Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Branching Out > Branching Out: Books for Fans of Roald Dahl

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Roald Dahl

icon - tree

If you like Roald Dahl, try these…

Roald Dahl’s books have sold over 200 million copies and are well-known favourites in many households and classrooms. From oversized peaches to adventures in chocolate factories, Dahl’s stories are enjoyed for their imaginative plots, humorous commentary and devious villains who get their comeuppance at the hands of clever children.

We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for fans of Roald Dahl. Readers who love the dark humour found in many of Dahl’s books will feel at home with Grimwood or The Beast and the Bethany. For those looking for laugh-out-loud storytime adventures, try Grandpa Frank’s Great Big Bucket List or The Great Chocoplot. Some readers will be keen to find more plucky child characters heading into extraordinary adventures, and we recommend The Creakers or the super-imaginative Bloom. If you’re looking for a tale where a dastardly villain comes to a sticky end, try Beetle Boy or A Series of Unfortunate Events.

​We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for those looking for their next read after Roald Dahl…

Books for Fans of Roald Dahl

Nicola Skinner
 & Flavia Sorrentino
Chapter book

Hilarious and truly original, here is a book with all the ingredients to take root and blossom wildly among the imaginations of young readers! We immediately loved the premise of the ‘surprising seeds’ that lead to an epidemic causing people to grow flowers out of their heads.

Sorrel Fallowfield is a rule follower. Never wishing to cause trouble for her overworked Mum or to break the strict rules of a perfection-demanding headteacher, Sorrel knows that she is in with an excellent chance of winning when school announces a competition to find the most perfectly-behaved student. Even better, the prize for the winner is a family holiday – which is exactly what Sorrel thinks her Mum needs the most.

Sorrel’s luck changes when a mysterious packet of seeds appears in her garden that have the most surprising effects. Before she knows it, the power of the seeds have taken root not just in Sorrel’s life but also in her whole community. Could nature be fighting back against a town that has eradicated all of its green spaces?

A stand-out story full of humour and heart.

Jenny Pearson
 & David O'Connell
Chapter book

Grandpa Frank’s Great Big Bucket List takes the reader on a journey of excitement, adventure, humour and discovery and leaves them understanding life just a little bit more.

Frank sets off to meet his grandpa with high expectations. What he finds is a very sad and lonely old man living in a nursing home who has no interest in establishing any kind of relationship. Not wanting to give up on his chance for happiness (and because Davenport men don’t quit), Frank comes up with the idea of a bucket list of activities to inject some joy back into Grandpa Frank’s life, secretly harbouring hopes of a grand family reunion somewhere along the line. Soon, Grandpa Frank finds himself participating in a whole array of activities most OAPs wouldn’t be expected to do. As they venture together through: hot air ballooning; parkour; synchronised swimming and monster truck driving, Grandpa Frank learns that maybe there are more opportunities for joy (and bruises) in life.

Despite the blossoming relationship with his grandfather, it seems that Frank’s dream of a family reunion will never happen. However, after the middle Frank steps a little further over the line than usual, it will take all of Frank Senior Senior and Frank Junior Junior’s newly-learned skills to save the day.

Alongside the humour in this story, there are many opportunities for the reader to see through societal stereotypes of older people and also begin to understand the impact of dementia.

Tom Fletcher
 & Shane Devries
Chapter book
A magical, mischievous adventure into an incredible new world, from Tom Fletcher, number-one-bestselling author of The Danger Gang and The Christmasaurus. Lucy wakes up one morning to discover something very strange indeed . All the grown-ups in her town have disappeared. All the other kids in Whiffington are so excited! No more grown-ups means no more school! No more bedtime! No more rules! But Lucy wants her mum back - and nothing is going to stop her. So - along with her friends Norman and Ella - Lucy sets off on an unbelievable adventure into a topsy-turvy, back-to-front and inside-out new world... The world underneath her bed. The world of... The Creakers!
Thomas Taylor
Chapter book

A hugely popular sea themed mystery laced with monstrous humour. Welcome to Eerie-on-Sea, a seaside setting with its own legend of the mysterious sea creature called the Malamander. Young friends Herbie and Violet find themselves on a whirlwind of a coastal adventure steeped in imagination and eccentric humour, involving a book dispensary, a mermonkey, a Boathook Man and a flotsamporium shop. Can Herbie and Violet put together all the pieces of the puzzle before it is too late?

Malamander mixes scary parts, mysterious parts and whimsically funny parts too, as Thomas Taylor creates an original fantasy mash-up with a nautical twist that will no doubt be enjoyed by readers across KS2 classrooms. I enjoyed the quirky humour and wordplay, the imaginative characters and the galloping pace of the unravelling mystery that is edged with peril throughout. A teachers’ resource pack is available to download from the publisher.

Jack Meggitt-Phillips
 & Isabelle Follath
Chapter book

This story is full of fantastical treasures to keep a reader enthralled: a villain in need of redemption, a mischievous girl and an insatiable bone-crunching beast.

Ebenezer Twitch is five hundred and eleven years old. He has reached this astounding age due to an elixir of youth provided to him by a magical beast, which lives on the top floor of his house. Ebenezer adopted the creature when it was tiny and was thrilled to find that it could magically vomit up any item he desired in exchange for food. As the beast grew larger, so did its demands for unusual dishes, until Ebenezer’s reliance on it to continue living causes him to sacrifice some of the world’s rarest (and subsequently extinct) creatures. Now though, the beast wants to eat a child…

A laugh out loud tale with comic and sinister strands that Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket fans will love.


Chris Callaghan
Chapter book
It's the end of chocolate - forever! At least, until Jelly can solve the mystery of the great chocoplot... Jelly and her family live in Chompton-on-de-Lyte, where everyone loves a Chocablocka bar or two - so when the end of chocolate is announced, she can't believe it. Determined to investigate, Jelly and her gran follow a trail of clues to a posh chocolate shop and its owner, the pompous Garibaldi Chocolati. Gari's suspiciously smug, despite his failing business and yucky chocolate. Is it really the chocopocalypse, or is there a chocoplot afoot? An exciting, laugh-out-loud funny adventure featuring a truly ghastly villain - think evil mastermind meets Willy Wonka! - and a down-to-earth heroine with a sidekick grandma.
Gwen Lowe
Chapter book
A brilliantly original, fast-paced and funny debut novel - perfect for fans of Roald Dahl! When Alice Dent gets a cold, she has no idea how much trouble it's about to cause. Because this is no ordinary cold: it comes with some seriously weird side-effects. For a start, Alice can't stop giggling and every animal she meets sticks to her like glue! But when the mysterious Best Minister for Everything Nicely Perfect and his scary masked henchmen come to take her away, Alice realizes her troubles are only just beginning ...
Lemony Snicket
 & Brett Helquist
Chapter book
Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are intelligent children. They are charming, and resourceful, and have pleasant facial features. Unfortunately, they are exceptionally unlucky. In The Bad Beginning, the siblings encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune and cold porridge for breakfast. In the tradition of great storytellers, from Dickens to Dahl, comes an exquisitely dark comedy that is both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted.
M.G. Leonard
Chapter book
Darkus can't believe his eyes when a huge insect drops out of the trouser leg of his horrible new neighbour. It's a giant beetle - and it seems to want to communicate. But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his dad and the arrival of Lucretia Cutter, with her taste for creepy jewellery? The first book in MG Leonard's acclaimed trilogy features exotic beetles, a daring quest, a mixture of bold male and female characters and a truly venomous villain.
Nadia Shireen
Chapter book

Grimwood is a wacky, anarchic animal story, full of nonsensical mayhem. The story will certainly appeal to KS2 (although possibly not the most sensitive in this age group – as there are incidents of biting off heads, tails or feet!). There’s a dark and whacky humour to the story that will delight fans of Dahl or Mr Gum and plenty of discussion points such as the relationship between the fox cubs, the changes in their personalities and the desire to find refuge. The book could work as a class reader and a fun and quirky independent read for ages 7-11.


Booklists you might also like...

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Roald Dahl

Related Resources

Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Previous
Next
[["Downloadable Poster","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/poster-branching-out-roald-dahl.jpg","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingOutRoaldDahlBFT.pdf"],["Purchase Book Pack","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2022-11-28-at-22.48.25.png","https:\/\/peters.co.uk\/book-page\/9789990208276"]]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments