Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Templar Publishing

Non-fiction

A stunningly illustrated tribute to all things aeroplane, Aviation celebrates the ingenuity of aeroplanes, biplanes, monoplanes and helicopters past, present and future.

From the first hot air balloon flight by the Montgolfier brothers, through to the the legendary Wright Flyer and the revolutionary Concorde, this beautifully illustrated book by the award-winning artist Dieter Braun is the perfect gift for lovers of all things plane.

Picturebook

Have you found the spaces in between? The secret places no one else has been? This beautiful picture book celebrates themes of anxiety and kindness by exploring the hidden places to be found in a busy city.

Traffic! Road works! Ambulances! Where do you go when the hustle and bustle of the city gets too much? The Spaces In Between follows one little girl and her father, as they seek out the secret spaces where they can go to find peace and quiet.

With themes of anxiety, fear, kindness and joy, explore how children can find ways of coping with noisy, busy spaces. From the warm embrace of a loved one, finding joy by splashing through puddles, and feeling the crunch of autumn leaves on the pavement, this book is full of ideas on how to find calming spaces in the middle of the hubbub.

Tips and suggestions at the back of the book are full of ideas that are accessible to all children, wherever they are in the world.

Written by phenomenal TED speaker, poet, writer and activist Jaspreet Kaur with beautiful illustrations by award-winning artist Manjit Thapp.

Picturebook

Jane Hissey’s beloved Old Bear and Friends series returns with this refreshed teddy-bear classic, perfect for sharing with little ones!

Old Bear tells the classic tale of how a much-loved teddy bear is lost and finally found again. After Old Bear is packed away in a box in the attic, Bramwell Brown becomes determined to save his forgotten friend. And so, with the help of Little Bear, Duck, Rabbit and an assortment of other toys, he plans an ingenious rescue mission to save Old Bear from loneliness and bring him safely back home…

Nostalgia and heartfelt humour beam from each page in this brand new paperback edition of Jane Hissey’s beloved classic. Beautiful, photo-realistic artwork combines with funny, reassuring text, making this the perfect teddy bear tale to treasure for years to come.

Picturebook

Colin Stimpson sets his version of Jack and the Beanstalk in a futuristic 1950s America, with skyscrapers surrounding the flyover under which Jack and his mother run a café, and a vintage framing to the illustrations. When the flyover threatens their café, Jack’s mother sends him to buy the best coffee beans to attract new customers, but he buys baked beans instead. His mother throws them out, yet after climbing the resulting beanstalk, he finds a giant whose cooking skills save the business. A delightful, comic twist on a traditional tale.

Picturebook

The Jolley-Rogers – a pirate family, are moving to Dull-on-Sea, a quiet seaside town. Stopping to fix up their ship, this unusual family get the whole neighbourhood spreading rumours. Defying the grown-ups, Matilda from next door decides to become friends with the youngest pirate son. When the Jolley-Rogers leave, the town discovers they were wrong to assume the worst – the pirate clan have buried treasure in everyone’s gardens (shown in a stunning double-gatefold). Matilda feels sad until she discovers her own treasure – an incredibly exciting new pen friend.

Non-fiction

Brilliantly curated and beautifully illustrated, the Welcome to the Arts series offers all-hours admission to some of the world’s most wondrous performances.

From Swan Lake to Riverdance, flamenco to tap, Dance features some of the most iconic performances and popular dances from around the world. Learn about the history, culture, evolution and technique of each dance, while also discovering the stars of past and present, including Fred Astaire, Carlos Acosta, Martha Graham and much more. Exclusive backstage access also allows you to see what goes on behind the theatre doors, including prop and costume design.

Expertly written by Sir Alistair Spalding and published in conjunction with Sadler’s Wells, this beautifully illustrated book is also a large format, so the whole family can be immersed in the wonderful world of dance.

The perfect gift for any Strictly fan, musical lover or budding dancer.

Chapter book

DISCOVER THE PORTAL TO AN INCREDIBLE NEW WORLD IN THIS EPIC MIDDLE-GRADE ADVENTURE. PERFECT FOR FANS OF SKANDAR, PERCY JACKSON and ARTEMIS FOWL.

Peregrine Quinn has always loved hearing her godfather Daedalus Bloom’s stories about his life as an immortal, but that’s all they were – stories. That is, until the portals that connect the Terran Realm with the Cosmic Realm mysteriously shut down and Daedalus, the only one who can fix them, is kidnapped.

Peregrine is then swept into a nail-biting adventure, racing through the streets of Oxford, down the riverways of London and into the Under-Underground. She soon realises that not only are the creatures from her godfather’s stories real, but they’re shooting at her with laser blasters.

Fortunately she has help from dryad librarian Rowan Strong and Olympus Inc. liaison (and faun) Callimachus Thorn. Together they must fix the portals and rescue Daedalus before an ancient evil rises and chaos takes over. Time is running out and the fate of all the realms is now in Peregrine’s hands . . .

GET READY FOR AN EDGE-OF-YOUR SEAT RACE BETWEEN WORLDS WITH PEREGRINE QUINN!

Chapter book

BEFORE THERE WERE PEOPLE, THERE WERE BEASTS . . .

The island of Ramoa was once luscious and populated with mighty beasts. Now though, it is home to barren and tamed cities, where nature is locked out and trouble is brewing.

When Kayla’s beloved animal companion, a rare winged pangron, is stolen, she’s determined to get him back. But to do so, she’ll have to leave her city and journey into the wild and forbidden Beastlands.

There, she meets Rustus, an exiled young warrior, and Alethea, a healer desperately seeking a cure for a mysterious disease. As their quests unite them, they’ll adventure across the lands they know so little about, leading them to discoveries both great and terrifying. Not least that the beasts they’ve always been taught to fear might not be so terrifying after all…

The first instalment in an epic new fantasy adventure series for readers of DRAGON REALM, FIREBORN and SKANDAR AND THE UNICORN THIEF.

Non-fiction

This exquisite book explores one huge tree in the jungle, from roots to canopy… with a huge fold-out surprise at the end.

Offering a perspective rarely seen, Up in the Canopy explores the rainforest layer by layer, as we climb the incredible Kapok tree – a 100-metre tropical tree in the heart of wildest South America – in search of the elusive Harpy eagle which lives almost exclusively at great heights.

With artwork as rich and dense as the rainforest itself, there is much to explore at every level, and readers can scour the forest floor, understory and canopy for the world’s rarest and most beautiful tropical creatures. Finally reaching the top, they are rewarded with the most magical sight…

As told by James Aldred, author of The Man Who Climbed Trees, and published in conjunction with the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

Graphic NovelNon-fiction

The ancient Egyptian myths are some of the oldest and most famous stories in the world. This striking new comic book collection will be the perfect introduction to the world of the ancient Egyptians – containing six tales full of mythical creatures, gods, pharaohs and adventure.

With striking illustrations by Núria Tamarit, this retelling of the Egyptian myths will delight readers of all ages.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments