Blog Tour: The Mask of Aribella



Book Title: The Mask of Aribella (available here)

Author: Anna Hoghton

Publisher: Chicken House

Publication Date: January 2020

Most Suitable For: KS2

A fast-paced tale of magic and intrigue set in Venice, well-pitched for fans of Katherine Rundell, Abi Elphinstone and Kiran Millwood Hargrave.


Aribella is the daughter of an elderly Venetian lace-maker. Just before her 13th birthday, Aribella discovers a secret power: when she gets angry, sparks and flames shoot from the tips of her fingers. Frightened that her powers will be revealed and bring trouble from the authorities, Aribella flees from her family home and finds herself in the care of a secret organization of masked warriors with magical skills. Before she knows it, Aribella is caught up in a magical battle against menacing spectres who wish to rise up and put the whole of the city under threat.


The Venetian setting is evocative and atmospheric - a city that sings of intrigue, dark secrets and hidden magic. There's an element of mystery to solve and plenty of twists to keep the reader on their toes. With themes of friendship, light-overcoming-darkness, magic and belonging, The Mask of Aribella is an exciting and appealing choice for middle-grade fans of magical realism.


---------------------



You can order The Mask of Aribella online or from your local bookshop or library.


Many thanks to the publishers at Chicken House for sending us a review copy and inviting us to take part in the blog tour. Check out the other stops, too!


Where next? > Visit our Reading for Pleasure Hub

> Browse our Topic Booklists

> View our printable year group booklists.

> See our Books of the Month.

Join our newsletter to find out about our brand new booklists, reviews and updates on new children's books.

Click here to sign up.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram Social Icon

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, BooksForTopics earns from qualifying purchases.  Click here to learn more.