Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group

Chapter book

Meet Huxley, an irrepressible koala with BIG ideas, and his best friend, Flapjack, a rather jumpy penguin. Flapjack would rather stay at home, but for Huxley, each new day sparkles with possibility and the chance of adventure!
Huxley and Flapjack are enjoying a trip to the seaside when they meet Whizz, who invites them aboard his submarine to search for the shipwreck of the Isabella. Huxley’s excited to go deep-sea diving – he’s sure there’ll be treasure to find – but Flapjack can’t help worrying. What if something BIG and FISHY finds them first…

Chapter book

When Lillie spends the summer in Wales with her family, she can’t help but feel like the baby of the group. Her big sister Frankie would rather spend time with their older cousin Lana than play with her, and no one else seems to notice how lonely she is.
Then during a boat trip Lillie spots a young dolphin swimming alongside them, and for a short while all her worries melt away. Later, when Frankie and Lana are particularly mean to her, Lillie decides to set off on her own in hopes of seeing the dolphin calf again…
A heartwarming story about family from best-selling author Holly Webb.

Picturebook

When Theo and his mother, Simone, become part of Lula’s family, she isn’t sure what to expect. As they all spend a holiday at the seaside, the new siblings learn to work together to create a beautiful sandcastle. But once disaster strikes, will their relationship weather the storm?

This beautiful picture book by Júlia Moscardó explores the challenges and joys of forming a new family and gaining a sibling. With evocative illustrations and beautiful text, this book will immerse your little reader in the world of the seaside and in the ups and downs of forming new friendships.

Poetry

This is a book of poetry for everyone.

Inside is a treasure trove of writing celebrating the natural world. Read the poems aloud or curl up with them in a quiet corner. Begin your journey into a lifelong love of poetry.

This beautifully illustrated collection features powerful poems written by a wide range of contemporary voices. They share their unique perspectives on the topic of nature, from a dreaming forest and bouquets of buried stars to rivers that dance with rocks and the brushed lava fur of the mountain gorilla. Showcasing original poems alongside existing works, this is a book to share and treasure forever.

Picturebook

Bill the Bear lives with his friends in the woods and writes brilliant plays for The Glade Theatre. His latest play is a huge success, but then the problems start . . .

Parents everywhere will recognise the drama of getting an over-excited little bear off to dreamland.

A bedtime book for little bards!

Picturebook

A CBT-inspired novelty book by Clare Helen Welsh, accompanied by beautiful, nuanced illustrations from Ana Sanfelippo.

When you change the way you look at the world, the world you look at changes.

When you put on your sunny-side specs a bad mood can become a good mood, a goodbye can become a hello, and even the impossible can become possible! But sometimes, no matter how hard you try, the sunny side seems far away. And that’s OK. Sunny things will be there to discover whenever you are ready.

This warm and innovative novelty book uses die-cuts and flaps to transform the world around us, illustrating the power and impact that reframing your thoughts can have. Just like Happy by Nicola Edwards and Katie Hickey, The Colour Monster by Anna Llenas and The Worrysaurus by Rachel Bright and Chris Chatterton, Sunny Side Up is the ideal book for exploring difficult emotions.

Chapter book

For as long as Gemma can remember it’s been her and Mum against the world. They’re as close as can be, but deep down she longs to get to know the rest of her family – Gran and Mum’s brother Joe – the family Mum turned her back on around the time Gemma was born.

With the summer holidays approaching, Mum is invited on an adults-only holiday. Gemma spots a chance to uncover the story behind the family rift and convinces Mum to let her stay with Joe. He’s the perfect uncle – fun, friendly and generous, and even signs her up for tennis camp. But Gemma can’t shake the feeling that he and Gran are keeping secrets. As the truth emerges, can Gemma find a way to bring her family back together?

A heartfelt story of complex families, forgiveness and new beginnings, for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson, Susin Nielsen and Cath Howe.

Picturebook

Augustus the tiger was sad. He had lost his smile. So he did a HUGE tigery stretch, and set off to find it.

Picturebook

The Eyebrows of Doom is an outrageously funny and bonkers adventure story written by the rhyming genius, Steve Smallman with bright, bold and brilliant artwork by award-winning illustrator, Miguel Ordóñez.

The Eyebrows of Doom are trying to take over the world! Join Dave and his friends as they try to stop them leaping from one unsuspecting animal to the next. And just when it looks as though the eyebrows’ antics have been thwarted, all is not as it seems!

This hilarious rhyming romp will have readers young and old laughing out loud.

Chapter book

The journey winds through me, twisted and turned, like a difficult second spine…

Having escaped their city, Juniper Green and her brother Bear have settled in Ennerdale with their dad and his family. Every day the Wild introduces them to a new wonder, but Juniper can’t stop worrying about her grandmother and best friend left behind. When she hears news that disease has entered the city, she’s determined to bring her loved ones to safety.

Trapped in a city riddled with disease and run by a ruthless leader, Etienne longs for the Wild. With the guards becoming more aggressive to counteract the growing rebellion, Etienne’s prepared to fight for his freedom. But will he be able to protect himself and keep those around him safe until Juniper returns from the Wild?

The compelling and thought-provoking sequel to the much-loved WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD, this ecological adventure is perfect for fans of THE LAST BEAR, RUNNING ON THE ROOF OF THE WORLD and THE LAST WILD.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments