Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Topic: Reluctant Readers Lower KS2

Best Books for Reluctant Readers Aged 7-9 (Year 3 & Year 4)

There’s great joy in finding the right book for the right child, but the journey to getting to that point can sometimes be a tricky one. Some children naturally choose books and find it easy to navigate the world of reading for pleasure. Others need a little more encouragement to feel at home in the world of reading and we are often asked to recommend books for reluctant readers in Years 3 and 4 (ages 7-9), either for those who are less confident with reading or for children who have simply not yet caught the ‘reading bug’.

Try offering titles with a high image-to-text ratio like the popular The Bad Guys series or The 13-Storey Tree House books, offering an instant reading experience that appeals to visual learners. We also recommend that you explore books with high-interest themes like Salah Rules or Space Detectives, addressing hobbies and interests that are likely to captivate readers seeking meaningful reads. For those drawn to real-life stories and relatable worlds that create an easy connection between the reader and the narrative, try The Beach Puppy or Ellie and the Cat. For those who find reading boring, why not introduce a good dose of humour through Rabbit and Bear or Dog Man?

Which books are best for hooking in children who don’t feel interested in reading? We’ve put together a list of some of the best books for reluctant readers in lower KS2…

Chapter book

Meet Toto: she’s no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait to have an adventure with you! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law.

Toto the cat and her brother Silver live footloose and fancy-free in a townhouse in London. Toto is almost totally blind, and learned to trust her senses from a ninja cat-master who taught her back in Italy where they were born. By day, Toto and Silver seem to be ordinary cats, but by night, they love to have adventures!

One evening, news reaches Toto that a king cobra has escaped from London Zoo! Together with help from a very posh cat and two hungry tigers, Toto and Silver must investigate. Can they find the giant snake, before it’s too late?

Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids!

Chapter book

Here comes trouble!

Daisy is usually happy with her strawberry Dip Dab lollies or Crunchy Cream biscuits, but when Easter comes round, it’s all about chocolate.

And the trouble with chocolate is, it’s TOO DELICIOUS. So when Daisy’s mum tells her they’re going to Chocolate Land as a special treat, she is REALLY excited!

PLUS she has been chosen to look after the class hamsters, Pickle and Pops! This could be the best Easter ever.

But the trouble with hamsters and chocolate is , the two shouldn’t mix…

Graphic Novel

They’re Alligators – and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man.

Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T. and scourge of supervillains everywhere!

With their Very Exciting Spy Technology and their tried-and-true, toilet-based travel techniques, the InvestiGators are undercover and on the case! And on their first mission together, they have not one but two mysteries to solve!

Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks? Or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp?

Graphic Novel

Owly is a good-natured little owl, and he’s always helping those around him. But despite his kindness, he seems to frighten would-be friends away before they even give him a chance, just because he’s an owl. That all changes, though, once Owly meets Wormy. Like Owly, Wormy is in need of a good friend, too — someone who can be counted on for a helping hand, a good laugh, and a great adventure!Through a unique blend of words and symbols, Owly can be read by the youngest readers, and is a great introduction to graphic novels!

Chapter book

Ridiculous injuries … strange illnesses … cancelled games … Everything’s going wrong for the Saints this season, and Stanley’s team-mates believe they finally know why. Their football kit is cursed! But the team’s attempts to break the curse take things from bad to worse. Soon, they’re ready to call it quits. Stanley’s still got some tricks up his sleeve … but will his curse-cracking ideas save the team in time for the last game of the season?

Chapter book

Ellie is the rudest, most spoilt child her grandma has ever met and it’s time that she learnt a lesson! So with a little bit of magic and some help from Jolly the cat, Grandma’s going to make sure that Ellie changes her ways. Can Ellie work hard to prove that she can be good? Or is she destined to spend the rest of her days trapped in the body of a mean old cat? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+.

Chapter book

When a tiny silver dragon is chased out of Patrick’s storybook by an equally tiny knight, all sorts of mayhem breaks loose! Soon moonshine magic has shrunk Patrick too, and he is forced to hole up inside his toy castle as the knight attacks the ‘fire worm’. Can Patrick defeat the knight and make it to morning? High quality cream paper and a special easy to read font ensure a smooth read for all.

Chapter book

It’s Halloween night and the streets are full of witches, ghouls and tricks – but the biggest surprise of all falls from the sky into Ali’s treat bucket. It’s a cat … It’s Magicat! Knocked off his witch’s broom by a rogue firework, Magicat is stuck far from his home in Magic Land – and now he has to wait, disguised as a normal cat, for Wenna Witch to come and get him! Luckily Jessie and Ali are here to help him out … but while they wait, what could be the harm in letting Magicat do just a little bit of magic? Friendships and felines make for a magical mix in this adorable adventure particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+.

Chapter book

Meet Marge, the mischievous babysitter with rainbow hair who loves to make a mess and bend the rules . . . At dinnertime Chef Marge cooks up chocolate soup, and at school Marge the Muscian conducts a chaotic concert in the playground!

Jake and Jemima have brilliant fun with their new babysitter, but will they manage to tick off all the jobs on Mummy’s list?

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments