Llama Out Loud

llama out loud

Sidesplitting middle grade comedy, with serious heart (and one very funny llama). Illustrated by Allen Fatimaharan, the official illustrator for World Book Day 2022. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. Winner of a Made for Mums Gold Award. Yasmin Shah is a ten-year-old girl who is part of a big, noisy family and doesn’t […]

Storytime Favourites: Year 5 and Year 6 (Ages 9-11)

Storytime favourite class read-alouds Year 5 and 6

Best Storytime Chapter Books for Upper KS2 We have selected a list of storytime favourites for Year 5 and Year 6 (ages 9-11), which includes books that are particularly well suited for being read out loud. From the best class readers to favourite bedtime stories, browse our list of books that are brilliant for capturing the magic […]

Ship of Shadows

The sweeping, sparkling first book in a brand new series that will delight fans of The Wild Way Home and Frostheart. Aleja is a dreamer who longs for a life of magic and adventure. So when a mysterious ship arrives in her Spanish harbour city, crewed by a band of ruthless women, Aleja knows it’s […]

The Girl Who Speaks Bear

They call me Yanka the Bear. Not because of where I was found – only a few people know about that. They call me Yanka the Bear because I am so big and strong. Found abandoned in a bear cave as a baby, Yanka has always wondered about where she is from. She tries to […]

The Mysery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Katherine Woodfine’s bestselling debut novel. A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Enid Blyton, Chris Riddell’s Goth Girl and Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike series. You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair’s department store! Enter a world of bonbons, hats, […]

Cogheart

The first in the bestselling Cogheart Adventures series, where mayhem, murder and mystery meet in a gripping Victorian world of fantastical imagination. Some secrets change the world in a heartbeat. Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her? […]

Orphans of the Tide

The City was built on a sharp mountain that jutted improbably from the sea, and the sea kept trying to claim it back. That grey morning, once the tide had retreated, a whale was found on a rooftop. When a mysterious boy washes in with the tide, the citizens believe he’s the Enemy – the […]

Room 13

Somebody was in there. Somebody – or some thing…There is no Room 13 in the creepy Crow’s Nest Hotel, where Fliss and her friends are staying on a school trip. Or is there? For at the stroke of midnight, something peculiar happens to the door of the linen cupboard next to Room 12. And something […]

The Middler

“I was special. I was a hero. I lost the best friend I ever had.” Eleven-year-old Maggie lives in Fennis Wick, enclosed and protected from the outside world by a boundary, beyond which the Quiet War rages and the dirty, dangerous wanderers roam. Her brother Jed is an eldest, revered and special. A hero. Her […]

The Wizards of Once

This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide. Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure… Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived […]

The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day

How do you know you really exist? It’s Maisie’s birthday and she can’t wait to open her presents. She’s hoping for the things she needs to build her own nuclear reactor. But she wakes to an empty house and outside the front door is nothing but a terrifying, all-consuming blackness. Trapped in an ever-shifting reality, […]

Dragons at Crumbling Castle

Dragons have invaded Crumbling Castle, and all of King Arthur’s knights are either on holiday or visiting their grannies. It’s a disaster! Luckily, there’s a spare suit of armour and a very small boy called Ralph who’s willing to fill it. Together with Fortnight the Friday knight and Fossfiddle the wizard, Ralph sets out to […]

Uma and the Answer to Absolutely Everything

The hilarious and moving new book from funny fiction superstar Sam Copeland, author of the bestselling Charlie Changes Into a Chicken . Uma Gnudersonn has a head full of questions: How can I save my home from being sold? Will my dad ever start talking again? And how do alpacas get drunk? But since her […]

Boy in the Tower

When they first arrived, they came quietly and stealthily as if they tip-toed into the world when we were all looking the other way. Ade loves living at the top of a tower block. From his window, he feels like he can see the whole world stretching out beneath him. His mum doesn’t really like […]

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor – the start of a fantastical children’s series. Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks – and, worst of all, the curse means that […]

Rumblestar

Magic, adventure, and a whole new world is waiting to be discovered! The perfect series for adventurers aged 9+ and fans of Michelle Harrison, Piers Torday and Jamie Littler. The Unmapped Chronicles will not only leave children entertained, but will also empower them to battle climate change and environmental issues. ‘Adventures are unpredictable and often […]

Kid Normal

Murph Cooper has a problem. His new school is top secret, and super weird. His classmates can all fly or control the weather or conjure tiny horses from thin air. And what’s Murph’s extraordinary skill? Um, oh yeah – he hasn’t got one. Just as well there are no revolting supervillains lurking nearby, their minds […]

The Highland Falcon Thief

Harrison Beck and his Uncle Nat are enjoying the final journey of the Highland Falcon, Britain’s most famous steam train. But when a precious jewel goes missing, Harrison and his new friend Lenny find themselves at the centre of the investigation. Can they solve the mystery and catch the culprit before they reach the end […]

The London Eye Mystery

A story about family, self-belief and bravery, The London Eye Mystery is a brilliantly inventive crime-caper perfect for fans of Enola Holmes, High-Rise Mystery and A Kind of Spark . 11.32 a.m. Ted and his sister Kat watch their cousin Salim get on board the London Eye. The pod rises from the ground, high above […]

Owen and the Soldier

Owen and the soldier

A crumbling stone soldier sits on a bench in the park. Only Owen understands how important he is. At home, Owen and his mum are struggling and there’s nobody he can talk to. Hidden away in the park, Owen feels free to be himself. When the war-weary soldier is listening, his worries slip away. But […]