Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: BAME characters

Here is a story that everyone should know. It’s the tale of a princess named Shiloh. She lived in a kingdom, not far from yours, in a grand house with a swimming pool and fourteen floors.

I know that sounds too big but here’s the thing: her mother and father were the Queen and King.

Being a princess is a tough job for someone so small. It’s even harder when you have a problem you can’t solve at all. You see, every princess in the kingdom could sing. Yet Shiloh’s voice could do no such thing…

Shiloh might not be able to sing like her sisters, but she has other talents, and sometimes it’s about embracing your differences and celebrating them!

Dance yourself happy with the second, samba spectacular picture book by dancing superstar, Oti Mabuse. It’s time for Oti’s dance class! Join Oti and her class for their first dance show, and learn “The Lion Samba” in ten easy steps.

The children are excited to return to dance class with Mrs Oti and waste no time preparing for their animal-themed dance show. Mrs Oti teaches them all about animal movements and how they can be used in their dance. From stomping like an elephant, stretching up high like a giraffe or even shaking your mane like a lion, there’s so much fun to be had. But when disaster strikes on the day of the show, it seems like all of their hard work has been for nothing. Luckily for the children, Mrs Oti is on hand, and soon they realize that a little bit of courage can go a long way.

Written by Strictly Come Dancing superstar, Oti Mabuse, this heartwarming picture book will dance into the hands of families who have loved watching Oti on-screen.

An ordinary kid is about to become an EXTRAORDINARY hero!

Wings? Check.
A super-cool, super-secret past? Check.
An impossible mission to save the world from a fur-ocious enemy? Check.

When Tunde sprouts wings and learns he’s all that stands between Earth and total destruction, suddenly school is the least of his problems. Luckily, his rag-tag group of pals have got his back, and with his new powers, Tunde is ready to fly in the face of danger.

So what if he can’t even stand up to the school bully? He’s the boy with wings – this is his destiny.

No pressure then…

A hilarious and fast-paced adventure from comedian Humza Arshad and screenwriter Henry White, perfect for fans of David Solomons and David Baddiel.

Humza Khan considers himself to be the greatest eleven-year-old rapper Eggington has ever known and soon everyone will know his name.
The only problem is school has got really weird. All the teachers are disappearing and his aunties are taking over. It wasn’t too bad at the start, as they keep feeding him delicious snacks all the time. But now these aunties are trying to mess with his music, so Humza and his best friends Umer and Wendy are going to hunt for the truth. …

Twins Ali and Tulip have grown up with a surgeon mother and so have picked up lots of knowledge of first aid, medicine, and the ways of the hospital-they even know where the secret biscuit drawer in A&E is. When their mother becomes unnaturally sleepy and forgetful, they become suspicious of her new boyfriend. With help-and a watchful eye-from their mysterious wheelchair-bound gran, they set out to crack the mystery. Will they succeed? They’ll need a combination of fast talking, quick thinking, rule breaking, medical investigation, and determination-plus a good dash of ‘that spooky twin thing’-to cure this crime. A fun fresh take on the detective genre, full of excitement, humour, and medical know-how!

A sharp, funny middle grade adventure with themes of real-life activism and how to help others for fans of The Goonies and The London Eye Mystery .

Josephine Williams is a future-focused, internet-loving eleven-year-old who is desperate to explore the world beyond her cul-de-sac – and her browser.

When she learns about Josephine Holloway – a woman who started the first Girl Scout Troop for Black girls in America – she’s certain she must start her own.

Enlisting her friends Margot Anderson and Wesley Evans, the trio begin their quest for their Camping Badge. Drawn to an abandoned factory nearby, they stumble across something strange. A square, ancient television and two tatty armchairs. Beside it, a wooden sideboard with an old photograph of a young, happy couple.

What is this? Who, or what, lives here – and why?

Twelve-year-old Lizzie Chu lives in Glasgow with her grandad Wai Gong, and he’s been acting a little strange lately. He is becoming forgetful, and spends a lot of time talking to his statue of Guan Yin – the Chinese goddess of compassion, kindness and mercy. Lizzie is worried about Wai Gong, but doesn’t really know what to do to help him. She’s already got a lot on her plate with caring for him, doing the shopping and everything else on top of schoolwork and the usual trials of being twelve!

Then Lizzie comes up with a madcap plan. She’s going to take Wai Gong on the trip of a lifetime, to Blackpool – to the Tower Ballroom, where he always longed to go, to dance with his late wife Grandma Kam. To rekindle that love for dancing and to see if Wai Gong can find his mojo again. The only problem is – just how on earth is she going to get him there? With a little help from her friends Chi and Tyler, some ingenious costumes and an older brother with a beat-up Mini, Lizzie might just make it – and maybe she will be able to help Wai Gong get better after all?

A warmhearted, funny, intergenerational story for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Benjamin Dean

A stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice Lawrence. Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits: the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the earthbound Magogs.

But humans have been causing chaos for centuries, trampling through the landscape trailing noise, mess and pollution. What if the Elements could slow down this new world… or stop it all together?

The revenge-fuelled Shepherdess, who moves between the everyday and the supernatural London worlds, is the perfect weapon. She brings a sleeping sickness down on the city with the destruction of society in her sights.

Marisee and Robert are the Elemental Detectives chasing the clues to avoid catastrophe: they must face the ghosts of Hyde Park, the monstrous coiled snake of the Serpentine, and a whole host of other fantastical creatures in their mission to stop the Shepherdess and prevent London slumbering for all eternity…

Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation.

A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface – this book is set to ignite young imaginations.

The page-turning, empowering, heart-racing first book in a major new series.

Sindhu and Jeet are the best detectives in town: they solve all their cases with a dollop of observation, a dash of imagination and a whole load of legwork. And when they travel from India to England for a holiday, the detective work doesn’t stop! This page-turning story is accompanied by black-and-white illustrations by Amberin Huq.

The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with book-banded stories to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2 by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence. With black-and-white illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for home and school. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com.

Save the universe in the awesome and hilarious new space-themed adventure series from bestselling authors Katie and Kevin Tsang!

Suzie Wen LOVES gadgets and inventing things – but her inventions don’t always turn out how she expects . . . And when Suzie invent the Super 3DTV Gizmo she ends up getting transported into her favourite TV show – Space Blasters! On board the space ship with Captain Jane, Spaceman Jack and alien with attitude Five-Eyed Frank, Suzie is soon exploring new planets – like the smelly Planet Cheddar – and meeting plenty of aliens. But when moons start disappearing, it’s up to Suzie to save the universe. Can she put her inventing skills to use? And will she ever get home?

Funny, accessible and highly illustrated stories, perfect for readers aged 6 and up and fans of Bunny vs Monkey, Grimwood, Kitty Quest – and space!

STEM themes woven throughout, including real mindbending space facts and pages from Suzie’s inventors’ notebook

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments