Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home

Topic: Celebrating Science

Celebrating Science Booklist

We’ve put together a list of our top recommended children’s books that celebrate science! We have hand-picked the best children’s science books that examine key concepts from biology, chemistry and physics – as well as stories that explore scientific thinking and shine a spotlight on famous (and not-so-famous) scientists.

Non-fiction

What is the space station and how did it get into space? How do astronauts get there and what do they do once they’re there? How do astronauts eat, sleep, or even breathe, in space? What effect does living in space have on the human body, from making you taller to losing your muscles because of zero gravity. If everything floats, then how can you go to the toilet and where does your wee and poo go? Uncover all of the answers and more in this beautifully illustrated and fun book for children. Find out what it takes to become an astronaut and about the essential science experiments that are being carried out there.

Written to inspire a new generation of astronauts, Clive’s detailed and fact-filled text will make you think you’ve visited the space station yourself. Fully illustrated by self-confessed space geek illustrator, Dan Schlitzkus, the illustrations are technically accurate and provide true representations of the mechanics, modules and equipment on board the ISS.

Non-fiction

The olden days were pretty fun if you liked wearing chainmail or chopping people’s heads off but there was one TINY LITTLE problem back then . . . doctors didn’t have the slightest clue about how our bodies worked.

It’s time to find out why Ancient Egyptians thought the brain was just a useless load of old stuffing that might as well be chucked in the bin, why teachers forced their pupils to smoke cigarettes, why hairdressers would cut off their customers’ legs, and why people used to get paid for farting. (Unfortunately that’s no longer a thing – sorry.)

You’ll get answers to questions like:
Why did patients gargle with wee?
How did a doctor save people’s lives using a washing machine, a can of beans and some old sausages?
What was the great stink? (No, it’s not what doctors call your bum.)

If you’re sure you’re ready, then pop a peg on your nose (there was a lot of stinky pus back then), pull on your wellies (there was a lot of poo there too), wash your hands (because they certainly didn’t) and explore this gross and gruesome history of the human body!

Non-fiction

A stunning collection of the world’s most important discoveries for all the family to enjoy.

In the stylish miscellany, print-maker James Brown travels through the past and present, showing the amazing breakthroughs in science and technology that have changed our lives for ever. Discover fascinating facts and figures about space travel, the human body, time, the computer and much more with Brown’s bold, bright colours and beautiful contemporary designs. Each illustration is presented alongside an engaging fact-filled explanation by celebrated author Richard Platt. Covering more than 30 diverse and fascinating topics, this is the perfect book for the whole family to enjoy.

Non-fiction

This book introduces children ages 7-9 to the amazing science of DNA, genetics, and what makes you you.

It’s inside every living plant and animal, from the tiniest seed to the person standing next to you, but how much do you know about DNA? This book gives children an in-depth look at DNA and its role in all living things–from why we have different-colored eyes to why we age. Discover what DNA is, what it does, and how it shapes our lives, including inheritance and why we look like our parents; forensic science and how DNA evidence helps catch criminals; and genetic engineering and if we could bring dinosaurs back to life. With fun illustrated DNA characters, clear diagrams, and astonishing photographs, children will love learning about themselves and this all-important molecule.

The DNA Book is packed with colorful illustrations and mind-boggling facts, perfect for curious young minds. It’s a great addition to any STEAM library and decodes how DNA underpins life on Earth.

Non-fiction

Explore the wonders of Earth and see how geology is all around us, from natures materials that are used to build roads and buildings to the minerals found in your mobile phone and drinks can. Witness a volcanic eruption, find out if there is water on Mars, unearth a dinosaur and meet the geologists and scientists who brought geology to life. Readers can also carry out geology experiments at home.

With easy-to-understand text written by Emily Dodd, fun callouts and lots of colourful artworks, photos, and diagrams, readers can best explore where we encounter geology and why it’s even important at all.

Non-fiction

Our planet is full of life! Did you know there are 400,000 species of beetle – but only eight species of bear? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of the natural world and profiles some of its most surprising creatures.

A glorious celebration of diversity within the Animal Kingdom by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie.

There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world’s biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.

Non-fiction

The biggest scientific breakthroughs in history have something in common: super smart people who kept looking for the answers to some of the world’s most interesting questions! The pages of this science book are filled with the stories of famous scientists such as physicists Neil DeGrasse Tyson and Stephen Hawking, biologist Marie Curie, palaeontologist Mary Anning and lesser-known trailblazers such as Chika Kuroda, who became Japan’s first female Bachelor of Science.

Filled with great detail and following a storytelling format, this is a thrilling book that will capture the imagination of young children and encourage them to explore the world of science. Beautiful descriptions of the scientists’ lives are brought to life through stunning watercolour illustrations and fantastic photography highlights the detail of their discoveries.

Non-fiction

Everything in the Universe is made up of just 118 chemical elements, all of which are listed in the Periodic Table. Lift the flaps in this informative book and discover which elements are crucial to life, which are smelly, explosive or radioactive and lots more. An essential introduction to the building blocks of chemistry, with over 125 flaps.

Chapter book

A brilliantly original, fast-paced and funny debut novel – perfect for fans of Roald Dahl!

When Alice Dent gets a cold, she has no idea how much trouble it’s about to cause. Because this is no ordinary cold: it comes with some seriously weird side-effects. For a start, Alice can’t stop giggling and every animal she meets sticks to her like glue!

But when the mysterious Best Minister for Everything Nicely Perfect and his scary masked henchmen come to take her away, Alice realizes her troubles are only just beginning …

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments