Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Branching Out Booklists & Posters > Branching Out: Books for Fans of Isadora Moon

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Isadora Moon

icon - tree

books for fans of Isadora moon
If you like Isadora Moon, try these…

The Isadora Moon books by Harriet Muncaster are widely popular with young readers just taking the leap into independent chapter books. With easy-to-read text and stylish two-tone illustrations, this short, illustrated series hits the sweet spot as a first chapter book collection for many children in the 5-8 age bracket, with a growing number of magical adventures in the series.

We’ve put together a list of ten similar books for fans of Isadora Moon. Readers who love the magical adventures of the Isadora Moon books could try Midnight Magic or the Princess Mirror-Belle collection. Those looking for new stories featuring fairies or unicorns might enjoy Aziza’s Secret Fairy Door or The Naughtiest Unicorn. For children who want more very short chapter books similar in length and style to Isadora Moon, we recommend the super-cool Kitty series or Ballet Bunnies, and for those looking for more chapter books with colour illustrations, we suggest trying Princess Minna or Unipiggle next.

Browse the full list below of stories for children looking for more books like Isadora Moon…

 

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Books for Fans of Isadora Moon

Swapna Reddy
 & Binny Talib
Chapter book
Learning to ballet dance is harder than Millie expected. The other dancers in the class aren't very nice to her either. But just when she's thinking that maybe ballet isn't for her after all, Millie meets the ballet bunnies! They live hidden in the ballet school, using what they find to make their home-ballet shoes for beds, upside down cups for tables-and secretly take the ballet classes with the humans. Maybe the ballet bunnies can help Millie master some news ballet skills after all!
Julia Donaldson
Chapter book
From Julia Donaldson, the bestselling author of The Gruffalo, comes Princess Mirror-Belle and the Magic Shoes, the exciting adventures of a mischievous princess.Full of black-and-white illustrations by Lydia Monks, Princess Mirror-Belle and The Magic Shoes is perfect for fans of this bestselling picture book team who are beginning to read on their own. Princess Mirror-Belle and The Magic Shoes contains five delightful stories that children will come back to again and again.Ellen's life is turned upside down by the hilarious Mirror-Belle, a spirited princess who claims to be from somewhere mysterious and far away. She appears out of mirrors to tell Ellen magical stories and take her on exciting escapades. From going to ballet class to staying at Ellen's grandparents' house, causing mischief with their furry friends, having fun at Halloween and taking the princess test, you can always guarantee that wherever Mirror-Belle goes, trouble will follow.
Anne Booth
 & Rosie Butcher
Chapter book
To the Keeper of this Book - it's time for you to visit the magical Kingdom waiting within. Believe in yourself - that will give you wings to fly! When Maya receives a special colouring book - The Magical Kingdom of Birds - she is transported to a beautiful realm filled with magnificent birds and their fairy friends. But the kingdom is in trouble - evil Lord Astor has a plan to capture and cage the tiniest residents, the hummingbirds - and as Keeper of the Book it's up to Maya to protect them. Packed with beautiful illustrations, information on the real birds that inspired the story, and includes a special colouring page!
Michelle Harrison
 & Elissa Elwick
Chapter book
Black cats born at midnight Are different indeed A mischievous, odd And peculiar breedIn the middle of winter, three kittens are born in a barn. Two are ordinary, but the third, jet black and born on the stroke of midnight, is brimming with magic from whiskers to tail – even sparking life into a dusty old broomstick! While her siblings pounce at rats, Midnight perfects her flying skills on the broom, not noticing how her mother disapproves of her magical ways…When Midnight finds herself abandoned, the little black kitten sets out to find a new home with only her loyal broom Twiggy at her side. The pair soon befriend a kind-hearted girl called Trixie. But how will Trixie’s family react to Midnight’s extraordinary powers and taste for mischief?
Alex Milway
Chapter book

Anna Dupont arrives at the dilapidated Hotel Flamingo after inheriting it from her Great Aunt Mathilda, who left it to her in her will. Shocked at the state of the “sunniest hotel in town”, Anna decides to restore the hotel to its former glory and sets about the enormous task of cleaning it up alongside a team of animal staff. Imaginative, accessible and little bit wild, Hotel Flamingo is a fabulous early chapter book with fun illustrations set in pinks and greys. This is the first title in a growing series that will appeal to readers aged 5-8.


Hannah Shaw
Chapter book

One for fans of Harriet Muncaster’s Isadora Moon and Sarah MacIntyre’s Grumpycorn, this is the first story in a series of illustrated short chapter books about Princess Pea and her rather un-royal palace pet – Unipiggle! A madcap and muddy adventure with high-energy design in full colour and tips to draw your own Unipiggle too.

Lola Morayo
 & Cory Reid
Chapter book
Aziza's Secret Fairy Door is the first title in an inclusive magical adventure series, perfect for readers of 6-8 from debut author Lola Morayo. It is inspired by world mythology and is gorgeously illustrated in black and white throughout by Cory Reid.Open the door to a world of magic and adventure...A mysterious gift arrives on Aziza's birthday. It is a secret fairy door that will whisk her away to Shimmerton, a magical world with princesses, naughty fairies, shapeshifters, unicorn shopkeepers and mischief around every corner. But when the precious jewelled doorknob is taken, Aziza is trapped. Will she ever see her home and family again? Maybe her new friends, Peri and Tiko, can help....
Pip Bird
 & David O'Connell
Chapter book
Join the naughtiest unicorn for friendship, magic and mayhem in this hilarious series. Mira CAN'T WAIT to start Unicorn School. (Her big sister goes and won't stop going on about it). But when Mira arrives on her first day all the unicorns are gone ... except Dave!Dave isn't quite the sparkly magical unicorn Mira was expecting to find at the end of the rainbow - he's more grumpy than glittery, more interested in lunch than magical quests and he always runs off when Mira tries to ride him - but Mira's not going to let that get her down. Along with her new friends and their (much more glittery) unicorns, she is determined to be the best at Quests and protect the special unicorn world.
Paula Harrison
 & Jenny Løvlie
Chapter book

There’s a new superhero in town and her name is Kitty! This series features a girl called Kitty and her crew of felines as they embark upon brave rooftop adventures in the moonlight. Illustrated in cool blacks and oranges, these fun-filled mystery adventures with talking cats are likely to be a purrrfectly popular independent reading choice among ages 6-8.

Kirsty Applebaum
 & Sahar Haghgoo
Chapter book
Princess Minna loves to sort out mix-ups and mishaps in the kingdom! In this full-colour, illustrated chapter book, join her on a funny, exciting adventure to wake a sleeping prince and much more - all in time for tea.Princess Minna lives in Castle Tall-Towers with the King and Queen, Raymond the Wizard and her best dragon friend, Lorenzo. There are often mix-ups and mishaps in the kingdom and Princess Minna loves to sort them out!She can tame unicorns, kiss frogs and fight dragons (apart from Lorenzo) and she is very good at fixing things before it's time for bed.In The Enchanted Forest, Princess Minna has to wake a sleeping prince before nightfall. But along the way, she finds a swan, an old lady and a very fluffy sheep - all of them in a fix! Can she help them and still reach the prince before sundown?Full of colourful illustrations, these short, funny stories are perfect for readers just moving on from picture books and visual readers.

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent bookshops

Booklists you might also like...

Branching Out: Books for Fans of Isadora Moon

Related Resources

Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Read More
Previous
Next
[["Downloadable Poster","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2023-03-17-at-10.20.57.png","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/BranchingoutIsadoraMoonBooksForTopics.pdf"],["Purchase Book Pack","https:\/\/www.booksfortopics.com\/wp-content\/uploads\/Screenshot-2023-02-24-at-11.26.44.png","https:\/\/peters.co.uk\/book-page\/9789990209082\/-BooksforTopics\/Branching-Out---Isadora-Moon"]]

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments