Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd

Chapter book

Three kids face shipwrecks, survival and pirates in the latest adventure from bestselling and award-winning author Jenny Pearson.

Sebastian Sunrise and his two best friends, Lina and Étienne, are in a bit of trouble. They are stranded on a desert island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, after a rowing race went very, very wrong.

The friends have no idea how long they might have to stay on the island, so they make a plan. They will try to survive, look after the island’s baby turtles, and have fun, if they can.

But Sebastian’s life has never gone to plan, and they quickly face jellyfish stings, burnt bums and an out-of-control goat. But when a boat arrives, bringing pirates who want to hunt the island’s baby turtles, the friends face their greatest danger yet…

Chapter book

Are you brave enough to join the Wanderdays in their first thrilling adventure? They’re off on an edge-of-your-seat underwater quest to find out what’s really happening on the secret Fantome Island.

Meet Flo and Joseph Wanderday.

Their mum is one of the world’s greatest explorers, but she’s gone missing on her latest expedition. When a mysterious stranger appears, they discover the sinister reason for Mum’s trip.

This was no ordinary expedition and Mum was trying to uncover crimes committed by Sir Frederick Titan, a much-loved TV presenter who claims to be a protector of the natural world.

Flo, Joseph and their friends Funmi and Isaac find a map and follow clues taking them to a secret island to save Mum and expose Titan’s fishy plans…

An exciting watery adventure packed with brilliant baddies, bravery, friendship and real passion for protecting the natural world.

Chapter book

Fun, fast-paced, high-octane action adventure, 21% Monster is a perfect page-turning new series for fans of Alex Rider, Percy Jackson and the MCU generation.

When Darren Devlin is arrested for destroying his school with his bare hands, it’s not just the police who are after him. Enter Marek Masters, 14 years old, 19% alien, and the most intelligent, most wanted “almost human” alive. Marek is here to tell Darren the truth – he is 21% monster, and together they must take down the secret organisation that created them.

Darren and Marek are wanted, powerful and dangerous. And now it’s payback time.

Chapter book

Meet Izzy the Inventor in the first of a laugh-out-loud series that brings together science, magic and a very lovable unicorn. Packed full of illustrations and easy-to-read text, this series is perfect for beginner readers and fans of Isadora Moon and The Naughtiest Unicorn.

Izzy the Inventor LOVES science and does NOT believe in magic. That is until the day her Fairy Godmother appears and sends her to Fairytale Land to rescue Prince Charming from the Mountain of Doom, with an enthusiastic unicorn as her guide. To succeed, Izzy must use her science skills to outwit trolls, goblins and a bottomless lake of despair. But her quest will also teach her about the power of friendship and that we all need a little magic in our lives…

Every book contains ideas for science experiments and a QR code with links for more to try at home.
Coming soon:
Izzy the Inventor and the Curse of Doom
Izzy the Inventor and the Time Travelling Gnome

Chapter book

Meet Izzy the Inventor in a laugh-out-loud series that brings together science, magic and a very lovable unicorn. Packed full of illustrations and easy-to-read text, this series is perfect for beginner readers and fans of Isadora Moon and The Naughtiest Unicorn.

Izzy the Inventor is back in Fairytale Land and this time she must rescue a prince from a wicked fairy’s curse. If she fails, he’ll vanish! With the help of Henry the unicorn, Izzy needs to work out how to make it snow in summer, create an exploding volcano and a contraption to help Henry fly. But can Izzy’s science skills stand up to an enormous dragon?

Chapter book

A fresh, funny story about white lies, brutal honesty and a bangle with special powers, from award-winning journalist and author Radhika Sanghani.

Priya Shah lies. A lot. She pretends everything in her life is perfect, so she doesn’t disappoint anyone.

But when she puts on a bangle left to her by her Ba – the one person she was always honest with – she finds herself unable to tell a lie.

Priya is mortified. She tells her dad she hates his cooking, she tells Dan Zhang about her huge crush on him, she shares her best friends’ secrets at school. She can’t get the bangle off, and she can’t stop the truths pouring out of her.

As more things go wrong, and Priya’s truth-telling spirals out of control, can Priya learn to be honest without hurting the people she loves?

Chapter book

Welcome to Shadowhall Academy, where spirits haunt the school halls. A brilliantly spooky new series from the author of Aveline Jones.

I heard a tapping noise, right by my head. Like there was someone in the wall trying to get my attention…

When Lilian Jones starts at creepy, cold and bewilderingly large Shadowhall Academy, she’s nervous about making friends. And when her roommates tell her the school is haunted, she thinks they’re just trying to scare the new girl.

But then bizarre things start happening – tapping and whispers in the walls at night, tales of missing students and strange figures in the woods.

Lilian discovers that not only are the school ghost stories true, but her new friends could be in danger. So she sets out to uncover the secrets of Shadowhall Academy, whatever it takes.

Non-fiction

With simple, direct questions, thoughtful, compassionate answers and stunning illustrations by the Ukrainian artist Oksana Drachkovska, this book explores what it really means to be a refugee. Written with advice from the Refugee Council and drawing on conversations with refugees and aid workers from around the world, the questions cover all stages of a refugee’s journey, from fleeing danger and embarking on hazardous journeys, to seeking asylum and struggling to find a new place to call home. The language and scenes have been carefully considered to be appropriate for younger children, providing an extremely useful educational tool for families and schools.

Non-fiction

This book will delight anyone who loves horses, from complete beginners to experienced riders. With stunning photography and detailed illustrations it describes everything from tacking up and mounting to what to do when a horse bolts, preparing for a country ride or a three-day event. Includes links to websites with more riding tips and advice.

Picturebook

An inviting feast of festivals, from well-known celebrations, such as Christmas, Hannukah, Eid and Diwali, to more surprising events such as the Woolly Worm Caterpillar Race and the Hungry Ghosts’ Feast. Young children can dip in at any page and feel all the fun of the celebration, while learning about different cultures and traditions.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments