Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Topic: Books of the Month - Apr 2022

Picturebook

A mammoth NEW picture book from the award-winning Kim Hillyard!

One peaceful Tuesday morning, a loud CRACK could be heard as the last mammoth on earth broke free from her icy shell – here comes Gretel the Wonder Mammoth! Everyone is so excited to meet her but as she settles into her new life, Gretel starts to feel a little overwhelmed and even a bit lonely…

This positive, encouraging picture book teaches young readers that perhaps the bravest act a person (or mammoth!) can do is ask for help .

Gretel the Wonder Mammoth is a perfect bedtime read for fans of Rob Biddulph, Rachel Bright and Jim Field.

Non-fiction

Journey through the skies with this beautifully illustrated bird book for children!

Parrots, hummingbirds, eagles and more, swoop across the pages of this colorful bird book, featuring illustrations and photographs to immerse young nature enthusiasts in the extraordinary world of
birds.

Discover the surprising homes, relationships, and habitats of our feathered friends, and learn about how we can protect the wonderful bird world.

Within its pages, you will find:

-Fascinating and detailed information about birds, making it a perfect classroom read
-A glossary of bird terminology and full list of national birds
-Detailed illustrations and photographs of all things bird – beaks, feathers, nests, eggs, habitats and more!
-Fun and surprising facts that will make you want to learn more

Discover the wondrous world of birds!

Also known as the Urban Birder, author David Lindo’s engaging text will show children just how amazing birds are, what they do for our planet, and how we can help to protect birds and their natural habitats. This book shows that birding can be accessible to all, inspiring even city-dwellers to engage with birds in urban environments.

Accompanied by enchanting illustrations of bird families including gamebirds, flightless birds, and perching birds, are amazing facts about how birds talk to each other, what they eat, and how they are able to fly.

From frozen ice-scapes to sweltering deserts, from prehistoric ancestors to amazing adaptations, explore the surprising homes, relationships, and habits of our feathered friends.

For the bird watchers of the future, this is the perfect bird identification book for kids to encourage their interest in the animal planet, and learn how to conserve it.

Explore the natural world in its entirety!

The Extraordinary World of Birds is the most recent title in the breathtaking series that contains The Magic and Mystery of Trees, The Book of Brilliant Bugs, and Earth’s Incredible Oceans.

Chapter book

This funny, poignant, uplifting story about lockdown celebrates how – sometimes – just keeping on going makes you a hero.

Chapter book

The hugely-anticipated, brand-new fairytale adventure from Sophie Anderson, the bestselling author of The House with Chicken Legs.

The Island of Morovia is shaped like a broken heart. The humans live on one side of the island, and the alkonosts – the bird-people – live on the other. But it wasn’t always this way…

Linnet wishes she could sing magic. But magic is forbidden and she has been banished with her father to the Mournful Swamp. She misses her old life, and dreams of reuniting with her friends.

When her father is captured for taking a precious jewel, Linnet must set out on a treacherous journey. Travelling through alligator pools and sinking sands with new friends, she learns how to be brave, and discovers something even more powerful than singing magic. Something that could save her father, and heal the broken heart of her island once more…

With themes of grief, trust, love, and that we have more in common than that which divides us, this is a heartfelt book filled with adventure and stunning storytelling from bestselling Sophie Anderson.

Chapter book

From the bestselling and award-winning A.M. Howell, author of The Garden of Lost Secrets and The House of One Hundred Clocks, comes a brand-new thrilling historical mystery of stolen treasure, friendship and deep courage set in the immediate aftermath of the Second World War.

February 1948.

Ruth has been whisked off to the lonely Rook Farm to investigate the discovery of long-buried treasure with her mother. But at the farmhouse, she finds secrets lurk around every corner. Joe, the farmer’s son, is hiding something about the treasure, while land girl Audrey watches their every move.

But before Ruth can find out more, the treasure is stolen… With a storm coming, Ruth must race to uncover the secrets of the treasure keepers before all of their lives are changed forever.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments