Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Publisher: Chicken House Ltd

Chapter book

Seth is the downtrodden kitchen boy at the remote Last Chance Hotel, owned by the nasty Bunn family. His only friend is his black cat, Nightshade.

But when a strange gathering of magicians arrives for dinner, kindly Dr Thallomius is poisoned by Seth’s special dessert. A locked-room murder investigation ensues – and Seth is the main suspect.

The funny thing is, he’s innocent … can he solve the mystery and clear his name, especially when magic’s afoot?

A magical locked-room murder mystery: Agatha Christie meets Harry Potter!

Readers aged 9+ will love guessing whodunnit with the novel’s fantastic ensemble cast.

The Seth Seppi Mysteries continue in book 2, The Bad Luck Lighthouse, and book 3, The Cut-Throat Café.

Chapter book

A stunning new historical children’s novel from Costa Award-winning author of Asha & the Spirit Bird.

Anushka is furious. As princess of an Indian kingdom, she has watched the British East India Company take land and her family’s most divine jewel – an emerald the size of an apple.

So when her father, the Maharaja, decides to visit Queen Victoria at Buckinham Palace, Nush goes too – determined to bring back the gem that can heal her country.

A fabulous new historical direction from Costa-winning and Waterstones-shortlisted author, Jasbinder Bilan.

Themes of colonialism and identity, mixed with an action-packed royal mystery.

Chapter book

Join the Gods Squad in Ancient Egypt in the new hilarious adventure from the bestselling author of the Who Let the Gods Out series! The Gods Squad is back!

Vesper and Aster are in knots.

Wicked Egyptian immortal Seth has kidnapped the Sun God, Ra.

And if the children can’t save him in time, they’ll soon be mummies . . .

The second story in superstar author Maz Evans’s hilarious series, which started with Oh Maya Gods!.

As well as a brand-new Gods Squad led by Vesper and Aster, your favourite characters from the bestselling Who Let the Gods Out? series are back.

Book 2 of 3 in a superlative new spin-off series of mythological baddies – this time in Ancient Egypt.

Ties in neatly with KS2 curriculum as readers learn about Ancient Egyptian mythology – amongst epic adventure and belly laughs!

Chapter book

A twisty-turny shadowy mystery from highly-acclaimed and Waterstones Prize-shortlisted author Lucy Strange.

Abandoned at a boarding school on a bleak and remote Scottish island, Faye discovers that she and the other pupils have been sent there for doing something wicked. But what is it that Faye has done?

She might be bold enough to explore the prison-like island but has she the courage to face a secret deep within herself?

A stunning new tale from the Queen of Gothic, Lucy Strange – author of The Secret of Nightingale Wood, Sisters of the Lost Marsh, The Ghost of Gosswater and the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted Our Castle by the Sea.

A masterful blend of thrilling Gothic mystery, a touch of magical realism and stunning writing, all wrapped up in a twisty-turny plot.

Perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Emma Carroll.

Chapter book

Be strong. Be fierce. Life is more than a concrete floor.

Scruffity is born into a harsh, grey world. What he yearns for most is Family. But no one wants him. Just as his chances of adoption grow thin, Scruffity is set free by a boy as unwanted as he is.

He learns how to run, to dig, to howl and, biggest of all, to love. But then tragedy strikes …

How does a dog find his way home when he never had one to begin with?

A heartfelt, wondefully written and totally compelling story of love and belonging.

Told through the eyes of a young pup, Scruffity, who will tug at your heartstrings.

Themes of friendship, loss and hope are woven through a gripping narrative.

Stunning illustrations by Sean Buckingham.

Chapter book

Cosy crime meets magical mystery in the new story from the bestselling author of The Last Chance Hotel, Nicki Thornton!

MAGIC MUST NEVER BE MISUSED . . .

When a nosy stranger arrives in her riverside town, school reporter Veena Vale becomes suspicious.

But only talking back cat Nightshade will listen to her.

To find out the truth of what’s going on, the two of them must unravel an ancient curse, tell uncomfortable lies and bake an awful lots of flapjacks . . .

A magical murder mystery story perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter

By the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award

Follows on from The Howling Hag Mystery and The Poisoned Pie Mystery; a series starring fan-favourite Nightshade the cat as the star of her very own mystery!

Chapter book

A high-stakes adventure story full of heart from debut author Varsha Shah, featuring charming illustrations from Sònia Albert and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2023.

Abandoned on the Mumbai railways, Ajay has grown up with nothing but a burning wish to be a journalist.

Finding an abandoned printing press, he and his friends Saif, Vinod, Yasmin and Jai create their own newspaper: The Mumbai Sun.

As they hunt down stories for their paper, the children uncover corruption, fight for justice and battle to save their slum from bulldozers.

But against some of the most powerful forces in the city, can Ajay and his friends really succeed in bringing the truth to light? Not to mention win the most important cricket match ever…

A high-stakes adventure story full of heart, written against the backdrop of modern India: Emil and the Detectives meets Slumdog Millionaire.

Winner of the Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition 2020.

Wonderfully illustrated by Sònia Albert and starring a lovable ensemble cast of characters.

Tackles tough topics such as social justice and truth in journalism with a lightness of touch.

Chapter book

Meet the children of Elliot and Virgo, beloved heroes of Who Let The Gods Out?

Football-loving Vesper … And super bright Aster …

Now it’s their turn to take on the world’s worst-behaved immortals.

Beginning with Maya bad boy, Kizin, and his Lords and Ladies of Death …

Superstar author Maz Evans’s hilarious new adventure is a welcome return to the bestselling world of the Who Let the Gods Out? series – shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize.

Book 1 of 3 in a superlative new spin-off series of mythological baddies.

Packed full of edge-of-your-seat adventure, belly laughs and Maya mythology.

As well as a brand-new Gods Squad led by Vesper and Aster, your favourite characters from Who Let the Gods Out? are back.

Chapter book

Prepare to be swept up, up and away on this high-flying adventure from the queen of historical fiction, Emma Carroll!

Orphan Magpie can’t believe her eyes when she sees a boy swept off his feet by a kite … or something that twists and dances in the wind.

Like her, the boy – Pierre – dreams of flying over the rooftops of Paris. His family, the Montgolfiers, are desperate to be first to discover the secret of flight.

The world looks so different up high and suddenly Magpie knows what she wants – to be the first to fly in a balloon above the King and Queen of France …

From the bestselling historical fiction author of books including Secrets of a Sun King, When We Were Warriors and Letters from the Lighthouse

Discovery meets imagination in this rich and inspirational tale based on the true story of the first hot air balloon flight over Paris in the eighteenth century

An enchanting story of history, adventure, science and facing your fears.

Chapter book

A rip-roaring Roman adventure from the acclaimed author of Princess BMX, Marie Basting.

Silvia’s dad loves re-enacting Roman battles on Hadrian’s Wall – unfortunately, he’s stumbled through a one-way portal back to ancient Rome and dragged the whole family along for the ride.

Now, the fate of the world rests on Silvia’s shoulders …

Readers will go on a time-travel adventure – with a LARPing twist – as Livi and her family are catapulted back to Ancient Rome Perfect for ages 8 and up; sure to be a hit with KS2 readers, as Romans are a staple on the curriculum.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments