Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Chapter book

Magic shows and mysteries abound in this showstopping new standalone from a bestselling author who has sold close to a million copies of these middle-grade adventures!

The English seaside, 1920s

A world famous escape artist . . .
A suitcase full of secrets . . .
And a death-defying stunt . . .

When Harry Houdini comes to visit the seaside town of Sidford-on-Sea, Glory and her friend Dennis are first in-line to see him. He is there to perform a daring trick: he will jump off the town pier in chains, pitching himself into the water below. But when Glory outsmarts the infamous Houdini, she is suddenly sucked into his world, and finds herself tasked with looking after his precious trunk – the one that contains all his secrets.

With Houdini in danger, Glory and Dennis are thrown deep into an adventure that takes them all the way to Coney Island in America, and the dark underbelly of its amusement parks…

Chapter book

WINNER of the Greenhouse Funny Prize; SHORTLISTED for the Sainsbury’s Book Award and numerous regional awards, this hilarious series is adored by its readers!

If you can read this, you obviously understand Pigeonese. You may read my book.

If you’re a cat and you’ve learnt Pigeonese . . . (HA HA HA! As if a cat would be smart enough to learn Pigeonese). This must mean if you are a cat and you are able to read this, you have taken a pigeon hostage so that you can trick them into translating the Pigeonese words into Meow. I demand you release the hostage pigeon now. My book contains TOP SECRET ideas that are NONE of a cat’s business.

Dave Pigeon is writing a book on how he defeated Mean Cat in order to help fellow pigeons everywhere. Cats beware!

A hilarious debut for 6+ readers with black and white illustrations by the superbly talented Sheena Dempsey.

Picturebook

This Squishy McFluff picture book sees Ava and her invisible cat go camping.

Ava is off on her first camping holiday and Squishy will come too. But when Ava repacks Dad’s bags with fun camping accessories like her teddy, she forgets to include the tent. Luckily Idris and his puppy Farida are staying at the same campsite and they are expert camp builders. But when Idris explains his puppy is the best and he says he can’t see Squishy, Ava decides to introduce him to a giant invisible bear!

Pip Jones’s joshing humour and pacy rhyme is full of charm, and beautifully reflects those competitive conversations we all know so well. With a happy ending, and a new friendship gained, this story is sure to win hearts and inspire camping holidays!

Chapter book

Dave Pigeon and his trusty sidekick, Skipper, are minding their own business in the garden shed when they see Mean Cat behaving very strangely. The arrival of some very cute kittens is disastrous news.  But then the kittens come under threat. Are Dave and Skipper coldhearted enough to leave them defenceless, especially when one looks a teeny, tiny little bit like Dave?

Packed full of funny black-and-white illustrations, perfect for emerging readers.

Chapter book

Seascapes and landscapes, snowy-capped hills.
Colourful tulips and gold daffodils.
His art was incredible, vibrant and loud.
Enough to make Pablo Picasso feel proud!

When Blanksy the cat discovers a talent for painting murals he uses it to draw bigger and bigger crowds to help his friend Pete the busker become rich. But will money really make Pete happy?

An entertaining story with fabulous illustrations by award-winning illustrator Allen Fatimaharan.

Chapter book

Alyssa must save the magical spell garden with her new unreliable powers.

When 11-year-old Alyssa is forced to spend the summer holiday with her mum’s family, who she’s never met before, her latent magical powers explode into life. Her great aunt runs a secret magic school in her spell garden where local kids can hone their power. The garden grows magical spell ingredients that have protected their family and the wider neighbourhood for decades – ever since they arrived from Jamaica with their mother Effie in the 1960s. But something is going wrong and the magic is running out! Can Alyssa use her new, unpredictable magic to set things right?

A contemporary fantasy set in a small community in North London facing eviction and gentrification with a magical garden at the centre of it. Stunningly illustrated by Bex Glendining.

Picturebook

On an extraordinary journey to the sea, a tiger boards the train, along with a jungle of other animals – all without Dad even looking up from his phone! From debut author, Mariesa Dulak, and award-winner Rebecca Cobb, illustrator of The Everywhere Bear.

You’ll never guess what happened
On our trip down to the sea . . .
A tiger in a top hat
Came and sat right next to me!

Off to the seaside they go on a rather . . . EXTRAORDINARY train journey. But will Dad ever look up from his phone?

A boy and his dad board the train. Dad is stuck into his phone and misses the fact that a tiger boards the train too . . . and so does a family of hippos, and a band of crocs, and a mum with her piglets, and a pug in a boa – or two . . .

On the way to the seaside pandemonium ensues, and then the tiger roars . . . Has he finally had enough?
And what will Dad say? Will he even notice?

Poetry

From the master of rhyme comes a sweet tale of an alpaca who turns into a unicorn!

Now here’s a tall tale (in fact it’s a cracker)
all about Frank, a curious alpaca.
Although Frank’s daily life appeared simple enough,
Frank was soooo nervous, it made things quite tough!

Frank lives in a petting zoo, full of wonderful cuddly animals and the children who visit them. But he feels like he doesn’t fit in and he hides so the children can’t laugh at him and his silly ears.

But one day he discovers a book about unicorns . . . and wakes up to a horn (ice-cream cone) on his head! His dream has come true – he is a fabulous unicorn and feels loved and confident in himself. And when he performs a daring rescue he comes to see that he is perfect just the way he is.

Adorable black and white illustrations on every page from debut illustrator India Joseph.

Non-fiction

In this uproariously funny and charmingly illustrated book, readers are introduced to incredible animals and the bizarre things human scientists do to understand them.

Did you know that crows never forget a face? Or that jaguars have a favourite perfume? Have you ever wondered how to pet a yeti crab? Or whether dogs can tell if you’re smiling? And just what is a burrowing bettong?

From crafting fake poo to slurping up bugs with a straw, there’s nothing these amazing scientists won’t do to help us learn more about the animals around us. Packed with fascinating facts, this hilarious book reveals secrets like why roosters crow and how meerkats make decisions as a group – and how humans can better understand the wild creatures we share the planet with.

Graphic Novel

Meet your new favourite superheroes, a the sarcastic penguin and a clever cat with a toolbelt. Join Peng and Spanners as they investigate the craziest pizza mystery ever. A new graphic novel, perfect for fans of Dogman, Barry Loser and Bunny vs Monkey.

When the school pizza parlour disappears and a giant robot suddenly appears, Pengtastic and Spanners know that only they can help the headmaster find his parlour before the school inspectors arrive and shut him down. There’s just one massive pesky robot to defeat, Cinderella the caretaker, who roars about rules and an incredible jail break to get out of first.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments