Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Mountains & Volcanoes

Chapter book

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we’d live here forever … but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby’s dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home – not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up.

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them – if she can only overcome her fears…

Non-fiction

Discover a world of amazing facts and information with Fact Planet!

Learn about volcanoes and find out how they form, where they are most likely to be and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.

Fact Planet is a lively, information-filled geography series, packed full of colourful illustrations, clear explanations and fun quizzes to test your knowledge. The eye-catching flat illustrations combined with occasional photos bring geography and environmental issues to life.

Other topics covered in this series are earthquakes, mountains, pollution, rivers and coasts, animals at risk, settlements and Earth’s resources.

Perfect for the geography curriculum at KS2, this series is suitable for children aged 7 and up.

Non-fiction

Take a hike through alpine landscapes and snowy mountain peaks and discover Earth’s diverse and delicate ecosystems.

From the mighty Himalayas to the majestic Rockies , this book will take you on an amazing journey into the world of mountains. See the different flora and fauna , learn about the diverse range of species and understand the importance of maintaining these beautiful, natural habitats.

This lyrical picture book shines a light on our planet’s fragile mountain ecosystems, from the Himalayan jumping spider to stealthy snow leopard, gently covering important topics such as global warming and the impact of humans on the natural world. An author’s note, world map and ‘Find Out More’ section in the back pages will inspire readers to learn more about the world around them

Immersive illustrations are complemented by imaginative, evocative text, making this an ideal book for adult and child to read together, or for young readers to explore independently.

Running through the book are themes of the interdependency of the species, the food web, and the importance of maintaining the delicate balance between creatures in mountain habitats around the world.

Picturebook

In this beautifully illustrated picture book from Lara Hawthorne, a mysterious creature from a secluded volcano crater explores the outside world for the very first time . . . but is it not what he expects it to be! Will his adventure teach him there is no place like home?

Ratty lives deep inside the crater of an ancient volcano nestled in the rainforest. One day, he spies a particularly delicious-looking fruit high in the treetops, and sets out to reach it. From this high vantage point a spectacular view stretches before him – the world outside his mountain crater. In this big outside world, Ratty imagines, the fruit must be much sweeter, the bird songs more beautiful and the other animals far more interesting and sophisticated, and so he sets off in search of better things. But when is he is asked to attend a dinner party by a crocodile who seems just a bit too friendly, Ratty realises that perhaps there is no place like home after all.

Inspired by the recent scientific breakthroughs of Mount Bosavi, in which over 40 new species of animals and plants were identified, Lara Hawthorne seamlessly combines story and fact in this picture book which celebrates the diversity of life, even in extreme habitats.

Non-fiction

Explore ten of the world’s most awesome mountain ranges!

From the Rockies to the the Great Dividing Range, discover some of the most famous and important mountain ranges on the planet. Zoom in on their most interesting features, with the help of engaging artwork and key information. Each mountian range ‘profile’ is accompanied by unique illustrations and clear photos.

The World Feature Focus series brings a fresh perspective to the world’s most significant elements and landforms. With artwork that emphasises the otherworldliness and beauty that exists within the make-up of Earth, children aged 7 upwards will be equally entranced and informed about the world’s geography.

Chapter book

Michael Morpurgo is a master storyteller, former Children’s Laureate and multi-award winner. This is a fresh reissue of a much-loved story with a beautiful new cover. Escaping from China as the Japanese invade, Ashley and Uncle Sung embark on a perilous journey across the Himalayas.

Then Ashley finds himself alone in the hostile mountains, battling for his life. He is just about to give up all hope, when he has a mysterious and terrifying encounter.

Non-fiction

Journey to the highest peaks and plateaus of planet Earth…but make sure to bring your climbing gear! Take a closer look at the mountains of the world, from the Alps to the Andes to the peaks of the Himalayas. Meet the animals and people who make their homes on rocky peaks, as well as the adventurers and athletes who challenge these great heights. This richly illustrated book is packed with history and facts about the mountains of the world and all their wonders.

Chapter book

A classic from beloved author Eva Ibbotson – now with a brand-new cover from Jamie Littler. How do you smuggle a family of yetis from Tibet to England?

When Agatha Farlingham is kidnapped by a yeti on a mountain in Tibet, she soon discovers that the hairy monster is clever and noble. His children are in danger from the modern world and he needs her help. She sends them on a top-secret journey to England and the safety of her ancestral home. But first she must teach them some manners. . .

A rollicking adventure from the extraordinary imagination of one of Britain’s most beloved storytellers.

Non-fiction

Packed with facts and tantalising anecdotes from experts and bursting with colour photographs, learn all about volcanoes and earthquakes in this fresh take on the subject that kids with love.

It’s time to learn everything about volcanoes and earthquakes!

Each book in the National Geographic Kids Everything series has more than 100 pictures, an explorer’s corner with from-the-field anecdotes and tips, fun facts throughout, maps and infographics, an illustrated diagram, a photo gallery, cool comparisons, a behind-the-scenes photograph, an interactive glossary, and more.

Non-fiction

Do you know how tall the tallest mountain on Earth is? Or how deep the deepest ocean goes? Do you know which creature was the largest to ever live? Or how old the oldest tree is?

Learn all this and more in this exquisite book of comparisons. Page Tsou’s extraordinarily detailed illustrations have a lithograph aesthetic that is at once vintage and contemporary.

A gorgeous Big Picture Press title that will fill readers with wonder at the world we live in.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments