Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Topic: PSHE, Citizenship & Emotional Literacy

Best Children’s Books about Different Types of Families 

Families come in all shapes and sizes! Our All Different Families booklist is designed for anyone seeking to promote diversity and inclusion in their personal or school settings, including parents, teachers, and those looking for personal development.

This varied booklist of picturebooks and chapter books includes relatable stories representing children from a whole variety of family structures, as well as books that will help all children to encounter and understand a range of family types that may not look like their own.

From stories of foster families like The Star Outside my Window and The House with a Dragon in it, to families featuring same-sex parents like Who’s Your Real Mum and My Daddies, there’s something for all primary ages on this booklist.

Hearing Loss and Deafness Booklist

Our hearing loss booklist is designed for anyone seeking to promote diversity and inclusion in their personal or school settings, including parents, teachers, and those looking for personal development.

This varied booklist of picturebooks, chapter books and graphic novels includes relatable stories for children with hearing loss, as well as books that help all children to understand what it is like for deaf and hearing impaired people to navigate a world that isn’t always designed with them in mind.

From the inspiring real-life story of deaf musician Evelyn Glennie to the moving story of sudden hearing impairment in Stewart Foster’s chapter book Can You Feel the Noise?, there’s something for all primary ages on this booklist.

Best Children’s Books about Enterprise, Business and Money

Browse our booklist of recommended children’s books about Enterprise.

From stories about bright young entrepreneurs like in Felix Unlimited or Beauty and the Bin to information books about the world of business or finance like Why Money Matters, our booklist aims to feature recommended children’s books about enterprise, business and money.

Richly illustrated fact books introduce key concepts and terms in an engaging and accessible way, while relatable stories of enterprise and biographies of real-life business figures really bring the Enterprise topic to life. 

Why not get to business and dive right in? You never know, it might spark an idea for your next big venture!

Autism Awareness Booklist

Browse our booklist of recommended children’s books that foster awareness and understanding of autism. Our selection of books offers a range of perspectives on neurodiversity, exploring different experiences of autism including personal accounts and experiences of supporting family and friends. Books and stories can play an important role in raising awareness and promoting understanding towards autistic individuals as well as celebrating their strengths and talents and allowing children with autism to be represented in stories written by authors with similar experiences.

Our booklist is designed for anyone seeking to promote diversity and inclusion in their personal or school settings, including parents, teachers, and those looking for personal development. This varied booklist of picturebooks, chapter books and graphic novels includes relatable stories for autistic children, as well as books that help all children to understand what it is like for autistic people to navigate a world that isn’t always designed with them in mind and stories designed to celebrate neurodiversity.

Poetry

This is How the Change Begins is a collection of six illuminating poems inspired by the growing threat of climate change. From a consideration of our carbon footprints by way of Islamic mathematician Alhazen, the impact shifting weather conditions are having and will continue to have on our events and celebrations and the choices we have to make to turn the tide, these remarkable poems brilliantly confront the recognisable realities of the climate crisis with bold and lyrical language. Including background notes on the themes behind them, each poem has been typographically designed and arranged to best communicate these essential messages.

Poetry

A sea-born creature, who never quite belongs, discovers who she really is, in this powerful illustrated song about metamorphosis and finding your true home.

Writer Jay Hulme’s ‘little epic poem’ is a tender and uplifting parable about the transgender experience, with breathtaking illustrations by Iranian-British illustrator Sahar Haghgoo. For young readers age 5 and up.

Here Be Monsters is part of the 10 Stories to Make a Difference collection: ten original illustrated stories for young readers, all inspired by the theme of Difference. The collection features a mix of well-known and emerging writers and illustrators, giving a platform to untold stories and diverse new voices. Proceeds from sales supports Pop Up’s work in deprived schools, marginalised communities, and with talented aspiring and emerging writers and illustrators.

Poetry

This is a book of poetry for everyone.

Inside is a treasure trove of writing celebrating courage and empowerment. Read the poems aloud or curl up with them in a quiet corner. Begin your journey into a lifelong love of poetry.

Inspire young minds with this beautiful poetry anthology that encourages children to take joy in their identities. From body positivity and facing fear to celebrating heritage and individuality, a variety of contemporary poets will take readers on a journey through the different ways we can feel empowered. Vibrant and mesmerising artwork emphasises the beauty found in courage and being ourselves. This is the perfect book to instil a love of poetry, this title features work from a wide range of voices and illustrators who bring their unique perspectives to the topic of empowerment.

Poetry

Bake a weird cake, join the School for Ghouls, and mind you don’t step on the wardrobe monkeys! Anything is possible in the world of Cloud Soup, an endlessly delightful and breathlessly imaginative collection of poems by Kate Wakeling.

Chapter book

Ed Clayton is a liar. It started when his dad went to prison and now he can’t seem to stop. When his younger brother, Sam, goes missing one day, nobody believes Ed when he says he can’t remember what happened.

He’s used to going without, but living without his brother is impossible. With the police and press asking questions and friends turning against the family, Ed is left trying to find Sam with only the help of his new neighbour, Fallon.

When the two stumble on a secret that even Ed could never have imagined, it’s up to the liar to uncover the truth . . .

A sensitive and engaging fourth novel about brotherhood, hardship and being yourself from the multi-award-winning author, Kim Slater.

Chapter book

A thrilling and empowering WWII adventure about the French resistance and their British allies, with a determined, Muslim heroine. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Emma Carroll, and those looking for diverse historical fiction.

July, 1941. Rosina Raja is half-Indian and half-English. She has always lived in India, so when her mother passes away and she moves to England (where it rains all the time) she is miserable and doesn’t have any friends. Life changes dramatically for Rosie when she discovers that her army captain father is actually a spy for the British government. She can’t bear to be left behind so she stows away in his plane.

Finding herself in occupied France, Rosie is soon drawn into the struggle against the Nazis. With new allies and new enemies at every turn, she must help her father complete his mission, and more importantly… make sure they both get home alive.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments