Reluctant Readers Lower KS2

Books for reluctant readers Lower KS2

Best Books for Reluctant Readers in Years 3 and 4 There’s great joy in finding the right book for the right child, but the journey to getting to that point can sometimes be a tricky one. Some children naturally choose books and find it easy to navigate the world of reading for pleasure for themselves. […]

Daisy and the Trouble with Chocolate

Here comes trouble! Daisy is usually happy with her strawberry Dip Dab lollies or Crunchy Cream biscuits, but when Easter comes round, it’s all about chocolate. And the trouble with chocolate is, it’s TOO DELICIOUS. So when Daisy’s mum tells her they’re going to Chocolate Land as a special treat, she is REALLY excited! PLUS […]

Investigators

They’re Alligators – and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man. Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere! With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based […]

Owly: The Way Home

Owly is a good-natured little owl, and he’s always helping those around him. But despite his kindness, he seems to frighten would-be friends away before they even give him a chance, just because he’s an owl. That all changes, though, once Owly meets Wormy. Like Owly, Wormy is in need of a good friend, too […]

The Unlucky Eleven

Ridiculous injuries … strange illnesses … cancelled games … Everything’s going wrong for the Saints this season, and Stanley’s team-mates believe they finally know why. Their football kit is cursed! But the team’s attempts to break the curse take things from bad to worse. Soon, they’re ready to call it quits. Stanley’s still got some […]

Ellie and the Cat

Ellie is the rudest, most spoilt child her grandma has ever met and it’s time that she learnt a lesson! So with a little bit of magic and some help from Jolly the cat, Grandma’s going to make sure that Ellie changes her ways. Can Ellie work hard to prove that she can be good? […]

The Moonshine Dragon

When a tiny silver dragon is chased out of Patrick’s storybook by an equally tiny knight, all sorts of mayhem breaks loose! Soon moonshine magic has shrunk Patrick too, and he is forced to hole up inside his toy castle as the knight attacks the ‘fire worm’. Can Patrick defeat the knight and make it […]

Magicat

It’s Halloween night and the streets are full of witches, ghouls and tricks – but the biggest surprise of all falls from the sky into Ali’s treat bucket. It’s a cat … It’s Magicat! Knocked off his witch’s broom by a rogue firework, Magicat is stuck far from his home in Magic Land – and […]

Marge in Charge

Meet Marge, the mischievous babysitter with rainbow hair who loves to make a mess and bend the rules . . . At dinnertime Chef Marge cooks up chocolate soup, and at school Marge the Muscian conducts a chaotic concert in the playground! Jake and Jemima have brilliant fun with their new babysitter, but will they […]

Chocolate Milk X-Ray Specs Me

10-year-old Freddy Spicer writes letters to his parents – who he believes are working at a Brussels-sprouts farm in Outer Castonga, with no internet or phone access. In fact, Freddy’s parents are secret agents out of the country on a highly classified mission – but Freddy has NO IDEA! Laugh-out-loud, high energy, fully illustrated fun for young […]

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Meet Toto: she’s no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait to have an adventure with you! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto the cat and her brother Silver live footloose and fancy-free in a townhouse in […]

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates

The first title in the bestselling series from the brilliantly talented Liz Pichon. Tom Gates is the master of excuses for late homework: dog attacks, spilt water and lightning… Tom’s exercise book is full of his doodles, cartoons and thoughts, as well as comments from his long-suffering teacher, Mr Fullerton. After gaining five merits for […]

A Day in the Life of a Poo, A Gnu and You

If you’ve ever wanted to know what a panda does all day long, how your heart manages to shift all that blood around your body or what makes a rainbow shine, you’ve come to the right book. A Day in the Life of a Poo, a Gnu and You features the answers to all of […]

Level Up!

Videogame-obsessed Flo gets more than she bargained for when she finds herself INSIDE her favourite game. Turns out, virtual reality isn’t as much fun when it’s not so virtual. When Flo’s engineer mum creates a device that will make her image appear in her videogames, Flo can’t wait to use it! Ignoring her mum’s warnings […]

The Bad Guys

They sound like the Bad Guys, they look like the Bad Guys… and they even smell like the Bad Guys. But Mr Wolf, Mr Piranha, Mr Snake and Mr Shark are about to change all of that – whether you want them to or not! Mr Wolf has a daring plan for the Bad Guys’ […]

Claude in the City

Come with Claude on a smashing adventure! These waggy tales are perfect for new readers, with illustrations on every page. As seen on TV – Claude is the star of his very own TV show! When Mr and Mrs Shinyshoes set off for work, Claude decides what adventure he wants to have that day. Today […]

The Hat Full of Secrets

Henry’s got a secret … a big one! And he doesn’t know what to do with it. Grandpa suggests he should keep it under his hat – and he’s got just the hat for the job. But when Henry puts it on he discovers that Grandpa has some secrets of his own! A lyrical and […]

Wigglesbottom Primary: The Magic Hamster

Laugh-out-loud school-based fun in two-colour stories, perfect for encouraging independent reading! Three short stories in each book keep just confident readers engaged while lively two-colour illustrations bring these hilarious early readers to life and perfectly bridge the gap between picture books and chapter books. Written by the bestselling, Blue Peter award-winning author Pamela Butchart and […]

The Nothing to See Here Hotel

Welcome to The Nothing to See Here Hotel! A hotel for magical creatures, where weird is normal for Frankie Banister and his parents who run the hotel. When a goblin messenger arrives at The Nothing to See Here Hotel, announcing the imminent arrival of the goblin prince Grogbah, Frankie and his family rush into action […]

Ninja Kid

ninja kid

Laugh-out-loud and fully illustrated Ninja Kid is the start of a brand new series from bestselling comedian Anh Do! Nelson is a nerd! Unfit, uncool…totally awkward! But when he wakes up on his tenth birthday, he discovers he is a NINJA! THE LAST NINJA ON EARTH! How is he going to save the world when […]

The Legend of Kevin

Max is a young boy living in an ordinary tower block. He longs for adventure in his life – then one day – DOOF! – a flying pony called Kevin crashes into his flat, blown in by a magical storm! The storm causes a huge flood and soon Max’s town submerged by water. Luckily for […]

Spynosaur

An action-packed comic series from best-selling author Guy Bass, perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero, The Astounding Broccoli Boy and Astrosaurs Top spy-entists put the mind of a secret agent inside the body of a dinosaur to create the first ever Super Secret Agent Dinosaur. His codename: Spynosaur. Together with his daughter […]

Space Detectives

Dog lost in space? Grown an extra head and don’t know why? Pocket money stolen by a green blob? You need the Space Detectives! Connor and Ethan are spending their summer holidays aboard the world’s first orbiting city, Starville (basically Beverley Hills in space!). The amazing space station is bursting with celebrities and the mega-rich. […]

The 13 Storey Treehouse

The 13-Storey Treehouse is the first book in Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton’s wacky treehouse adventures, where the laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations. Andy and Terry live in the WORLD’S BEST treehouse! It’s got a giant catapult, a secret underground laboratory, a tank of man-eating sharks and […]

Dog Man

Dog Man

Howl with laughter with the FIRST book in the hilarious full-colour illustrated series, Dog Man, from the creator of Captain Underpants! George and Harold (the co-stars of the enormously popular Captain Underpants series) are in big trouble again! George and Harold have created a new breed of justice — one that is part dog, part […]

Hilda and the Troll

hilda and the troll

Hilda can never sit still for long without setting off on another adventure. She can’t resist exploring her enchanting worlda place where trolls walk, crows speak, and mountains move. The magic and folklore of the wild, windswept North come alive in this book about an adventurous little girl and her habit of befriending anything, no […]

Nellie Choc-Ice, Penguin Explorer

Plucky young penguin Nellie Choc-Ice goes on an epic adventure when her iceberg floats off to the North Pole. Nellie needs all her wits about her to outsmart a steady stream of hungry creatures who reckon she looks like a tasty treat. Will Nellie ever find her way home? High quality cream paper and a […]

Bad Nana: Older Not Wiser

A wickedly funny new series for ages six and up from the creator of Where Bear? , Pass It On and the Pom Pom series, with colour illustrations throughout. Jeanie’s Grandma is BAD. Not bad like a vampire or a gangster or anything, more like . . . up to no good. Sometimes she can […]

The Accidental Rock Star

It should never have happened, but somehow-with the aid of a recorder, keyboard, and very disturbed cat-Hector and Ollie have made a hit single. And now everybody wants a piece of them. They may have always dreamed of fame, but is life on tour all it’s cracked up to be? Follow a rollercoaster of rock […]