Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > The Golden Linnet

The Golden Linnet

Discover the thrilling children’s debut novel from Alexander Armstrong – actor, presenter and storyteller. A modern classic for children aged 9-12, bursting with ancient magic, secret societies and fearsome foes!

For fans of Philip Pullman’s Dark Materials, Skandar, Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

13-year-old Sam thinks he’s an ordinary boy. But destiny knows better.

Sam is part of an ancient, secret society: an order of quiet heroes who once protected the world. For decades, the Order of the Evening has lain dormant, all but wiped out by those threatened by its existence. But now the Order must rise again. For at the heart of the Order’s lost palace lies a powerful magic; magic that, in the wrong hands, has the power to destroy the world. And an age-old enemy is closing in …

Bequeathed with the mysterious seal of the Golden Linnet, Sam must uncover family secrets, face deadly foes and undertake perilous journeys. He will find allies in the most unlikely of places and learn to unlock his true powers. And he will – he must! – prevail.

It’s time to enter a world of magic, intrigue, danger and glory … if you dare!

This book is available on these booklists:

The Golden Linnet

the golden linnet

Book Details

Format:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments