Vita & the Gladiator

vita and the gladiator

A rip-roaring Roman mystery from Historical Association Young Quills Award-winning author Ally Sherrick. Vita longs to write the plays that she steals off to watch – but as the daughter of a high-born Roman, her only future is marriage. When her father is murdered, everything changes. She escapes with her life – only to end […]

The Rise of Wolves

Innis Munro is walking home across the bleak wilderness of Nin Island when he hears the chilling howl of a wolf. But there are no wolves on the island – not since they were hunted to extinction, centuries ago. He decides to investigate his island home and accepts an ancient challenge: he who jumps the […]

Milton the Megastar

In this sequel to Milton the Mighty, Milton goes international! Milton’s superstardom is stressing him out: the events, the glamour, the adoring fans! Secretly, Zoe, Audrey and Ralph think he’s turned into… well… a bit of a diva. So when Dad and Greta plan a trip to Hawaii, Zoe knows she has to take her […]

Jummy at the River School

Jummy has won a place at the River School, the finest girls’ boarding school in Nigeria. Nothing can dampen her spirits, not even when she learns that her best friend Caro won’t be joining her. By the Shine-Shine River, school is everything Jummy dreamt of, with friendly new girls, midnight feasts and sporting prizes – […]

Children of the Quicksands

In a remote Nigerian village, thirteen-year-old Simi is desperate to uncover a family secret… WINNER OF THE 2019 TIMES/CHICKEN HOUSE CHILDREN’S FICTION COMPETITION City girl Simi is sent to stay with her long-lost grandmother in a remote Nigerian village. There’s no TV, internet or phone. Not a single human-made sound can be heard at night, […]

Demelza and the Spectre Detectors

Full of warmth, eccentricity, humour and plenty of action, DEMELZA & THE SPECTRE DETECTORS is the debut novel from the multi-talented Holly Rivers, who played Drusilla Paddock in ITV’s original Worst Witch series! Demelza loves science – she loves it so much that she stays up late to work on her inventions. But she soon […]

The Way Past Winter

From the bestselling author of THE GIRL OF INK & STARS comes an unforgettable read for young and old alike: an exciting adventure to the frozen north, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman. Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow. One night, a fur-clad stranger […]

Frostfire

Chosen for the honour of bonding with a frostsliver – a fragment of the sentient glacier that crests her icy home – Sabira embarks on the dangerous pilgrimage to the top of the mountain. But when a huge avalanche traps her on the glacier and destroys the pass, Sabira is determined to find another way […]

TIN

A fast-paced, thought-provoking adventure story filled with friendship, war and the journey to find who we really are, from the author of The Monsters of Rookhaven. SHORTLISTED FOR THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018 NOMINATED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE AWARD 2019 Christopher is ‘Proper’: a real boy with a real soul, […]

A Witch Alone

Arianwyn is back for another thrilling adventure in the second APPRENTICE WITCH book – Studio Ghibli meets Diana Wynne Jones! During an eventful holiday in Kingsport, Arianwyn is recruited for an important mission: to retrieve the Book of Quiet Glyphs from its hiding place in the Great Wood. But as she returns home to Lull, […]

The Polka Dot Shop

When Andy’s school announces a new no-uniform policy, her classmates are over the moon – but her heart sinks. All she wants is to dress like everyone else, but her mum’s the owner of a run-down kooky vintage boutique, so she’s bound to look – well – different. But when Andy finds a gorgeous bag […]

What Lexie Did

Lexie lives in London with her colourful Greek-Cypriot family – and she’s devoted to her fragile cousin of the same age, Eleni, who has a heart condition. But after the death of their grandmother, Lexie tells a terrible, instinctive, jealous lie about an heirloom necklace, a lie that splits the family apart. It’s up to […]

Beetle Boy

Darkus can’t believe his eyes when a huge insect drops out of the trouser leg of his horrible new neighbour. It’s a giant beetle – and it seems to want to communicate. But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his […]

The Apprentice Witch

Arianwyn fluffs her witch’s assessment. Awarded the dull bronze disc of an apprentice – to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma – she’s sent to protect the remote, dreary town of Lull. But her new life is far from boring. Turns out Gimma is the pompous mayor’s favourite niece – and worse, she opens a […]

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Asha lives in the foothills of the Himalayas. Money is tight and she misses her papa who works in the city. When he suddenly stops sending his wages, a ruthless moneylender ransacks their home and her mother talks of leaving. From her den in the mango tree, Asha makes a pact with her best friend, […]

The Great Chocoplot

It’s the end of chocolate – forever! At least, until Jelly can solve the mystery of the great chocoplot… Jelly and her family live in Chompton-on-de-Lyte, where everyone loves a Chocablocka bar or two – so when the end of chocolate is announced, she can’t believe it. Determined to investigate, Jelly and her gran follow […]

By Ash, Oak and Thorn

Three tiny, ancient beings – Moss, Burnet and Cumulus, once revered as Guardians of the Wild World – wake from winter hibernation in their beloved ash tree home. When it is destroyed, they set off on an adventure to find more of their kind, a journey which takes them first into the deep countryside and […]

Alice Dent and the Incredible Germs

A brilliantly original, fast-paced and funny debut novel – perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! When Alice Dent gets a cold, she has no idea how much trouble it’s about to cause. Because this is no ordinary cold: it comes with some seriously weird side-effects. For a start, Alice can’t stop giggling and every animal […]

Tamarind and the Star of Ishta

Tamarind never knew her Indian mum, who died soon after she was born. So when she arrives at her ancestral home, a huge mansion in the Himalayas surrounded by luxuriant gardens, she’s full of questions for her extended family. But instead of answers, she finds an ominous silence – and a trickle of intriguing clues: […]

Black Powder

A rip-roaring historical adventure set at the time of the Guy Fawkes’ Gunpowder Plot – winner of the Historical Association Young Quills Award! England, 1605: 12-year-old Tom must save his father from hanging. He falls in with a mysterious stranger – the Falcon – who promises to help him in exchange for his service. But […]

Darwin’s Dragons

How to Train Your Dragon meets Robinson Crusoe in this high-flying dragon adventure from Lindsay Galvin! Syms Covington has landed the job of a lifetime – cabin boy and fiddler on Charles Darwin’s Beagle – but when he is separated from the crew during a storm, his life takes a truly extraordinary turn. Shipwrecked on […]

Our Castle by the Sea

England is at war. Growing up in a lighthouse, Pet’s world has been one of storms, secret tunnels and stories about sea monsters. But now the clifftops are a terrifying battleground, and her family is torn apart. This is the story of a girl who is small, afraid and unnoticed. A girl who freezes with […]

The Queen’s Fool

A fantastic Tudor adventure from Historical Association Young Quills Award-winning author Ally Sherrick. Cat Sparrow is on the road. She’s following her sister, Meg, who was torn from their convent home and sent to London. But Cat isn’t like other people – she thinks differently – and for a girl like her the world holds […]

Who Let the Gods Out?

The first book in the hilarious bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT series, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. When Elliot wishes upon a star, he doesn’t expect a constellation to crash into a dungheap on his family farm. The star is Virgo. She thinks she’s perfect. Elliot doesn’t. And together they release Thanatos, evil […]

She Wolf

SHE WOLF

A young Viking girl is swept by a storm on to a desolate English beach. Cruelly orphaned there, Ylva becomes set on revenge, tracking a killer through dangerous hinterland. She wants only the favour of the Norse gods and the comfort of her stories. But when a stranger decides to protect Ylva – seeming to […]

The Buried Crown

An exciting World War II adventure from acclaimed author Ally Sherrick – blending her trademark rip-roaring historical storytelling with mythology and magic! It’s World War II and Britain is on the brink of invasion. Londoner George has been sent to live in the countryside while his brother and guardian, Charlie, trains to be a pilot – […]