Review: 'Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak'


Book Title: Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak (available here)

Author/Illustrator: Taylor Dolan

Publisher: Guppy Books

Publication Date: Feb 2020

Most Suitable For: Y2-6

Reviewed By: Carol Carter

Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak is the first book is a fabulous new series, perfect for fans of Isadora Moon, Amelia Fang & Skeleton Keys (oh, how I’d love to see them all get together for a Halloween special!). When Lexie Wilde is dropped off at summer camp by her grandma, she’s expecting the usual outdoor pursuits and marshmallows around the campfire, although the name, Camp Munster, should have been a bit of a clue. Lexie is smart, brave, nobody’s fool and pretty mouthy…so she’s actually not that fazed when she rapidly discovers that, not only are ghosts real, but the camp councillors are witches and her new best friend, Emmy LouLou, is a werewolf. The characters in this book are brilliant and I immediately warmed to Sweety Boo (ghost), Bebe (skeleton) and Mary Shelly (zombie). There is also a great villain in the guise of Miss Euphemia Vile (a very creepy ‘Southern Belle’) who gets her fabulously disgusting comeuppance by the end, and the Cajun bayou vibe throughout just adds to the brilliance. With a low word count and highly illustrated throughout in yellow, grey and black, Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak is perfect for younger readers just moving to chapter books, but also has the humour to appeal to KS2 (devoured by my 11-year-old in half an hour). As a debut author, Taylor Dolan keeps a fabulous grip on her characters and plot and does not put a foot wrong (even in the swamp!).

With plenty more Ghoul Scout badges to be earned, I am intrigued to find out what lurks around the next tree for Lexie and the gang...

---------------------


You can order Ghoul Scouts: Welcome to Camp Croak online or from your local bookshop or library.



Many thanks to the publisher for sending us a review copy of this book and to Review Panel member Carol for reviewing it.



Where next? > Visit our Reading for Pleasure Hub

> Browse our Topic Booklists

> View our printable year group booklists.

> See our Books of the Month.



Join our newsletter to find out about our brand new booklists, reviews and updates on new children's books.

Click here to sign up.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram Social Icon

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, BooksForTopics earns from qualifying purchases.  Click here to learn more.