Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Victorians

Chapter book

You have heard, no doubt, the tale of Master Oliver Twist – that rags-to-riches boy; the parish orphan who became heir to the Brownlow fortune. But what few know is that was a second Twist – a girl, brought into this world moments ahead of her brother.

This is the story of Twill Twist and her journey through the gambling dens and workhouses of London, as she attempts to make a life for herself, rescue her friends, and uncover the mystery of her past, while meeting some familiar faces along the way.

Re-discover the Artful Dodger, Fagin, and Oliver Twist himself, along with a host of fantastic new heroes and villains, in this brilliantly-imagined, rip-roaring sequel to Dickens’ much-loved classic.

Chapter book

In a tunnel under the Thames, an urchin named Jenny and the young Queen Victoria dream of a wonderful new idea – underground trains! Twenty years later, the dream is finally becoming a reality. However, the construction of the Underground is tearing London apart and destroying the home of Jenny and her family. When Jenny comes face-to-face with the Queen again – will she tell her about the human cost of the ‘dream’?

Picturebook

A gorgeous picture book biography of botanist and photographer Anna Atkins–the first person to ever publish a book of photography

After losing her mother very early in life, Anna Atkins (1799-1871) was raised by her loving father. He gave her a scientific education, which was highly unusual for women and girls in the early 19th century. Fascinated with the plant life around her, Anna became a botanist. She recorded all her findings in detailed illustrations and engravings, until the invention of cyanotype photography in 1842. Anna used this new technology in order to catalogue plant specimens-a true marriage of science and art. In 1843, Anna published the book Photographs of British Algae: Cyanotype Impressions with handwritten text and cyanotype photographs. It is considered the first book of photographs ever published. Weaving together histories of women, science, and art, The Bluest of Blues will inspire young readers to embark on their own journeys of discovery and creativity.

Picturebook

He was set to become a clergyman but returns after five years at sea an inspired genius.

This book follows the journey of HMS Beagle, showing life on-board the ship for Darwin, the captain, crew and the expedition’s artist. The reader sees Darwin discovering and observing insect life in Brazil, fossils in Argentina , earthquakes in Chile and turtles in the Galapagos Islands. The reader is therefore able to follow the steps which led to Darwin’s inspired theory of evolution, while also showing the adventures and escapades he had during the voyage.

A fascinating and colourful story of Darwin’s life, this book also introduces young readers to one of the world’s most important scientists and his discoveries. It concludes with a simple explanation of the theory of evolution. Written by an outstanding team in the field of children’s non-fiction, this is a book to enlighten and inspire young readers.

Chapter book

Rose was left by her mother at the door of Campion’s Palace of Variety and Wonders as a baby. It is her home, and she loves it, but she never stops wondering who she really is. When murder threatens to destroy the music hall, Rose will need all her performance skills to crack the crime and delve into a murky past of blackmail, subterfuge and abduction…

Non-fiction

As a man brought up a British coal-mining village in the 1860s, you have to endure the dangers and difficulties of working underground in a Victorian mine. Learn how to get by with a succession of ‘Handy hints’ such as not forgetting to take a canary down the mine with you. Find out how pit ponies are used, how the coal is mined, and how to survive deep underground. You’ll soon learn that you really wouldn’t want to be a Victorian miner! This title in the popular You Wouldn’t Want to Be series features full-colour illustrations which combine humour and accurate technical detail. Featuring brand new extra content including a timeline, fun facts a list of ‘top’ characters and a map.

Chapter book

Facts meet fiction in this exciting, intricate Victorian detective story!

Jane Pinny has moved to the very grand Lytton House to be a Maid Of All Work. And being a Maid Of All Work means that she has to do… well, ALL the work, obviously! Cleaning, dusting, scrubbing, washing – there’s SO much to do in a Victorian country house. But when a priceless jade necklace belonging to the lady of the house disappears, Jane turns accidental detective (with the help of her best friend, a pigeon called Plump…) – can she solve the mystery of the missing jewels before it’s too late?

Perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, filled with amazing facts and historical trivia, with an exciting story and brilliant illustrations, you won’t be able to put this SECRET DIARY down!

Non-fiction

Be upstanding for the Queen! Experience a golden age in British history with this leading reference title for children, which celebrates peace, progress, and prosperity during the reign of Queen Victoria.

Eyewitness Victorians is an essential part of the best-selling Eyewitness series. This comprehensive visual guide for younger readers explores how the Industrial Revolution changed the world forever. Watch vast railway networks take shape, large-scale factories hard at work, and the nationwide move from farming communities to populated cities. Learn the differences between life upstairs and downstairs in the houses of Victorian England to decide whether you would have liked to grow up in this fascinating era.

This updated edition is more interactive and informative than ever before, with new infographics, statistics, facts, and timelines designed to educate and entertain. A giant fold-out wall chart of Victorian history provides a useful reference tool for classrooms and bedrooms alike.

Chapter book

Alex and Ruby are back in their SECOND time-slip adventure, tumbling back into a Victorian Christmas! From multi-award-winning author Sally Nicholls comes another brilliant action-packed adventure for 7+ readers, beautifully illustrated by Rachael Dean.

When Alex and Ruby fall through the mirror in their aunt’s house, they find themselves in a different historical period, each time with a different task to perform before they can return to the present. From Edwardian crime capers to Victorian Christmasses, their time-slip stories are always exciting and beautifully told.

A Victorian Christmas is lovely – all the food and candles and games and singing – unless you’re poor, motherless Edith who is condemned to be sent to a cruel boarding school on Boxing Day. Can Alex and Ruby persuade her strict father that home is where the heart is instead?

Full of action and humour and featuring exciting black-and-white illustrations throughout, this is another superb time-slip story which brilliantly brings history to life as part of an adventure.

Chapter book

Wrong place. Wrong time. A boy on the run.

THE MARKET’S ON FIRE. FIRE! FIRE! THE BOY DID IT!

Smoke belches out through the market entrance.

And me?

I turn and run.

Inverness 1889.

When 12-year-old Phin is accused of a terrible crime, his only option is to flee. In the unlikely company of an escaped prisoner and a group of travelling entertainers, he enters a new world of Punch and Judy shows and dancing bears.

But will Phin clear his name?

And what can he do when memories of a darker, more terrible crime begin to haunt him?

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments