Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Books of the Month - Jan 2018

Picturebook

An enchanting bedtime story for toddlers, perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ How To Catch a Star.

Up high, in the dark, dark sky … a message: LOST, ONE SMALL STAR.

When a little boy stumbles across a special star, he puts it in a jar and takes it on adventures. Together with his big sister, he takes his special treasure with him everywhere – to the cinema, to the swimming pool and even to the toilet!

But the poor star is sad and misses its home … Can the little boy and his big sister find a way to send the star safely back?

Sarah Massini’s artwork glows with warmth and humour and perfectly captures the friendship between the two siblings in this warm-hearted bedtime book. Told from the perspective of the big sister, this is the perfect picture book for siblings to share and read together. The short text and warm tone is ideal for toddlers aged 2 years and up.

Picturebook

A laugh-out-loud funny new children’s book from the author of The Day the Crayons Quit. The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors reveals the epic tale behind everyone’s favourite playground game!

You’ve played the game…now read the book.

Long ago in the Kingdom of Backgarden lived a fearsome warrior named ROCK. ROCK was undefeated in battle, and yet, he felt unfulfilled. So he went in search of a worthy opponent. Little did he know that at that very moment two more warriors were setting forth with the very same idea. When ROCK collides with SCISSORS from the village of Junk Drawer, and the ferocious PAPER, who hails from the Empire of Mum’s Study, an epic and hilarious battle ensues. And the rest, as they say, is history.

A riotously funny new picture book from the author of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons came Home, Drew Daywalt, and New York Times bestselling illustrator, Adam Rex. Suggested reading age 4+

Chapter book

The second read-in-one-sitting mystery from the bestselling author of The Goldfish Boy, one of 2017’s biggest children’s books.

Nate and his mother are running away, hiding out in a tumbledown cottage in the middle of a forest.

When Mum heads off for provisions, and then doesn’t return, Nate is left alone and afraid, with the dark closing in all around him.

But comfort can come from the most unexpected of places – a mysterious girl trying to solve the clues of a treasure hunt and the reappearance of an old friend from his past.

Will Nate find the bravery needed to face the troubles of his present and ultimately illuminate the future?

A story of fear and hope, loneliness and friendship. A genuinely gasp-out-loud twist. A page-turning, twisty mystery with characters to root for.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments