Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Recommended Storytime Chapter Books KS1

Chapter book

Bear wakes up early from hibernation. If she can’t sleep, then at least she can make a snowman. Rabbit has never made a snowman, but he definitely wants to make one that’s better than Bear’s.

But with an avalanche and a hungry wolf heading his way, Rabbit soon realises that it might be nice to have a friend on his side.

From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, gravity, and just a little bit of poo.

Chapter book

Best Storytime Chapter Books for Key Stage 1 

We have selected a list of storytime chapter books for Year 1 and Year 2 (ages 5-7)which includes books that are particularly well suited for being read out loud to younger children. From the best class readers to favourite bedtime stories, browse our list of brilliant books for capturing the magic storytelling with KS1.

Simple chapter books with a story that continues over short instalments make excellent choices for storytime at this age group. Many of the books we have chosen on this list have memorable characters, integrated illustrations and stories that are tried-and-tested favourites with the 5-7 age range.

Immerse young readers in the enchanting world of storytelling with our carefully chosen chapter books, featuring favourite animal stories like Einstein the Penguin and humorous adventures such as The Legend of Kevin. Explore timeless classics tailored for this age group, including the beloved Mrs Pepperpot and The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark, or stories of family life like the Betsey Biggalow series. Our diverse list is chosen to create an engaging reading experience, fostering both entertainment and literacy development in Key Stage 1.

Discover these thoughtfully selected storytime favourites for KS1, and embark on a journey of lifelong reading joy.

 

Chapter book

Originally published as Wizard Vs Lizard , get ready for a laugh-out-loud magical adventure from award-winni ng author Simon Philip and Sheena Dempsey, illustrator of the much-loved Dave Pigeon series!

Fred may look ordinary, but sometimes people who look ordinary turn out to be not very ordinary at all … because it just so happens that Fred is a Wizard!

Sounds pretty great, right? Except that Fred is absolutely, completely, mind-boggingly TERRIBLE at magic. At school, he’s stuck in a class of wizards half his age, feeling like a twit among tots. At home, he’s endlessly teased by his siblings and always a disappointment to his parents. All Fred wants is to become a better wizard….

So when he hears about a competition to meet Merlin (yes, THE Merlin!) Fred knows it’s his one chance to prove to his family that he’s not the worst wizard in town. The catch? To win the competition he has to capture the tail of a terrifying, fire-breathing lizard…

Chapter book

The perfect book to read together with your little one!

My mummy looks normal, like any other mummy . . . but she’s not. Because she can turn into a fairy. She just has to shut her eyes tight, say ‘Marshmallow’ . . . and POOF! She’s Mummy Fairy.

Ella’s family have a big secret . . . her mummy is a fairy! She can do amazing spells with her computawand to make delicious cupcakes, create the perfect birthday party and cause chaos at the supermarket. But sometimes the spells go a bit wrong and that’s when Ella comes to the rescue!

The first magical book in this wonderful series for 5-7 year olds, from global bestselling author Sophie Kinsella.

Chapter book

Mr Majeika is the most magical teacher around!

As a rule, magic carpets don’t turn up in schools, but this is exactly what happens when Class Three’s new teacher flies in through the classroom window and lands on the floor with a bump.

Mr Majeika can behave just like any ordinary teacher if he wants to, but something has to be done about Hamish Bigmore, the class nuisance, and so he uses a little magic to turn him into a frog. And to everyone’s delight it looks as if Hamish will have to remain a frog because Mr Majeika can’t remember the spell to turn him back again! With Mr Majeika in charge, suddenly life at school become much more exciting – there’s even a magic-carpet ride to Buckingham Palace!

Picturebook

The original story of Paddington, the classic bear from Darkest Peru – now a major movie star!

Unabridged and illustrated in spectacular full-colour throughout, this beautiful large-sized edition of a much-loved classic will enchant established Paddington fans and a new generation of readers alike.

“A bear on Paddington Station?” said Mrs Brown in amazement. “Don’t be silly – there can’t be.”

Paddington Bear had travelled all the way from darkest Peru when the Brown family first met him on Paddington station. Since then their lives have never been quite the same… for ordinary things become quite extraordinary when a bear called Paddington is involved.

Short story collection

Everyone loves little Mrs Pepperpot! This compilation has 20 classic Mrs Pepperpot tales.

Mrs Pepperpot can’t choose when she will shrink to the size of a pepperpot – it just happens.
But whatever she encounters, whether it be a mountain of pancakes, a crafty fox or a monstrous mousetrap, little Mrs Pepperpot will always come out on top.

The Mrs Pepperpot tales are delightful short stories for children, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and Enid Blyton.

Chapter book

Once upon a time, a very long time ago now, about last Friday, Winnie-the-Pooh lived in a forest all by himself under the name of Sanders.

Curl up with a true children’s classic by reading A.A.Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh.

Winnie-the-Pooh may be a bear of very little brain, but thanks to his friends Piglet, Eeyore and, of course, Christopher Robin, he’s never far from an adventure. In this story Pooh gets into a tight place, nearly catches a Woozle and heads off on an ‘expotition’ to the North Pole with the other animals.

In this stunning edition of Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A.Milne’s world-famous story is once again brought to life by E.H.Shepard’s decorations. Heart-warming and funny, Milne’s masterpiece reflects the power of a child’s imagination like no other story before or since.

Chapter book

My naughty little sister is stubborn and greedy and full of mischief. She tries to cut off the cat’s tail and eats all the trifle at Harry’s party! How much bother can one little sister be?

My naughty little sister is stubborn and greedy and full of mischief. She tries to cut off the cat’s tail and eats all the trifle at Harry’s party! How much bother can one little sister be?

Dorothy Edwards’ classic story about one naughty but very entertaining little sister.

My Naughty Little Sister has charmed generations of adults and children alike thanks to Dorothy Edwards’ playful stories and Shirley Hughes’ beautiful illustrations. These best-selling books are perfect for little girls with siblings of their own. A great book for early readers aged 6 and up. Fans of Milly Molly Mandy and Mrs Pepperpot will love My Naughty Little Sister.

Chapter book

Betsey Biggalow is here! She may be small but she’s full of bright and shiny ideas about new trainers, winning at marbles and even helping the world! Join Betsey on four short, sun-filled adventures as she learns you don’t have to be big to make a big difference.

This book is one of five short story collections featuring the lively and likeable Betsey Biggalow from Children’s Laureate, Malorie Blackman. Beautifully illustrated by Jamie Smith, these stories are ideal for building confidence in readers aged 7 and over, whether reading aloud or reading alone.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments