Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Chapter book

Packed with mystery, adventure and laughs, Noah’s Gold is the exciting novel from the bestselling, multi-award-winning author of Millions and Cosmic, Frank Cottrell-Boyce. Fully illustrated in black and white throughout by Steven Lenton, this is perfect for readers of 9+.

Being the smallest doesn’t stop you having the biggest ideas.

Eleven-year old Noah sneaks along on his big sister’s geography field trip. Everything goes wrong! Six kids are marooned on an uninhabited island. Their teacher has vanished. They’re hungry. Their phones don’t work and Noah has broken the internet. There’s no way of contacting home . . . Disaster!

Until Noah discovers a treasure map and the gang goes in search of gold.

Graphic Novel

An exquisitely illustrated history of the women’s suffrage movement, created by the New York Times-bestselling David Roberts and introduced by BBC presenter Lauren Laverne.

It is over a century since the first women won the vote in the United Kingdom, and Suffragette tells the story of their fight. This is a tale of astounding bravery, ingenuity and strength.

David’s writing is accessible and his artwork full of rich detail, bringing to life the many vivid characters of the women’s suffrage movement – from the militant activist and wheelchair user Rosa May Billinghurst to the world-famous Emmeline Pankhurst, Millicent Fawcett and Emily Wilding Davison.

Covering the whole range of female and male suffragist experiences – from aristocrats to the middle and working class as well as a look at the global struggle for universal suffrage, Suffragette: The Battle for Equality makes a fantastic introduction to a fascinating topic. David Roberts’ exquisite artwork and clear, exceptionally well-researched text make this the perfect gift.

This 128 page book is fully colour illustrated on every page, and has been completed with advice from June Purvis, Emeritus Professor of Women’s and Gender History at the University of Portsmouth.

Picturebook

Dive into the adventure with The Singing Mermaid, a delightful tale from the stellar picture book partnership of Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks, creators of What the Ladybird Heard.

With brilliant rhyming verse, bright and distinctive illustrations, this story is loved by children and parents alike.

Tempted by the promise of fame and fortune, the Singing Mermaid joins a circus. The crowds love her, but the poor mermaid is kept in a tank by the wicked circus owner Sam Sly, and she soon longs to return to the freedom of her ocean home . . .

Enjoy more stories from Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks: Sharing a Shell, The Princess and the Wizard, and Sugarlump and the Unicorn.

Chapter book

For fans of Sophie Anderson and South Asian myths and legends comes a fairytale based on Bengali folklore that puts brown girls centre-stage, from the author of Rumaysa: A Fairytale. Filled with gorgeous black and white illustrations by Kaley McKean.

Aya has been fascinated by stars ever since she can remember. But never in her wildest imagination did she expect to get struck by one and develop powers beyond her control.

When the evil Abnus takes over the region of Alferra in search of power, Aya quickly learns there is a great darkness afoot. Can Aya learn to control her burgeoning magic and keep her friends and family safe before it’s too late?

Aya and the Star Chaser is a brilliant gothic fairytale from Radiya Hafiza.

Picturebook

Stitched Up is the heartwarming and fashion-forward novel from author and journalist Joanne O’Connell, perfect for readers of Elle McNicoll and younger fans of Geek Girl.

Cassie has a passion for fashion so when the opportunity to redesign her school uniform comes up Cassie is thrilled. The only problem? She’s stuck between eco-conscious Fern and label-loving Azra.

As the competition heats up, Cassie joins The KnitWits – a local knitting group that immediately makes Cassie feel at home, especially once she sees that it’s secretly attended by the coolest girl at school.

As Cassie’s skills grow, she has to learn to balance Azra’s obsession with trends with her own love of sustainable fashion. But will the pressure cause the ultimate bestie break-up?

Picturebook

With colourful pages thronging with modern city life, Mooncat and Me tells the story of Pearl as she overcomes the anxiety of moving house and starting a new school, with the help of a giant white cat.

We can all empathise with Pearl’s fear that ‘I won’t know anyone, and no one will know me’ but as we watch her grow in confidence, we will learn that with a bit of imagination and determination, there’s nothing we can’t do.

The gorgeous, brightly coloured illustrations are full of busy people filling pavements and buses and cars, or seen through the windows of their homes, leading their different lives. Mooncat’s own calm and reassuring presence encourages Pearl to explore the vibrant city with her mother, and to face school, where she soon finds there are friends to be made.

Non-fiction

Discover how machines are part of our daily lives with Everyday STEM Technology – Machines.

Explore a world full of technological innovation, from the first tools used in the Stone Age to the machines of the future. Learn about telescopes and rovers in space, see how modern machines can protect our planet, and meet the innovators and scientists who invented the machines that have improved our lives, including Dr Gladys West, Olafur Eliasson and Fei-Fei Li. Readers can also carry out cool machine experiments at home.

With easy-to-understand text written by STEM expert Jenny Jacoby, and lots of colourful artworks, photos and diagrams, readers can explore where we encounter machines and why they are even important at all.

The Everyday STEM series makes science relevant to tweens. Instead of telling kids STEM is important and is the key to their future success, these books show readers how we use science, technology, engineering and maths in our everyday lives. While the topics sound high-level and complex, this series makes these concepts age-appropriate and accessible. So, while we can’t promise to teach 9 to 11-year-olds quantum physics, we can explain in the simplest terms the practical applications of STEM.

Picturebook

Follow the adventures of Sugarlump the rocking horse and a magical unicorn in this delightful rhyming story from the stellar picture book partnership of Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks, creators of What the Ladybird Heard.

When Sugarlump the rocking horse longs to see the world, a magical unicorn with a silver horn and sparkling blue eyes grants his wish and turns him into a real horse. But after trotting around the farm, galloping around a racetrack and even dancing at the circus, Sugarlump learns to be careful what he wishes for. Luckily the unicorn has one more wish to grant . . .

With brilliant rhyming verse and bright and distinctive illustrations, Sugarlump and the Unicorn is a perfect story for reading together.

Enjoy all the stories from Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks: Sharing a Shell, The Princess and the Wizard, The Rhyming Rabbit, The Singing Mermaid, Sugarlump and the Unicorn, Princess Mirror-Belle and the Dragon Pox, What the Ladybird Heard, What the Ladybird Heard Next and What the Ladybird Heard on Holiday.

Picturebook

This chameleon can turn into anything and appear to fit in anywhere, but it seems that neither the swirly snail, the green grasshopper nor the stripy sock want to be friends. Will the chameleon ever find someone to talk to?

With a subtle and witty interplay between words and illustrations Emily Gravett’s Blue Chameleon is an introduction to colours and shapes (and chameleons!) which is sure to delight readers of all ages.

Chapter book

The perfect crime – it’s a work of art, in Frank Cottrell Boyce’s ingenious story, Framed.

Dylan is the only boy living in the tiny Welsh town of Manod. His parents run the Snowdonia Oasis Auto Marvel garage – and when he’s not trying to persuade his sisters to play football, Dylan is in charge of the petrol log. And that means he gets to keep track of everyone coming in and out of Manod – what car they drive, what they’re called, even their favourite flavour of crisps. But when a mysterious convoy of lorries trundles up the misty mountainside towards an old, disused mine, even Dylan is confounded. Who are these people – and what have they got to hide?

A story inspired by a press cutting describing how, during World War II, the treasured contents of London’s National Gallery were stored in Welsh slate mines. Once a month, a morale-boosting masterpiece would be unveiled in the village and then returned to London for viewing. This is a funny and touching exploration of how art – its beauty and its value – touches the life of one little boy and his big family in a very small town.

This edition of Framed includes bonus material and discussion questions from Frank Cottrell Boyce, and illustrations by Steven Lenton.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments