Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > The Floating Witch Mystery

The Floating Witch Mystery

Book Synopsis

Cosy crime meets magical mystery in the new story from the bestselling author of The Last Chance Hotel, Nicki Thornton!

MAGIC MUST NEVER BE MISUSED . . .

When a nosy stranger arrives in her riverside town, school reporter Veena Vale becomes suspicious.

But only talking back cat Nightshade will listen to her.

To find out the truth of what’s going on, the two of them must unravel an ancient curse, tell uncomfortable lies and bake an awful lots of flapjacks . . .

A magical murder mystery story perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter

By the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award

Follows on from The Howling Hag Mystery and The Poisoned Pie Mystery; a series starring fan-favourite Nightshade the cat as the star of her very own mystery!

Our Review Panel says...

When a suspicious visitor arrives on Sleeford Island, Veena Vale is the only one who doesn’t fall for his charms. She senses that something is very wrong and believes that magic is involved. Eventually, cracks start to appear and it’s up to Veena and her friends to save their island home. She seeks out the help of Nightshade the talking cat and Hetty, a witch. They discover that an ancient curse was reactivated by a lightning strike and they must figure out a way to stop it and their charing visitor Scott, for things to begin to get back to how they should be.

It was very refreshing to see how these children were so determined to save their home and stay together. They were willing to do anything. This showed resilience and how much they cared about their home and each other.

I love this series of books. Each one just gets better and better and the world-building is brilliant. It was easy to picture sitting on the island next to the river, watching the boats come and go. I love any book that involves magic and this one is superb in that it is just magical enough without needing to frighten any younger readers. The mystery elements are also highly enjoyable.

The Floating Witch Mystery

the floating witch mystery

Book Details

Format:
Publisher:
Publish Date:

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments