Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Tudors

Chapter book

London, 1601. Honesty, a storyteller seeking fame and fortune, befriends Alice, a maid to Queen Elizabeth I. But can Alice be trusted? A tale of intrigue, scheming and plots set in the spellbinding world of the Elizabethan court. A thrilling adventure where nothing is as it seems.

Chapter book

A hilarious tale of history come to life, from former children’s laureate and master storyteller, Michael Morpurgo.

Living with a ghost can have its difficulties, I discovered, even if he is your friend.

Remember Sir Walter Raleigh, who laid his cloak in a puddle so Queen Elizabeth I could walk across? Well, Bess meets his ghost and finds out she’s his ancestor!

How will Bess explain Sir Walter to her family? Especially when he breaks her brother’s fishing rod, steals a horse and smokes cigars in her room!

Michael Morpurgo demonstrates why he is considered to be the master storyteller, with a uniquely funny take on spirits from the other side.

Look out for Michael’s other ghostly stories The Ghost of Grania O’Malley and The White Horse of Zennor.

Chapter book

A historical adventure set in Tudor times, perfect for fans of Terry Deary and Philip Ardagh’s The Secret Diary series.

Hal has a dream: to work as a gardener in King Henry’s palace in Whitehall. But they say the king has a terrible temper and when Hal stumbles upon a royal party, he’ll have to find a way to prove to the king that he’s not a spy. And if he doesn’t, well, let’s just say that Hal may never live to see his dream come true…

This historical tale set in Tudor times, from well-loved author Pamela Oldfield, has inviting black-and-white illustrations by James de la Rue and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.

Chapter book

From the bestselling author of Horrible Histories…

King Henry VII is a mean and ruthless king and when a young boy named Lambert Simnel lays claim to the throne, Henry is furious. Lambert is no match for the powerful king – can he escape the extraordinary punishment he faces? Terry Deary’s Tudor Tales explore the infamous world of the Tudors through the eyes of children who could have lived at the time. These stories feature real people and take place in some of the most recognisable Tudor settings. This new edition features notes for the reader to help extend learning and exploration of the historical period.

Non-fiction

An engaging, easy-to-use and informative biography of Shakespeare with humorous illustrations.

So what was it like to live in Shakespeare’s time? What do we actually know about him? And how does someone become that famous? These are just a few of the questions addressed in this lively and accessible book on the life and works of William Shakespeare by award-winning author Michael Rosen. Ideal for browsing, the text is divided into clear sections and includes studies of four of Shakespeare’s plays, intriguing facts and information about Shakespeare himself and the world at this time, accompanied by a useful timeline.

Non-fiction

It’s time for the Tudors! This turbulent period in history is known for beheadings, burnings, and bloodshed. Expect no holds barred in this comprehensive reference title for children from the best-selling DK Eyewitness series.

Tudor England was lifted by trade and exploration, but blighted by treachery and rebellion. Experience the historic highs and the lows firsthand with Eyewitness Tudor . Hold court with Henry VIII and his long-suffering wives before making merry with high society enjoying their feasts and fashion. Walk among the ordinary folk, including market traders and street entertainers, and decide whether you would have liked growing up in Tudor times. If you want a project pick-me-up to assist with school studies or simply a fantastic read about our colourful past, look no further.

This updated edition is more informative and interactive than ever before, thanks to new infographics, statistics, facts, and timelines. The giant fold-out wall chart presenting Tudor times will be a welcome addition to any bedroom or classroom wall.

Chapter book

All her life, Moss has lived in the Tower of London with her father, who serves as the executioner for King Henry VIII. Prisoners condemned to death must face Pa and his axe–and Moss catches their severed heads. Her father insists he has no choice: if he leaves the Tower, he will be killed. But Moss can’t bear to be the executioner’s daughter any longer. When she finally finds a way out of the Tower, she discovers the river holds more dangers than she imagined–including the Riverwitch’s curse. The Riverwitch once helped Moss’s family in exchange for a terrible bargain; now she expects Moss to pay the debt.

Chapter book

Will Montague is a page to Prince Edward, son of King Henry VIII. As the King’s favourite, Will gains many enemies in Court. His enemies convince the King that Will’s father has committed treason and he is thrown into Newgate Prison. Will flees Hampton Court and goes into hiding in the back streets of London. Lost and in mortal danger, he is rescued by a poor boy, Nick Drew. Together they must brave imprisonment and death as they embark on a great adventure to set Will’s father free.

Chapter book

A fantastic Tudor adventure from Historical Association Young Quills Award-winning author Ally Sherrick.

Cat Sparrow is on the road. She’s following her sister, Meg, who was torn from their convent home and sent to London.

But Cat isn’t like other people – she thinks differently – and for a girl like her the world holds many perils.

Luckily she befriends a young actor, Jacques, and together they follow Meg’s trail to a wondrous place called the Field of Cloth of Gold. But here, they discover that the kingdoms of England and France are both in terrible danger …

Ally Sherrick weaves fact and fiction together to create a rip-roaring historical adventure set in the court of Henry VIII.

Told with real heart and warmth, THE QUEEN’S FOOL explores historical attitudes towards people with learning disabilities, the importance of sisterly bonds, and using your talents to forge your own destiny.

Chapter book

THOMAS SNOOP is in training to become a SPY. Entrusted with a TOP SECRET mission by the mysterious Lord Severn, right-hand man to the Tudor king, Thomas must travel to the magnificent Goldenhilt Hall – in the guise of a servant – in order to uncover traitors plotting against the crown. It will take all Thomas’s wits and cunning to uncover the traitors lurking at Goldenhilt Hall – and he must do so without being discovered himself…

Perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, filled with amazing facts and historical trivia, and brilliantly illustrated throughout, you won’t be able to put this SECRET DIARY down!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments