Recommended children's booklists sorted by age or topic

Home > Books > The Bubble Boy

The Bubble Boy

Book Synopsis

What would you do if you could never leave your bubble? A poignant, heartwarming tale from inside the hospital walls that teaches children the importance of treating people with kindness and empathy. Perfect for fans of Wonder and The Boy At The Back of the Class .

Amir is mad. He’s crazy. But the hospital wouldn’t let a crazy person in. They must have interviewed him and checked his qualifications. But maybe he didn’t even meet them? Maybe he hasn’t even come from India. He might have arrived on an alien spaceship and snuck in here in the middle of the night.

Eleven-year-old Joe can’t remember a life outside of his hospital room, with its beeping machines and view of London’s rooftops. His condition means he’s not allowed outside, not even for a moment, and his few visitors risk bringing life-threatening germs inside his ‘bubble’. But then someone new enters his world and changes it for ever.

THE BUBBLE BOY is the story of how Joe spends his days, copes with his loneliness and frustrations, and looks – with superhero-style bravery, curiosity and hope – to a future without limits. Expect superheroes, super nurses and a few tears from this truly unique story.

Our Review Panel says...

This gripping and moving story about coping with long term illness is popular with upper KS2. Joe is an eleven-year-old boy who lives his life stuck in a hospital room. Joe has a medical condition that means he is not allowed leave the hospital or encounter germs from the outside world. Can the characters Joe meets bring hope and warmth into his hospital bubble? An award-winning story that is great for developing empathy with different viewpoints and experiences.

This book is available on these booklists:

The Bubble Boy Teacher Notes

A resource pack provided by the author to accompany the book The Bubble Boy.

SAVE 20% with Peters

Visit our booklists on Amazon

Support independent Bookshops

Booklists you might also like...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Your Review

Stone Girl Bone Girl

review

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Year group(s) the book is most suitable for:

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Does the book contain anything that teachers would wish to know about before recommending in class (strong language, sensitive topics etc.)?

Would you recommend the book for use in primary schools?

yes

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Curriculum links (if relevant)

Any other comments

Any other comments