Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Topic: Primary Poetry

Primary Poetry Booklist

On this booklist, we have picked a selection of poetry suitable for primary school classrooms. Scroll down to find the best children’s poetry collections recommended for EYFS, KS1 and KS2.

Poetry

Join all your favourite dinosaurs in this colourful, rhyming picture book, from the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can’t Dance!

Silly Diplodocus, fierce T-Rex, Brontosaurus, Stegosaurus and more… They’re all here in this bright , bold book! With a short lively rhyme on each page, fun facts and colourful pictures (plus handy pronunciation guides) this is perfect for young dinosaur fans everywhere.

Poetry

From armadillos, flamingos and umbrella birds to quokkas and iguanas, Elli Woollard presents a lovely collection of poems for younger children about pets which are just a little bit peculiar…

Filled with fun rhymes, quirky black-and-white illustrations and exotic animals, this book is perfect for reading aloud. Some poems are hilarious, some are gruesome and some will make you want to wash your hair, but there’s sure to be a pet poem here for every child and adult alike. With a poem for every letter of the alphabet and tips for children writing their own rhymes, this is the perfect book for budding young poets aged 3+.

Poetry

Crazy Mayonnaisy Mum is packed with all sorts of poems and rhymes including a sequence of number rhymes, action rhymes, noisy rhymes and more thoughtful pieces too.

If tigerlilies and dandelions growled,
And cowslips mooed, and dogroses howled,
And snapdragons roared and catmint miaowed,
My garden would be extremely loud.

Crazy Mayonnaisy Mum is a fantastic collection of funny, silly and entertaining poems for the very young from acknowledged master of rhyme and author of The Gruffalo , Julia Donaldson.

Poetry

From acrostics and riddles to kennings and paradiddles, this is a fun anthology of puzzling poems which also encourages children to have a go at writing poetry themselves. I am a Jigsaw is perfect for teachers who want to introduce different forms of poetry to pupils, and ideal for parents looking to entertain their children at home with puzzles and riddles.

Including puzzle poems ranging from easy to difficult, different poem styles and lots of humour, join Roger Stevens as he helps young readers crack the codes and learn to write their own puzzling poems that will baffle even the greatest mind.

Poetry

Shortlisted for the Laugh Out Loud Awards – the UK’s only prize for funny children’s books.

Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with a few serious ones mixed in) this brilliant collection from exciting young poet, Joshua Seigal is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen and anyone else who needs a giggle. If you like poetry, you’ll like this book. And if you don’t like poetry you’ll LOVE it!

Poetry

Blast off into space and explore the galaxies with a constellation of illustrated poems about the sun, moon and stars, black holes and worm holes, asteroids and meteorites, and even weird alien life forms.

From shape poems and free verse to rhymes, kennings and haikus, Spaced Out will take you on an intergalactic adventure. Join Brian Moses and James Carter and a wealth of new and established poets to discover your inner space cadet!

This starry collection is the perfect way to get children interested in poetry.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments