this! We must have this, too! And we simply must have this!” That’s Jake’s mum for you. She’s a must-have mum. Soon Jake begins to worry that his mum will want to change him too. Should he be this way? Or that way? Or another way altogether? A heartwarming story about the unbreakable bond between a mother and her son, and a little boy who learns that he is perfect just the way he is.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments