Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Topic: Y3 50 Recommended Reads

50 Best Books for Y3 (Children Aged 7-8)

NEWLY updated – April 2024!

We’ve selected 50 top recommended books for Year 3 (children aged seven and eight). Find the best books to level up your Y3 reading collections with our carefully selected list of storytime chapter books, independent reads, funny stories, picturebooks, poetry collections, graphic novels, non-fiction texts and more. There’s something for all tastes, but keep an eye out for ninja princesses, adventuring robots, animal rescues and the odd exploding dragon poo here and there, too…

As well as taking into account which reading trends are currently the most popular with Year 3 children, our team of experts at BooksForTopics loves to put each book through its paces. Each title on our booklist has been chosen based on its age-appropriateness, quality of writing, engaging illustrations and ability to inspire children’s imagination and creativity. Our booklists have been carefully compiled by experts in children’s literature, and we have taken care to ensure that we feature a variety of characters, themes and styles that hook in different types of readers.

This booklist includes popular Year 3 stories such as The Boy Who Grew Dragons, Charlotte’s Web and Varjak Paw, as well as the most popular read-it-yourself choices like Dog Man and The 13-Storey Tree House. We also included some lesser-known storytime delights that we recommend for Y3, like The Wild Robot, the wildlife rescue story A Rabbit Called Clover and the magical story of fairies and forests in Lola and Larch.

If you are looking for recommended reads to capture the attention of your Year 3 children, our specially selected reading list has got you covered with books that have been matched to the age, developmental stage and interest level of children in Year 3.

As well as the Y3 booklist below to browse, we’ve also got a printable poster and downloadable checklist for you, and schools can purchase full sets of the books via Peters.

 

year 3 recommended reads printable poster 2024

year 3 recommended reads checklist 2024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Browse the Y3 booklist below or scroll down to find more purchasing options and printable resources.

Chapter book

Hold on to your broomstick for magical mayhem with Jill Murphy’s much-loved classic The Worst Witch- the original story of life at a magical boarding school.

Mildred Hubble is a trainee at Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches, but she’s making an awful mess of it.

She keeps getting her spells wrong and crashing her broomstick. And when she turns Ethel, the teacher’s pet into her worst enemy, chaos ensues…

Non-fiction

Discover the insects of the world!

Earth’s creepy crawlies may be small but they are far from boring! Learn how they contribute to life on the planet, where they live, what they eat, how their bodies work, and what makes them so special.

This beautifully illustrated bug book for kids for ages 7-9 years old is packed with:

– Fascinating information about bugs that supports and goes beyond the curriculum
– Stories and facts to convey the amazing world of creepy-crawlies
– Factual and informative, with detailed illustrations and photographs of insects, spiders, molluscs, and more
– Compelling text written by insect expert, author, and television presenter, Jess French
– Stunning photographs of individual creatures, from beetles to butterflies

Take a magical journey through the forest floor, down into the deepest caves, and even across the open ocean. The Book of Brilliant Bugs , written by insect expert Jess French takes children on an expedition into the bug kingdom. The insect book is filled with fascinating facts about these little animals, how bugs pass on messages, compete for food, seek true love, and fill the air with buzzing wings. It also shows us how bugs help look after our planet and how we can help them.

Young animal enthusiasts can spot and learn all the main bug groups. From worms, snails, millipedes and centipedes, spiders and scorpions, woodlice, bees, and even bugs that glow! This educational natural science book will encourage children to love and appreciate science and nature.

Chapter book

Do you like exploring, animals and adventure? Then join The Adventure Club this summer!

A brand new illustrated series for younger readers about animals and adventure from much-loved author Jess Butterworth – writer of classic adventure stories in vibrantly described settings.

Tilly has no plans for the summer holidays and is dreading months of boredom — that is until she becomes part of The Adventure Club and wins a place to go track and monitor endangered red pandas in Nepal!

In the Himalayas, she meets other members of the club, rides on yaks, plants a bamboo forest and even spots the secretive red panda.

But then the red panda Tilly and her team has been monitoring disappears. Will Tilly be able to help find it, or will her first ever adventure end in disaster?

Packed full of illustrations and set as Tilly’s own diary, this new series is perfect for young readers who are beginning to read on their own.

Chapter book

At Zoe’s Rescue Zoo only the cutest, cuddliest animals need apply!

Zoe loves living at her uncle’s rescue zoo because there’s always something exciting going on. And Zoe also has an amazing secret… She can actually TALK to the animals!

Zoe is thrilled to welcome a new animal to the rescue zoo – an adorable tiger cub! The talkative cub loves to make friends but his stories are keeping the other animals awake all night. Can Zoe come up with a sleepover solution that makes everyone happy?

Another fantastic title in the perfect series for young animal lovers, beautifully illustrated throughout by Sophy Williams.

Non-fiction

Set your spirit of adventure free with this lavishly illustrated trip around the world , which brings together more than 100 activities and challenges from every corner of the globe to inspire adventurers of any age.

Whether you’re visiting the penguins of Antarctica, joining the Carnival in Brazil or taking a canoe safari down the Zambezi River, this book will take young travellers on whole host of fascinating adventures across the continents.

Each section begins with an infographic map of the region it explores , followed by richly detailed two-page spreads featuring its most fascinating locations . You’ll get to go to sleep under the Northern Lights, meet millions of monarch butterflies in the boreal forests of Mexico’s volcanic mountains, shower with an elephant in Chiang Mai and go snorkelling in the Great Barrier Reef, among many other amazing adventures.

This book celebrates the great diversity of our planet : with every turn of the page, you’ll come across different animals, people and sights unique to each of the locations. Look out for two adventurers in every scene as you travel through the book. Discover with them hundreds of things to spot and learn about .

Interesting facts and figures pepper the scenes. Did you know that London’s Big Ben clock bell weighs as much as a small elephant? Or that more than one-third of the world’s commercial supply of pineapples comes from Hawaii? A ‘Can you find?’ page at the back challenges you to explore the pages even deeper by locating the pictured people, animals and things.

With epic adventures from the four corners of the globe and discoveries to be made on your own doorstep, this book will inspire you to set off on your own journey of discovery.

Non-fiction

If Salah is your favourite football player then this is the book for you! Discover how he grew up in Gharbia, Egypt playing football for the youth team El Mokawloons to being named the African Footballer of the Year in 2019 by the BBC and CAF. Learn how he spearheaded Liverpool FC to the Champions League title in 2019.

Football Superstars: Salah Rules is written in an upbeat style that is ideal for emerging and reluctant readers. The simple narrative text is supplemented with cartoons and visual jokes. Sections and chapters make the book easy to navigate and fun to dip in and out of. A supporting cast of players, managers, TV pundits – and even the authors themselves – chip in with quotes, jokes and comments to add to the playful and informative fun.

Chapter book

This cat must learn to fight!

Varjak Paw is a Mesopotamian Blue kitten. He lives high up in an old house on a hill. He’s never left home, but then his grandfather tells him about the Way – a secret martial art for cats.

‘There are Seven Skills in the way of Jalal,’ whispered the Elder Paw. ‘We know only three of them. Their names are these. Slow-Time. Moving Circles. Shadow-walking.’

Now Varjak must use the Way to survive in a city full of dangerous dogs, cat gangs and, strangest of all, the mysterious Vanishings.

With stunning illustrations from acclaimed graphic artist Dave McKean, this much-loved story won the Smarties Prize Gold Award and has become a modern classic.

Poetry

A riotous celebration of words – silly words, funny words, words you only use in your own family, new words, old words, and the very best words in the right order.

Melon

Melon squashy, melon sloshy. My friend Helen’s eating melon. So far, so good with Helen and her melon. But here’s what I’m tellin’ Helen: ‘Don’t SIT on your melon, Helen!’

Filled with colour illustrations and packed with silly rhymes, witty wordplay and thought-provoking story poems, this collection will delight children of all ages. Michael Rosen is the bestselling author of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, along with many other picture books and collections of poetry.

Poetry

Joshua Seigal, winner of the 2020 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards, brings his raucous humour, creativity and wit to another brilliant collection of poems. Ideal for fans of Michael Rosen, this book will delight all young readers and fans of funny books.

From hilarious to heartfelt poems – and everything in between – this collection offers something for everyone. Discover the eight steps for having a successful tantrum, and why you should NEVER attend a Teddy Bear’s Picnic (you have been warned). Packed full of fun illustrations by Sarah Horne, and covering a range of imaginative topics, Yapping Away is the perfect follow-up to Joshua Seigal’s prize-winning collection I Bet I Can Make You Laugh.

Ideal for children as young as 3 to read with adults, or for children aged 5-7 to read by themselves.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments