Y6 Transition

Year 6 Transition Booklist All year round, Year 6 pupils across the country are thinking about the big move to their next school. On this booklist, we have picked a selection of recommended books for children in Year 6 preparing for the transition to secondary school, high school or college. The books cover topics of transition, […]

Just Jack

It’s not easy fitting in at a new school. It’s even harder to be yourself. Jack knows LOTS about starting a new school. Since Dad left, he and his mum have moved house five times. He also knows all about fitting in. The trick is to act exactly like everyone else and make sure no […]

Everything All at Once

An achingly beautiful collection of poems about one week in a secondary school where everything happens all at once. Zooming in across our cast of characters, we share moments that span everything from hoping to make it to the end of the week, facing it, fitting in, finding friends and falling out, to loving lessons, […]

Go Big: The Secondary School Survival Guide

The bestselling back to school handbook, from the nation’s favourite head teacher, Mr Burton. Secondary school can seem scary. Corridors are wide, older students look terrifying and there’s homework, messy friendships and stressful exams to deal with. But, whether you’re about to land at secondary school or you’re still settling in, Mr Burton is here […]

Being Miss Nobody

Rosalind hates her new secondary school. She’s the weird girl who doesn’t talk. The Mute-ant. And it’s easy to pick on someone who can’t fight back. So Rosalind starts a blog – Miss Nobody; a place to speak up, a place where she has a voice. But there’s a problem… Is Miss Nobody becoming a […]

Splash

Splash

Molly is in her final year of primary school, with secret dreams of becoming an Olympic swimmer. Having always lived in the shadow of her manipulative friend, Chloe, Molly finally has the chance to compete in a regional swimming contest and define herself on her own terms. But with the pressure of fitting in, and […]

Crater Lake

Who is the mysterious bloodstained man who stops their coach? Why is no one around when Lance and the rest of Year Six arrive at the brand new Crater Lake activity centre? But this is just the beginning of the school trip from hell; a fight for survival that sees five pupils band together to […]

You Are Awesome

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults. I’m no good at sport … I can’t do maths … I really struggle with exams … Sound familiar? If you believe you can’t do something, the chances […]

New Kid

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. […]

Guts

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it’s probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she’s dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that […]

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

Freddie Yates likes facts. Just not the one staring him in the face – that his secret plan is not, in fact, secret. Because Freddie’s journey wasn’t meant to involve Big Trev and the onion-eating competition or the loo-exploding pear-and-potato turnovers. And Freddie definitely didn’t expect to end up, with his two best friends, on […]

Ella on the Outside

Ella is the new girl at school. She doesn’t know anyone and she doesn’t have any friends. And she has a terrible secret. Ella can’t believe her luck when Lydia, the most popular girl in school, decides to be her new best friend – but what does Lydia really want? And what does it all […]

Can You See Me?

With diary entries written by eleven-year-old Libby Scott, based on her own experiences of autism, this pioneering book, written in collaboration with esteemed author Rebecca Westcott, has been widely praised for its realistic portrayal of autism. Tally is eleven years old and she’s just like her friends. Well, sometimes she is. If she tries really […]

Vote for Effie

Join Effie Kostas as she fights to become Student Council President in her new school. With a campaign team of loveable misfits, she tackles the truly important subjects: gender imbalance outdated school conventions… and good-looking boys stealing the last slice of chocolate cake at lunchtime. A laugh-out-loud rallying call for switched-on kids everywhere. Vibrant illustrations […]

All The Things That Could Go Wrong

There are two sides to every story Dan is angry. Nothing has been the same since his big brother left, and he’s taking it out on the nearest and weakest target: Alex. Alex is struggling. His severe OCD makes it hard for him to leave the house, especially when Dan and his gang are waiting […]