Review 'Fantastically Feminist: Michelle Obama'



Book Title: Michelle Obama: The Fantastically Feminist (and Totally True) Story of the Inspirational Activist and Campaigner (available here)

Author/Illustrator: Anna Doherty

Publisher: Wren & Rook

Publication Date: October 2019

Most Suitable For: KS2


Ideal for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, author-illustrator Anna Doherty offers the latest in the 'Fantastically Feminist and Totally True’ series that has previously featured the Brontës, Ada Lovelace and Emma Watson.


This latest title explores the life and achievements of Michelle Obama through a short, accessible biography with a celebratory vibe and high visual appeal.


The book begins with a family tree double-spread that highlights the hard work ethic and strong family values that Michelle inherits from her parents. Her husband Barack Obama is, of course, featured in the family tree and is an important part of Michelle’s story, but the focus of this book is on her own achievements as an inspirational activist and in particular her legacy campaigning for girls' education.


The rest of the book walks through Michelle’s life to date, pausing to give us a snapshot of particular moments of her upbringing, the presidential campaign and life in the White House. It is clear through the different stages of her life that Michelle is clever, creative and determined, from excelling at the piano as a child to going on to use her influence as First Lady to create the 'Let Girls Learn' campaign, which she continued to run after Barack ended his presidency.


The text offers a balance of detailing Michelle’s achievements and exploring her natural personality, including hobbies and values. Young readers will enjoy the positive tone of the writing, the quirky illustrations and the book’s design as an accessible biography that gives the feel of a cross between a scrapbook and a newsfeed.



---------------------

You can order Fantastically Feminist: Michelle Obama online or from your local bookshop or library.


Many thanks to the publisher for sending us a review copy of this book. Check out the other stops on the blog tour, too!.



Where next? > Visit our Reading for Pleasure Hub

> Browse our Topic Booklists

> View our printable year group booklists.

> See our Books of the Month.

Join our newsletter to find out about our brand new booklists, reviews and updates on new children's books.

Click here to sign up.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram Social Icon

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, BooksForTopics earns from qualifying purchases.  Click here to learn more.