Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books

Resource Available: Resources available

Poetry

This is a book of poetry for everyone.

Inside is a treasure trove of writing celebrating the natural world. Read the poems aloud or curl up with them in a quiet corner. Begin your journey into a lifelong love of poetry.

This beautifully illustrated collection features powerful poems written by a wide range of contemporary voices. They share their unique perspectives on the topic of nature, from a dreaming forest and bouquets of buried stars to rivers that dance with rocks and the brushed lava fur of the mountain gorilla. Showcasing original poems alongside existing works, this is a book to share and treasure forever.

Picturebook

In this empowering picture book by award-winning author Caryl Hart, one small girl inspires her whole village to plant a beautiful forest on the mountain.

When a little girl’s grandad shows her a picture of what the great, grey mountain used to look like, she can’t wait to plant a new forest and for the animals to return. Although the girl soon realises growing trees isn’t easy, she doesn’t give up. After many weeks, a little patch of green appears on the mountain and gives the whole village hope. Then, one day, a terrible storm comes tearing up the valley, destroying every single one of the girl’s saplings. Has all her hard work been for nothing? Or has it inspired those around her to share her dream?
In this lyrical and hopeful picture book, one girl’s imagination, determination and positivity motivates a whole community to work together to create something amazing that will last forever. With subtle addresses to the reader, children and grown-ups will feel empowered to tackle global issues such as deforestation and realise that, in the words of Greta Thunberg, ‘No one is too small to make a difference’.

This is an uplifting tale for our time, inspired by Jean Giorno’s The Man Who Planted Trees, written by Caryl Hart, author of Girls Can Do Anything! (illustrated by Ali Pye), and with evocative artwork by Anastasia Suvorova.

Perfect for fans of Amazon bestseller Somebody Swallowed Stanley and acclaimed picture book Greta and the Giants.

Caryl Hart is the author of books and series including The Princess and the . . . and How to Grow a Dinosaur. She has won many awards including a Magnola Book Award, the Geoffrey Trease Prize for Children’s Writing, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award and the Stockport Brilliant Book Awards.
Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free ‘Stories Aloud’ audio recording – just scan the QR code and listen along!

Chapter book

A thrilling and moving account of the largest movement of people in history, telling both sides of the story through the voices of children at the heart of Partition. It’s October 1947 and two young boys find themselves thrown together during the dramatic changes of Partition.

As the new India and Pakistan are born, can the friendship between these two children rise above the tensions between the two countries?

When the British announced they would be leaving India, a feeling of hope bubbled up in towns and villages across the country – they would be free to rule themselves at last!

But deciding to split the country in two – Partition – would soon mean so much more.

A gripping first-hand account with an engaging and direct narrative voice, making the story accessible to a young readership.

Chapter book

A fresh and exciting mapmaking adventure. Sal, Joe, Francie and Humphrey misplace their famous mapmaker mother as they begin the Great Race to map a rail route through an uncharted wilderness. Their father didn’t return from his last expedition and now their money is gone. This race is their last chance.

They have twenty-eight days to find and map the best route. There’ll be bears, bees, bats, river crossings, cliff falls, impossible weather-but worst of all, they’re racing five teams of adults who do not play by the rules.

Chapter book

The story of the suffragettes with the Jiu Jitsu and roller-skating left in… this impeccably researched debut novel from Iszi Lawrence shows the fight for women’s suffrage as it really was.

Lettice Pegg’s father is a working-class policeman and her mother is a middle-class suffragette. Stuck between them (and her terrifying grandma) as they argue, Lettice mostly cares about trying to fit in at school and convincing her parents to let her have roller skates and go to the music hall. But, when Lettice sees her mother brutally thrown to the ground by a policeman while on a protest march, her life changes forever. Not all of the women on the march are vulnerable to attack. Some of them have a secret weapon: Jiu Jitsu.

As the suffragettes welcome Lettice to the fight back, things at home go from bad to worse. Can Lettice bring her family back together and keep her new friends?

Chapter book

Present day: Semira doesn’t know where to call home. She and her mother came to England when she was four years old, brought across the desert and the sea by a man who has complete control. Always moving on, always afraid of being caught, she longs for freedom. 1891: Hen knows exactly where to call home. Her stifling mother makes sure of that. But her Aunt Kitty is opening her eyes to a whole new world. A world of animal rights, and votes for women, and riding bicycles! Trapped in a life of behaving like a lady, she longs for freedom. When Semira discovers Hen’s diary, she finds the inspiration to be brave, to fight for her place in the world, and maybe even to uncover the secrets of her own past Gill Lewis is the multi-award-winning and best-selling author of novels including Sky Hawk, White Dolphin, and A Story Like the Wind. This is her unforgettable tale of friendship, hope, and finding the courage to fight for what you believe in.

Chapter book

Perfect for fans of Danny Wallace, Liz Pichon and Katie Kirby – buckle up, you’re in for a dog-tastic adventure, packed with comic strips and cartoons.

When Destiny boasts about videos of her dog, Princess Foo-Foo, going viral, Ferris foolishly claims that Aldo can easily become a BIGGER internet star. There’s just one problem: Aldo has about as much talent as a teaspoon.

Then Ferris and Tia accidentally film Aldo doing what looks like an amazing trick . . . will Aldo finally live up to the name of his comic book alter-ego and wow the world with his skills or is this about to be the biggest EPIC FAIL ever?

Non-fiction

In Football Rules the World, discover how football became the most popular game it is today, boasting a mind-blowing 3.5 billion fans worldwide!

The daring duo of Dan and Simon will usher you through the story of football – the highlights of course! You’ll meet the legendary players and inspirational managers of the beautiful game, relive the magic moments and read stories of epic wins and glorious goals from around the globe.

Wonderfully illustrated – bringing football’s history back to life – Football Rules the World is packed with plenty of jokes, funny characters, as well as the facts and stats that fans of Football Superstars have come to know and love.

Chapter book

If Hercules Braver is going to survive his new secondary school, he has to live up to his name, fast. He needs to become strong and tanned and popular, like a Greek hero. Not weak and pale and unpopular, like a Greek yoghurt. But his bid for popularity ends up saddling him with a set of impossible tasks … like cleaning out the monster-riddled school pond, facing up to the school bully and finding the headmaster’s missing cat.

Then Herc’s charming, impressive birth dad turns up after years living in Greece, and Hercules thinks his problems are solved. With God-like strength and awe-inspiring powers, could his dad even be … the real Zeus?!

And will Hercules learn what it truly means to be a hero?

A hilarious, accessible package brilliantly illustrated by David O’Connell. Ideal for fans of Louie Stowell’s Loki, Maz Evans, Marvel’s Thor films and Disney Hercules.

Hercules Braver’s are loosely based on the first three Labours of Hercules, ideal for all young fans of Greek mythology!

Warm-hearted representation of blended families and alternate father figures.

Chapter bookPoetry

The second story in a funny, deliciously dark, three-part series of twisted classics, written in verse by award-winning poet Joseph Coelho.

Joining the family business, animal-lover Bryony proves to be an extraordinary taxidermist, whose tender fingers create displays which comfort, educate and astound. But when Byrony’s proud father boasts of her skill, who should come calling but the secretive King of all Mythica. Locking her away, he gives her three horrible tasks … three impossible tasks! It’s only then that a strange, sinister creature emerges from the shadows of the castle, offering Bryony a helping hand… But at what cost?

Frankenstein meets Rumpelstiltkin in this expertly-stitched story about a powerful king, a girl unafraid to stand up for her beliefs, and a monstrous little creature with magic – and greed – in his bones.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments